Monocle 24: The Monocle Arts Review-logo

Monocle 24: The Monocle Arts Review

292 Favorites

More Information

Location:

United States

Networks:

Monocle

Description:

Daily cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. They’ll tell you the shows to see, books to read and music to hear each week in a tasty 15-minute chunk.

Language:

English


Episodes

Basquiat at the Barbican

9/22/2017
More
As the Barbican’s much-anticipated ‘Basquiat: Boom For Real’ exhibition opens its doors we discuss the life and work of the prodigious artist. Plus: we attend a funeral for the ‘Cassini’ space probe and find out how to put cinema on the silver screen.

Duration: 00:44:53


Sunday Brunch 6: Global film tour

9/17/2017
More
We’ve jetted around the world checking out the latest film festivals; we also find out all about life in rural Transylvania with author Mike Ormsby, while Bill Leuty plays us Richard Dawson on the Midori House Mixtape. Plus, Phil Clark with the weekend papers.

Duration: 00:57:43


Robert Forster, this month’s books and Argentina’s new music tour

9/15/2017
More
Matt Alagiah is joined by writer Mark Mason and online editor for 'The Bookseller' Sarah Shaffi to discuss this month's book releases. Plus: we head to Buenos Aires to learn about cumbia music and Go-Betweens band member Robert Forster tells us about his new book ‘Grant & I’.

Duration: 00:41:23


Sunday Brunch 5: The Art of Negotiating

9/10/2017
More
We hear all about the new award-winning play ‘Oslo’ that’s coming to the National Theatre, Stanley Trollip tells us about his latest novel and Georgina Godwin tells us about the time she met Abba on the Midori House Mixtape. Plus: Terry Stiastny with a stack of weekend broadsheets.

Duration: 00:57:35


From Taylor Swift to Sarajevo

9/8/2017
More
In the studio this week are Will Hodgkinson, chief rock and pop critic for ‘The Times’, and Alice Vincent, arts and entertainment writer for ‘The Telegraph’. They talk music and television with Monocle’s Tom Edwards. Plus: South Korean music, Sarajevo’s art scene and the charts in China.

Duration: 00:42:55


Sunday Brunch 4: What is Cascara?

9/3/2017
More
We learn about the drink that’s making coffee more sustainable, Tot Taylor tells us about his latest novel and Melkon Charchoglyan talks alternative jazz in the Midori House Mixtape. Plus: Marie Billon on this weekend’s papers.

September on the silver screen, Amsterdam’s arts and the colourful life of Molly Parkin

9/1/2017
More
Ben Rylan is joined by film critics Karen Krizanovich and Anna Smith in the studio to see what’s on at the cinema this week. We also head to Amsterdam for Uitmarkt Festival, meet the artist Molly Parkin ahead of her new exhibition and for this week’s global countdown we jump into a German time machine.

Duration: 00:44:57


Sunday Brunch 3: Tastes of Ghana

8/27/2017
More
We find out what makes a Ghanaian brunch, speak to the people behind the Migrate photography exhibition in London, and Tom Hall plays us ‘Automatic Midnight’ in the Midori House mixtape. Plus: the journalist and author Matthew Green goes through a stack of broadsheets from around the world.

Music, art and more music

8/25/2017
More
Music writer Laura Snapes and curator Francesca Gavin join Robert Bound to discuss the album releases and art shows that should be on your radar over the next month. Plus, we get South American music picks from Cascabel Studio and we go down under for this week’s Global Countdown.

Duration: 00:38:03


Sunday Brunch 2: California Designing

8/20/2017
More
We head to the Design Museum to learn about its new exhibition California: Designing Freedom, explore Leonard Cohen’s life with Kieron Matthew Banerji and sample ice-cream sundaes in north London. All that before we go through a huge helping of broadsheets from around the world with Jonathan Fenby.​

Duration: 00:57:08


Podcasts, books and music: a different spin on hospital records

8/18/2017
More
In the studio we talk books and podcasts with John Mitchinson, co-founder of Unbound, and Fiona Sturges, arts columnist for ‘The Guardian’ and ‘The Financial Times’. Plus we head to Moscow to learn how Soviet music lovers managed to smuggle music into the USSR on old hospital X-rays and we dial up Edinburgh to find out how the fringe festival is going so far.

