Try Premium for 30 days

Live games for all NFL, MLB, NBA, & NHL teams
Commercial-Free Music
No Display Ads
Monocle 24: The Monocle Arts Review-logo

Monocle 24: The Monocle Arts Review

Monocle

Daily cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. They’ll tell you the shows to see, books to read and music to hear each week in a tasty 15-minute chunk.

Daily cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. They’ll tell you the shows to see, books to read and music to hear each week in a tasty 15-minute chunk.
More Information

Location:

United States

Networks:

Monocle

Description:

Daily cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. They’ll tell you the shows to see, books to read and music to hear each week in a tasty 15-minute chunk.

Language:

English


Episodes

Bingo!

12/15/2017
More
We review art shows and new book releases with writer and curator Francesca Gavin and Ted Hodgkinson, senior programmer for literature and spoken word at the Southbank Centre. Plus: we meet Daniel Rezende, the Brazilian director of new film ‘Bingo’.

Duration: 00:41:27


Sunday Brunch 18: A gingerbread city

12/10/2017
More
We go to the city – a gingerbread one – as we explore the Museum of Architecture’s famous annual exhibition in London. Plus: Marc Hagan-Guirey teaches us how to perform kirigami – ‘Star Wars’ style; Bea Vo, founder of Stax Diner, talks about Christmas cooking; and Juliette Foster goes through the weekend papers.

Duration: 00:53:06


Top TV

12/8/2017
More
We discuss this month’s TV with Alice Vincent, arts and entertainment writer for ‘The Telegraph’ and discover what people around the world will be watching this Christmas. Plus theatre critic Matt Wolf gives us his take on some of London’s current shows on stage.

Duration: 00:38:20


Sunday Brunch 17: Monocle’s Christmas Market

12/3/2017
More
We are joined by the stallholders and some of Monocle’s very own for coverage of our Christmas Market.

Duration: 00:49:45


Shanghai’s new museums

12/1/2017
More
Ossian Ward, head of content for the Lisson Gallery, discusses the new film by Ai Weiwei and Shanghai’s latest museum openings, while writer Mark Mason brings in a couple of non-fiction books that have caught his attention this season. Plus: we meet US singer-songwriter Jim White as he releases his new album.

Duration: 00:41:50


Sunday Brunch 16: Red Star Over Russia

11/26/2017
More
Discover photographer David King’s collection of more than 250,000 posters, prints and photographs from Soviet Russia with London’s Tate Modern. Plus: David Bramwell on the weird and the wonderful, and the founder of 30-year-old restaurant Brindisa.

Duration: 00:54:58


The silver screen, Seoul and Sinterklaas

11/24/2017
More
Film critics Karen Krizanovich and Tim Robey bring some Hollywood glamour to Midori House as they discuss the latest features to hit the big screen. Plus: we find out about Musicity in Seoul and discuss a controversial festive issue in Amsterdam.

Duration: 00:43:59


Sunday Brunch 15: ‘Illuminating India’

11/19/2017
More
We head to London’s Science Museum to find out how India has influenced science and technology over the course of 5,000 years. Plus: Monocle 24’s Rhys James reveals his favourite record, Sophie Walker expresses her love for Japanese gardens and we try some Greek culinary delights with restaurant Meraki.

Duration: 00:57:19


Drawing Gorillaz

11/17/2017
More
We preview the big shows hitting the small screen this month, take the temperature of this year’s Paris Photo and meet Jamie Hewlett, the illustrator and co-creator of virtual pop group Gorillaz.

Duration: 00:44:49


Sunday Brunch 14: City living: the pros and cons

11/12/2017
More
We explore the pleasures and challenges of urban living. Meanwhile, our Culture editor Robert Bound gives us the bare necessities of life, Ken Mogi discusses the Japanese philosophy of ‘ikigai’ and we meet fashion illustrator Megan Hess. Plus: roaming restaurant Mazí Mas and Rachel Cunliffe of ‘City AM’ with the weekend papers.

Duration: 00:54:18


November books and Buenos Aires art

11/10/2017
More
Christopher Lord is joined in the studio by Sarah Shaffi – online editor for ‘The Bookseller’ – and Anne Meadows, commissioning editor for Granta and Portobello Books; together they get to grips with four of this month’s literary releases. We also head to Buenos Aires to find out about a few art initiatives hoping to boost the city’s art scene.

Duration: 00:38:22


Sunday Brunch 13: ‘Can Graphic Design Save Your Life?’

11/5/2017
More
Ever wondered about graphic design’s lifesaving properties? The Wellcome Collection has the answers. Plus: Fernando Augusto Pacheco’s favourite record, Amrou Al-Khadi on why we should stop panicking about Islam and we make some tasty pastries.

Duration: 00:55:19


On the box, top beats and treading the boards

11/3/2017
More
Robert Bound sits down with Alice Vincent, arts and entertainment writer for ‘The Telegraph’, and Will Hodgkinson, chief rock and pop critic for ‘The Times’, for this week’s TV and music releases. Plus: we find out who’s stealing the show on Broadway with theatre critic Matt Wolf and head to the reopening of Belgrade’s National Museum of Contemporary Art.

Duration: 00:44:17


Sunday Brunch 12: Frenchies

10/29/2017
More
We go through Ben Rylan’s favourite record, Killian Fox hits us with some gastronomic facts and we meet Frenchie. Plus: Phil Clark goes through the weekend papers.

October’s reading, listening and exhibitions

10/27/2017
More
Chris Lord is joined in the studio by Jane Morris, editor at large of ‘The Art Newspaper’, and John Mitchinson, publisher at Unbound, to talk about this month’s art and books. Plus: we speak to Pete Naughton about the podcasts he’s listening to this week and head to Italy for the global countdown.

Duration: 00:43:11


Sunday Brunch 11: How do you spend your Sunday?

10/22/2017
More
We find out how the UK’s Sunday traditions have changed. Roger K Burton goes through his very extensive wardrobe and we try some Australian brunch. Plus: Rachel Cunliffe on the weekend papers.

Duration: 00:54:00


Lights, camera, action!

10/20/2017
More
Tom Edwards is joined in the studio by film critics Karen Krizanovich and Jason Solomons to discuss their highlights of this year’s London Film Festival. We also head to the Frankfurt Book Fair to find out about its partnership with Georgia next year.

Duration: 00:37:16


Sunday Brunch 10: Created Out Of Mind

10/15/2017
More
We meet the man behind a project giving people with dementia a voice. Plus: Maxwell Colonna-Dashwood on mastering coffee, Christopher Lord on the Midori House Mixtape and the famous Joe Allen’s new location.

Duration: 00:50:42


From a 'Labour of Love' to 'The Exorcist'

10/13/2017
More
Matt Alagiah sits down with theatre critic Matt Wolf and book reviewer John Mitchinson. Plus we speak to Sean Mathias who is directing the stage version of ‘The Exorcist’ and find out the top five songs in Switzerland.

Duration: 00:39:30


Sunday Brunch 9: Surrealist partnerships

10/8/2017
More
We discuss the surprising partnership between Salvador Dalí and Marcel Duchamp and Clemency Burton-Hill tells us why we should all love classical music. Plus: we discover kefir, part of the Russian health-food revolution, and Sebastian Borger reviews the weekend papers.

Duration: 00:53:01

See More