pixel
Cult Film in Review-logo

Cult Film in Review

26 Favorites

More Information

Location:

United States

Description:

Cult Film in Review is a weekly podcast where we cover the movies you love but no one else gets. Join Cody, a regular guy with a love for irregular films, and his offbeat band of cinephile misfits as they discuss the masterpieces of the misguided. Whether taking a trip to Tromaville or re-watching Re-Animator we give these cult classics the credit they deserve. Can you dig it?

Language:

English


Episodes

The Blob (1988)

8/17/2017
More
You better run for cover this week, because we are discussing the 1988 version of the classic sci-fi film, The Blob. In this episode, we discuss the difference between the 1988 version and the 1958 classic. It’s a good thing Mike watched both the night before! Also, we talk about some sick jumps with the […] The post The Blob (1988) appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 00:52:37


The Evil Eye aka The Girl Who Knew Too Much

8/10/2017
More
Come with us on a journey to beautiful Rome, as we discuss the Mario Bava giallo film, The Evil Eye aka. The Girl Who Knew Too Much! In this episode, we talk about the differences between the American release entitled The Evil Eye vs. the Italian version entitled The Girl Who Knew Too Much. We talk […] The post The Evil Eye aka The Girl Who Knew Too Much appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 00:51:40


Jacob’s Ladder

8/3/2017
More
This week, we take a psychological journey into the surreal as we discuss the 1990 mystery, Jacob’s Ladder. In this episode, the guys talk about the first time they remember seeing this trippy drama. Does it still hold up as well as it did when they were mere teenagers? Later, with so many different “realities” […] The post Jacob’s Ladder appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 01:02:12


Five Deadly Venoms

7/27/2017
More
This week we’re taking a trip to 1978. That’s right, your four favorite cult film podcasters are talking kung fu flicks as they take on Five Deadly Venoms a.k.a. Five Venoms! In this episode, we discuss how the Shaw Brothers’ Five Deadly Venoms stands out among the slew of other kung fu films released in the […] The post Five Deadly Venoms appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 00:52:45


Ginger Snaps ft. Molly Henery

7/20/2017
More
This week is something special because we have a very special guest joining us. Molly Henery from Thebloggingbanshee.com! As is customary on Cult Film in Review, we let Molly pick this week’s review and she’s chosen 2000’s teen horror, Ginger Snaps. In this episode, we begin by learning a little bit about Molly and get the […] The post Ginger Snaps ft. Molly Henery appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 00:57:50


Fritz the Cat

7/13/2017
More
Power to the people. We asked you, the audience, to pick our next cult film and you delivered. It was a long fought battle between four cult classics, but only one could be crowned review-worthy. Your victor was Ralph Bakshi’s Fritz the Cat! In this episode, we tell the story of how Bakshi’s first feature film […] The post Fritz the Cat appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 00:59:52


Enter the Ninja

7/6/2017
More
Get ready to enter action, get ready to enter danger, because we’re reviewing the Menahem Golan martial arts film, Enter the Ninja! In this episode, we talk about whether a ninja star to the head is truly fatal. Also, we question whether water is wet or if pigs can fly! Also on our minds, whether […] The post Enter the Ninja appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 00:48:35


The Stuff

6/29/2017
More
This week, we review the satirical sci-fi, The Stuff! In this episode, we talk about the greatest spy the world has ever seen– “Mo” Rutherford. Mo may seem like a common rube, but he proves to be a master tactician and we gloat over his exploits. Also, we have a long discussion about how sentient The […] The post The Stuff appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 01:04:06


Dazed and Confused

6/22/2017
More
We’re taking you back to the 70s with our review of the Richard Linklater’s high school comedy, Dazed and Confused. In this episode, the guys try to figure out which of this film’s characters they relate to the most. In the process, they reveal some of their own personal high school stories and find out […] The post Dazed and Confused appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 01:02:07