Duration: 00:45:00


Sunday Brunch: The Other Paradise

8/13/2017
More
Find out about the otherworldly evening taking over the Royal Academy of Arts in London, hear some Pink Floyd courtesy of Carlota Rebelo and sample the delights of Dishoom. All that before we go through a huge helping of broadsheets from around the world with Marie Billon.​

Duration: 00:57:17


From Westeros to the West End

8/11/2017
More
This week we’re talking TV and books with Alice Vincent, arts and entertainment writer for ‘The Telegraph’, as well as writer and critic Mark Mason. The pair sit down with Monocle’s Matt Alagiah to discuss HBO’s latest shows and the non-fiction reads worth picking up this month. Plus: the new edition of ‘Somesuch Stories’, the journal that celebrates creative writing and interesting voices.

Duration: 00:35:26


August on the silver screen

8/4/2017
More
Tom Edwards is taken on a trip to the cinema by film critics Karen Krizanovich and Tim Robey as they discuss August’s movie releases, we learn about Maud Russell, a woman whose diary tells stories of high society during the Second World War and we meet Charlie Fink, the former frontman of indie-folk outfit Noah and the Whale, who has set his sights on the stage.

Duration: 00:41:20


From screen to stage

7/28/2017
More
Ben Rylan is joined in the studio by Toby Earle, TV editor for ‘London Live’, and Matt Wolf, theatre critic for ‘The New York Times International Edition’, to find out what’s on the small screen and the stage this week. Plus: we head to Amsterdam to discover the city’s only Arabic bookshop and we meet a duo who have set out to demystify contemporary art.

Duration: 00:46:44


From your stereo to the rodeo

7/21/2017
More
Robert Bound is joined by broadcaster and DJ Georgie Rogers and country music aficionado Baylen Leonard for this week’s music review, we head to Calgary for the annual Stampede festival and Fernando Augusto Pacheco is back with another countdown from somewhere around the globe.

Duration: 00:40:18


Summer cinema and songs

7/14/2017
More
Tom Edwards sits down with film critics Tim Robey and Jason Solomons to talk about this summer’s cinema releases. Plus: we head to Brazil for the Meca festival and find out the top five songs in Israel.

Duration: 00:43:42


Middle Eastern rock music, 1980s female wrestling and life behind bars

7/7/2017
More
Ben Rylan sits down with Alice Vincent, arts and entertainment writer for The Telegraph, and Hannah Verdier, writer and author of The Guardian’s Pod Complex column, to talk TV and podcasts. Plus we meet Orlando Crowcroft who’s just written a book about the challenges of performing rock music in the Middle East.

Duration: 00:45:53


London’s art scene and the death of the rock star

6/30/2017
More
We delve into the world of art with three new exhibitions in London and this year’s Art Basel. Chris Lord is joined in the studio by head of content for the Lisson Gallery, Ossian Ward, and private art adviser and dealer, Kathlene Fox-Davies. Plus: we speak to music journalism legend David Hepworth about his new book ‘Uncommon People’.

Duration: 00:44:23


June’s best books, Athens as an art destination and the RA’s freshest talent

6/23/2017
More
Matt Alagiah is joined in the studio by author Cathy Rentzenbrink and Sarah Shaffi, online editor for ‘The Bookseller’, to review some of the best book releases from the past month. We head to Athens to see whether the latest influx of fairs and exhibitions has put the Greek capital on the art map and we nip over to the Royal Academy of Art for this year’s student show.

Duration: 00:45:13

See More