BanterFlix Film Review Podcast-logo

BanterFlix Film Review Podcast

0 Favorites

More Information

Location:

United Kingdom

Description:

An often off-topic film review podcast from the BanterFlix website that talks all manner of cine nonsense!

Twitter:

@banterflix

Language:

English


Episodes

Episode 151: Why So Serious?

9/14/2017
More
This week’s podcast features our special panel discussion from the Strand Arts Centre on Cinema Day as we tried to define the cinematic experience for audiences today. Jim speaks with Francis Lee, the director of God’s Own Country and Aaron Flanagan from the Comic Book Guys about the news of a Joker origin movie and Jonathan Cardwell from the Belfast Times reviews Stephen King’s It.

Duration: 01:27:01


Episode 150: The Blonde Bond Returns

8/30/2017
More
On this podcast we chatted about Cinema Day with some of the people involved with this year’s programme, spoke with Irish director John Butler, chatted with Neil Sedgewick from Films and Faith about the recent screening of The Exorcist at the Holy Rosary Church in Belfast and chatted to David ‘CBG’ Campbell about the news Daniel Craig would be returning one last time as 007.

Duration: 00:59:30


Episode 149: Atomic Blonde, A Ghost Story and Annabelle:Creation

8/13/2017
More
On this week’s podcast we reviewed A Ghost Story, Annabelle: Creation and Atomic Blonde. Jim also spoke with local writer Michael Campbell about Netflix’s wrestling comedy-drama, Glow.

Duration: 00:39:17


Episode 148

8/4/2017
More
This week we reviewed 47 Metres Down (Or 47 Metres Below as Jim called it), Girl’s Trip and Howard’s End. Jim also spoke with Jenni Graham from the QFT about 35mm projection and the Big List’s Leigh Forgie chatted about this year’s San Diego Comic Con.

Duration: 00:56:05


Episode 147

7/23/2017
More
On this episode Jim shared his thoughts on The Big Sick and It Comes at Night, spoke with Irish actors Cillian Murphy and Barry Keoghan about their roles in Chris Nolan’s Dunkirk before reviewing the film with Hamish Calvert from HC Movie Reviews. He also talked to film historian Robert J. E. Simpson about Jodie Whittaker’s casting as the new Doctor in Doctor Who and chatted with local filmmaker Jim McMorrow about George A. Romero.

Duration: 01:01:47


Episode 146

7/12/2017
More
On this episode Jim shares his thoughts on Baby Driver and Cars 3, chats to director Trudie Styler about her film Freak Show, pops into the Comic Book Guys store on Great Victoria Street to discuss Spider-Man: Homecoming and thanks to Movie House Cinemas he reviews War for Planet of the Apes alongside Jonathan Cardwell from the Belfast Times.

Duration: 00:48:05


Wonder Woman

6/15/2017
More
On this edition of of our Podcast, Jim was joined by The Thin Air’s Conor Smyth as they chatted in spoilerific detail about Patty Jenkins’ Wonder Woman.

Duration: 01:05:30


Alien: Covenant (Spoiler Special)

5/27/2017
More
On this edition of our podcast we talked in spoilerific detail about Ridley Scott’s Alien: Covenant. Recorded at the Strand Art Centre in East-Belfast, on this recording host Jim McClean was joined by Jonathan Cardwell and Jessica Black.

Duration: 01:30:28


Alien Resurrection Special

5/12/2017
More
We conclude our retrospective of the Alien franchise by looking back at Alien Resurrection, which this year celebrates it’s 20th anniversary.

Duration: 01:07:58


Alien 3 Special

5/11/2017
More
We continue the countdown to Alien: Covenant by looking back at the much-maligned Alien 3. We discussed whether the film’s Assembly Cut improves a deeply flawed feature or Fincher’s film was doomed from the offset.

Duration: 00:55:18


Aliens Special

5/3/2017
More
We continue the countdown to Alien: Covenant with the second part of our retrospective on the Alien franchise! On this episode we looked back at James Cameron’s Aliens and debated whether the sequel was in fact superior to Ridley Scott’s iconic predecessor.

Duration: 00:59:06


Alien Special

4/26/2017
More
To celebrate Alien Day and the upcoming release of Alien: Covenant BanterFlix will be looking back at the history of the franchise, starting with a podcast dedicated to Ridley Scott’s 1979 masterpiece.

Duration: 00:50:56


Christmas Special 2016

12/18/2016
More
This week Jim was joined by Ethan Barr from Embarr Films via Skype as they talked about some of the Christmas movies they both love and hate. Keep up to speed with our podcast release schedule by following us on Facebook Twitter and Instagram.

Duration: 00:53:37


Star Trek Retrospective

12/2/2016
More
Earlier this year we recorded a Spoilerific edition of the CineCast about Star Trek: Beyond, but before we chatted about that film we discussed some of the earlier films as we looked at the films which featured the orginal cast and the Next Generation crew: now here’s that recording! On this recording Jim was joined by local filmmaker Bill Taylor and Neil Stringer from the Northern-Irish Star Trek fan-club, USS Caroline Keep up to speed with our podcast release schedule by following us...

Duration: 00:46:19


Doctor Strange

11/18/2016
More
On this edition of the CineCast, recorded over Skype we talked about some of the trailers for comic-book movie that have recently been released and chatted in spoilerific detail about the latest release in Marvel’s MCU, Doctor Strange. On this recording Jim was joined by Ethan Barr from Embarr Films and Jonathan Cardwell from Aye, Dead On Podcast. Keep up to speed with our podcast release schedule by following us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Duration: 01:13:58


John Carpenter Special

11/11/2016
More
On this edition of the CineCast, recorded live at the Strand Arts Centre in East Belfast, we talked about the films of John Carpenter and his influence as a filmmaker. On this recording Jim was joined by David Hanna from the Won’t Stay Dead Podcast and local filmmakers Jim McMorrow and Leo McGuigan. Keep up to speed with our podcast release schedule by following us on Facebook Twitter and Instagram.

Duration: 00:56:36