Phoenix Film Festival 2017

6/20/2017
More
It’s a bonus episode, from our coverage of Phoenix Film Festival 2017. We talk to the filmmakers and other members of the film industry about some of their films that played at the festival this year. We begin by talking with the stars of the indie horror flick The 6th Friend (@the6thfriend), Jamie Bernadette (@jamiebernadette) and […] The post Phoenix Film Festival 2017 appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 01:09:57


The Zero Boys

6/15/2017
More
This week, prepare yourselves for a night out in the woods as we discuss the 1986 action-slasher, The Zero Boys! In this episode, we ask a lot about why Nazis are so prevalent in this film. We also talk about the best Estevez, the Bestevez if you will, Joe Estevez! We give his character a […] The post The Zero Boys appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 01:00:58


Night of the Creeps

6/8/2017
More
Get your flamethrowers ready, because tonight is a night like no other night- tonight we review the Night of the Creeps, the sci-fi, horror comedy from Fred Dekker. In this episode, we talk about the many cult film influences this film takes from. But does that make it? Is it a true cult film or […] The post Night of the Creeps appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 01:01:00


Hawk the Slayer

6/1/2017
More
This week on Cult Film in Review, we take you back to a time of elves and dragons. An era where magic existed and men were–Hawks. We’re reviewing the fantasy film, Hawk the Slayer! It’s clear this is a cult film but is it one here in the U.S.? We also take a good amount […] The post Hawk the Slayer appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 01:01:56


Videodrome

5/25/2017
More
Long live the new flesh, and long live Cult Film in Review as we discuss our 105th film, David Cronenberg’s Videodrome! This week, we debate what Cronenberg’s most popular film of the past has been. The filmmaker has an extensive list, but how many do the general audience know about? For that matter, which of his films […] The post Videodrome appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 01:19:30


Heavy Metal

5/18/2017
More
Pack your bags, because we have a one-way ticket to midnight with your name on it as we review the animated classic, Heavy Metal. In this episode, The Crew racks their brains to make sense of the plot that binds this collection of vignettes together. Does the green orb possess the ability to transcend space […] The post Heavy Metal appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 00:49:08


Alien

5/11/2017
More
In this episode of Cult Film in Review, we discuss the new Alien: Covenant trailer, talk about our favorite director, Danny McBoyle, and decide whether we’ve given up hating on computer generated imagery. Also, Kyle tells us a story from when he was seven… or twelve. We discuss the beautiful, yet non-functional design of the Nostromo. […] The post Alien appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 01:10:26


Zardoz

5/4/2017
More
The gun is good, the podcast is evil! Well, only on Thursdays, and this Thursday we’re reviewing a real treat. It’s Zardoz starring Sean Connery and a red speedo. Mike has been waiting almost 2 years for this one and the rest of The Crew couldn’t be more excited! In this episode, we discuss the […] The post Zardoz appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 00:52:40


Kids

4/27/2017
More
This Thursday we are celebrating Chris’ 100th episode by letting him pick his very own film to review! This week his choice is a real laugh-fest… Nope. Instead, he picked Kids- Larry Clark’s controversial tale about a group of young, sexed-up, violent New Yorkians as they trek across the concrete jungle on a mission of debauchery. In […] The post Kids appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 01:02:07


Escape from New York

4/20/2017
More
It’s the 100th episode of Cult Film in Review and for this episode, we’re doing a little something special. For this centennial segment, we discuss the movies and genres that had the biggest impact on our lives. Also, we ask which of the other 99 films we’ve reviewed have made the most lasting effect on us. […] The post Escape from New York appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 01:18:25


Event Horizon

4/13/2017
More
This week, we’re taking you on a trip which will test the very fabric of reality. Sit back and enjoy the ride as we review the Paul W.S. Anderson sci-fi-horror, Event Horizon. In this episode, we point out that this is one of our most requested films from our fans, but does that make this […] The post Event Horizon appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration: 00:59:24

See More