Try Premium for 30 days

Live games for all NFL, MLB, NBA, & NHL teams
Unlimited Audiobooks
Commercial-Free Music
No Display Ads
Monocle 24: The Monocle Arts Review-logo

Monocle 24: The Monocle Arts Review

Monocle

Daily cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. They’ll tell you the shows to see, books to read and music to hear each week in a tasty 15-minute chunk.

Daily cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. They’ll tell you the shows to see, books to read and music to hear each week in a tasty 15-minute chunk.
More Information

Location:

United States

Networks:

Monocle

Description:

Daily cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. They’ll tell you the shows to see, books to read and music to hear each week in a tasty 15-minute chunk.

Language:

English


Episodes

Drawing Gorillaz

11/17/2017
More
We preview the big shows hitting the small screen this month, take the temperature of this year’s Paris Photo and meet Jamie Hewlett, the illustrator and co-creator of virtual pop group Gorillaz.

Duration: 00:44:49


Sunday Brunch 14: City living: the pros and cons

11/12/2017
More
We explore the pleasures and challenges of urban living. Meanwhile, our Culture editor Robert Bound gives us the bare necessities of life, Ken Mogi discusses the Japanese philosophy of ‘ikigai’ and we meet fashion illustrator Megan Hess. Plus: roaming restaurant Mazí Mas and Rachel Cunliffe of ‘City AM’ with the weekend papers.

Duration: 00:54:18


November books and Buenos Aires art

11/10/2017
More
Christopher Lord is joined in the studio by Sarah Shaffi – online editor for ‘The Bookseller’ – and Anne Meadows, commissioning editor for Granta and Portobello Books; together they get to grips with four of this month’s literary releases. We also head to Buenos Aires to find out about a few art initiatives hoping to boost the city’s art scene.

Duration: 00:38:22


Sunday Brunch 13: ‘Can Graphic Design Save Your Life?’

11/5/2017
More
Ever wondered about graphic design’s lifesaving properties? The Wellcome Collection has the answers. Plus: Fernando Augusto Pacheco’s favourite record, Amrou Al-Khadi on why we should stop panicking about Islam and we make some tasty pastries.

Duration: 00:55:19


On the box, top beats and treading the boards

11/3/2017
More
Robert Bound sits down with Alice Vincent, arts and entertainment writer for ‘The Telegraph’, and Will Hodgkinson, chief rock and pop critic for ‘The Times’, for this week’s TV and music releases. Plus: we find out who’s stealing the show on Broadway with theatre critic Matt Wolf and head to the reopening of Belgrade’s National Museum of Contemporary Art.

Duration: 00:44:17


Sunday Brunch 12: Frenchies

10/29/2017
More
We go through Ben Rylan’s favourite record, Killian Fox hits us with some gastronomic facts and we meet Frenchie. Plus: Phil Clark goes through the weekend papers.

October’s reading, listening and exhibitions

10/27/2017
More
Chris Lord is joined in the studio by Jane Morris, editor at large of ‘The Art Newspaper’, and John Mitchinson, publisher at Unbound, to talk about this month’s art and books. Plus: we speak to Pete Naughton about the podcasts he’s listening to this week and head to Italy for the global countdown.

Duration: 00:43:11


Sunday Brunch 11: How do you spend your Sunday?

10/22/2017
More
We find out how the UK’s Sunday traditions have changed. Roger K Burton goes through his very extensive wardrobe and we try some Australian brunch. Plus: Rachel Cunliffe on the weekend papers.

Duration: 00:54:00


Lights, camera, action!

10/20/2017
More
Tom Edwards is joined in the studio by film critics Karen Krizanovich and Jason Solomons to discuss their highlights of this year’s London Film Festival. We also head to the Frankfurt Book Fair to find out about its partnership with Georgia next year.

Duration: 00:37:16


Sunday Brunch 10: Created Out Of Mind

10/15/2017
More
We meet the man behind a project giving people with dementia a voice. Plus: Maxwell Colonna-Dashwood on mastering coffee, Christopher Lord on the Midori House Mixtape and the famous Joe Allen’s new location.

Duration: 00:50:42


From a 'Labour of Love' to 'The Exorcist'

10/13/2017
More
Matt Alagiah sits down with theatre critic Matt Wolf and book reviewer John Mitchinson. Plus we speak to Sean Mathias who is directing the stage version of ‘The Exorcist’ and find out the top five songs in Switzerland.

Duration: 00:39:30


Sunday Brunch 9: Surrealist partnerships

10/8/2017
More
We discuss the surprising partnership between Salvador Dalí and Marcel Duchamp and Clemency Burton-Hill tells us why we should all love classical music. Plus: we discover kefir, part of the Russian health-food revolution, and Sebastian Borger reviews the weekend papers.

Duration: 00:53:01


Musical licks

10/6/2017
More
Weekly cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. Enjoy conversations with the directors, artists, authors and musicians and minds behind it all.

Duration: 00:44:13


Sunday Brunch 8: The oldest literary festival in the world

10/1/2017
More
We preview Cheltenham Literature Festival, the oldest literary festival in the world. Meanwhile, Henry Rees-Sheridan says the long goodbye on the Midori House Mixtape. Plus: Maja Lunde wants to save the bees on our Weekend Read, we cook Japanese food the easy way and journalist Terry Stiastny on the weekend papers.

Duration: 00:54:41


The small and the silver screen

9/29/2017
More
Film critic Jason Solomons and TV editor for ‘London Live’ Toby Earle join Ben Rylan to discuss this month’s big and small-screen entertainment. Plus: we meet the UK singer who has adopted the French chanson style of music.

Duration: 00:40:14


Sunday Brunch 7: ‘A Poem For Every Day of the Year’

9/24/2017
More
Sprinkle some poetry throughout your life as former film and television star Allie Esiri talks us through her latest collection. Plus: Monocle 24’s Holly Fisher on why the Yeah Yeah Yeahs play an important role in her life and Marie Billon with the French perspective on the German elections.

Duration: 00:55:59


Basquiat at the Barbican

9/22/2017
More
As the Barbican’s much-anticipated ‘Basquiat: Boom For Real’ exhibition opens its doors we discuss the life and work of the prodigious artist. Plus: we attend a funeral for the ‘Cassini’ space probe and find out how to put cinema on the silver screen.

Duration: 00:44:53


Sunday Brunch 6: Global film tour

9/17/2017
More
We’ve jetted around the world checking out the latest film festivals; we also find out all about life in rural Transylvania with author Mike Ormsby, while Bill Leuty plays us Richard Dawson on the Midori House Mixtape. Plus, Phil Clark with the weekend papers.

Duration: 00:57:43


Robert Forster, this month’s books and Argentina’s new music tour

9/15/2017
More
Matt Alagiah is joined by writer Mark Mason and online editor for 'The Bookseller' Sarah Shaffi to discuss this month's book releases. Plus: we head to Buenos Aires to learn about cumbia music and Go-Betweens band member Robert Forster tells us about his new book ‘Grant & I’.

Duration: 00:41:23


Sunday Brunch 5: The Art of Negotiating

9/10/2017
More
We hear all about the new award-winning play ‘Oslo’ that’s coming to the National Theatre, Stanley Trollip tells us about his latest novel and Georgina Godwin tells us about the time she met Abba on the Midori House Mixtape. Plus: Terry Stiastny with a stack of weekend broadsheets.

Duration: 00:57:35

See More