About To Review-logo

About To Review

Television >

More Information

Episodes

ATR #96 – Black Female Firsts in Film w/ Seven Okema Gunn!

2/21/2018
More
Black History Month, week 3! On this week's episode my guest was Seven Okema Gunn, who is a Chicago based blogger, film critic, and owner of "7 Gunn Media"! This episode is a celebration of some of the black female firsts in cinema from 1939 up to 2016.

Duration:01:26:31

ATR #95 – Director Spotlight: Ryan Coogler, plus Black Panther review

2/14/2018
More
Continuing to highlight African-American creators during Black History Month, on this week's episode my guest Tim Hall and I focus on Ryan Coogler and his 3 feature length films. Plus we review "Cloverfield: Paradox" and talk about the "Cloververse".

Duration:02:04:06

ATI #12 – David Crownson

2/9/2018
More
David Crownson is an actor, filmmaker, and creator/ writer of the new graphic novel "Harriet Tubman: Demon Slayer"! A blend of supernatural action based on freedom fighter Harriet Tubman with genre liberties that mirror "Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter".

Duration:00:42:12

ATR #94 – Director Spotlight: Spike Lee

2/7/2018
More
During Black History Month I want to showcase and highlight my friends, colleagues, and people I look up to who are doing great things. Actor/ comedian/ podcaster Chris Lamberth, from "The Mundane Festival" joined this episode to talk about the one and only Spike Lee!

Duration:01:47:08

ATR #93 – 2018 Vancouver Short Film Festival

1/31/2018
More
I had the pleasure of being invited back for a second year in a row to cover the 8th Annual Vancouver Short Film Festival in Vancouver, British Columbia and it was incredible! Tune in to hear interviews with creators, and directors, as well as my picks for the best films of the festival!

Duration:01:49:33

ATR #92 – Thieves, Mazes, Lightning, and The Alienist

1/24/2018
More
Two new movies and two new TV shows are the hot topics this week! Tim Hall, AKA: "The People's Critic" stopped by the studio to talk about "Den of Thieves", "Maze Runner: The Death Cure", "Black Lightning", and "The Alienist". Let us know if you have seen them!

Duration:01:29:51

ATI #10 – Adam Schleichkorn

1/19/2018
More
You might not know Adam Schleichkorn's name right away, but you will immediately recognize his work if you have spent any time at all on the internet for the past decade! Better known as "Mylo The Cat", his mashup videos have gained 10's of millions of views from across the globe!

Duration:00:39:32

ATR #91 – Good, Bad, and Ugly train movies (plus The Commuter)

1/17/2018
More
Choo Choo! All aboard for this week's episode which is all about the Good, Bad, and Ugly train related movies! I was joined by friend and fellow critic Brian Taibl, AKA: "Brian The Movie Guy" where we talk trains, and then review "The Commuter".

Duration:01:09:33

ATR #90 – Hostiles, Black Mirror, January releases

1/10/2018
More
Does the breathtaking cinematography and gorgeous costume design of "Hostiles" make up for it's bland and unoriginal plot? How terrified of the dystopian future in "Black Mirror" should we be? Find out the answer to those questions and more on this new episode with Tim Hall!

Duration:01:49:15

ATR #89 – The Good, Bad, and Ugly films of 2017!

1/3/2018
More
Here it is folks, the episode you have been waiting all year for! This year I was joined by Ian Dinsmore of drunksunshine.com to go through our top three films in 2017 that fit the categories of "Goodest of the good", "Baddest of the bad", and "Ugliest of the ugly".

Duration:01:38:49

ATR #88 – Money, Threads, and Orcs!

12/27/2017
More
Happy holidays from About To Review! Instead of skipping a week for the holidays, I decided to sit in a room and talk to myself, all because I care about you, my dear listeners! On this week's episode I reviewed "All The Money in the World", "Phantom Thread", and the new Netflix movie "Bright".

Duration:00:38:17

ATR #87 – 2 biopics, a Jedi, and a musical

12/21/2017
More
The title of this episode could also be the name a wacky sitcom in the 80's, but alas, it is not. Tim Hall, AKA: The People's Critic joined me in the studio to talk about 4 new movies: "Darkest Hour", "Molly's Game", "Star Wars: The Last Jedi", and "The Greatest Showman"

Duration:01:48:48

ATI #9 – Landry Q Walker

12/15/2017
More
Landry Q. Walker is an author best known for his all ages comic books like…

Duration:00:53:03

ATR #86 – Award Season Extravaganza & Star Wars!

12/13/2017
More
Grab some coffee and get ready a super-sized episode! Mike Ward from "Should I See It" was in the studio to talk about "Good Time", "I TONYA", "Lady Bird", "The Post", "The Shape of Water", "Star Wars: The Last Jedi", and "The Florida Project"!

Duration:02:43:22

About To Interview – Episode 8 – Peter Atencio and Phylicia Rashad

12/8/2017
More
Live from the LA press day for the new show "Jean-Claude Van Johnson" starring Jean-Claude Van Damme, I was joined by the director Peter Atencio and also Phylicia Rashad who plays "Jane" in the series.

Duration:00:23:42

#85 – JCVJ, The Punisher, and our 3 act comic book life

12/6/2017
More
This week's episode with special guest Ryan Berkley has discussions about 2 different TV shows; "Jean-Claude Van Johnson" and "The Punisher", and then Ryan and John go into their comic book history as it relates to a 3 act structure.

Duration:01:54:48

About To Interview – Episode 7 – Vashti Harrison

12/2/2017
More
Vashti Harrison is a filmmaker, author, and illustrator whose new book "Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History" hit the shelves on Tuesday, December 15th. This amazingly inspirational book highlights 40 black women from the past and present and their accomplishments.

Duration:00:41:58

About To Interview – Episode 6 – Robyn Paris (The Room Actors: Where Are They Now)

12/1/2017
More
Robyn Paris is a friend of mine who played "Michelle" in the 2003 classic film "The Room", which is considered the "Citizen Kane of bad movies". She just launched her new web series called "The Room Actors: Where Are They", which is mockumentary style show about the stars of the cult classic film.

Duration:00:48:59

#84 – #NoShameNovember/ Captain Collaboration

11/29/2017
More
The annual tradition of #NoShameNovember is upon us once again! The time of the year when we admit our guilty pleasures in a "safe space". This year I was joined by some of my best friends, Tim Hall, Damien Randle, and Jess O'Brien.

Duration:01:46:08

#83 – TV review – Knightfall on HISTORY

11/27/2017
More
This is a very special sponsored episode in collaboration between the “About To Review” podcast…

Duration:00:33:35

See More