Seven-Minute Opinions-logo

Seven-Minute Opinions

19 Favorites

More Information

Location:

United States

Description:

This weekly series is your audio guide to thought-provoking arguments on a variety of topics, from perspectives left, right, and center. These smart, concise podcasts pack big ideas into a short amount of time and promise to challenge, inspire, and get you thinking about a range of points of you that you may or may not agree with. New episodes: every Tuesday.

Twitter:

@TheWeek

Language:

English


Episodes

Ep. 65: How today's female politicians became modern heroines

9/19/2017
More
The rise of the political she-ro

Duration: 00:07:15


Ep. 64: America's bus system is broken

9/12/2017
More
It's the poor who will suffer most when bus travel is neglected

Duration: 00:06:54


Ep. 63: Why 'Frasier' is the best show to sleep to

9/5/2017
More
That inky swamp of panic you live in? Banished by Kelsey Grammer's soothing voice and plush neuroses.

Duration: 00:06:59


Ep. 62: Against a guaranteed jobs program

8/29/2017
More
During the Great Depression, the government created thousands of jobs for the unemployed. That would never work today.

Duration: 00:06:42


Ep. 61: Why 'freedom of speech' is a cartoonish fantasy

8/22/2017
More
Free speech absolutists are ignoring history

Duration: 00:06:53


Ep. 60: President Trump and the perils of unchecked executive power

8/15/2017
More
How Trump exposes a dangerous problem at the heart of American government

Duration: 00:05:24


Ep. 59: The fall of America

8/8/2017
More
Four signs the U.S. has entered an age of decline

Duration: 00:07:07


Ep. 58: Make government simple again

8/1/2017
More
It doesn't have to be this complicated!

Duration: 00:05:57


Ep. 57: Why you should vacation somewhere new, unexpected, and totally out of your comfort zone

7/25/2017
More
Take a risk!

Duration: 00:05:59


Ep. 56: Pregnancy is not a disease

7/18/2017
More
Every birth is a miracle. Every child is made beautifully in the image of God. It's as simple as that.

Duration: 00:06:11


Ep. 55: The one thing you must always remember about President Trump

7/11/2017
More
He does not care enough about the American presidency to give up his business for it

Duration: 00:05:14


Ep. 54: Why I don't celebrate the Fourth of July

7/4/2017
More
I'm glad to be an American, but I can't celebrate the dire price we paid for our independence.

Duration: 00:05:40


Ep. 53: I got an IUD. It was a nightmare.

6/27/2017
More
We need to stop glorifying this form of birth control and instead help women get better access to reproductive health care.

Duration: 00:06:05


Ep. 52: In defense of child-free vacations

6/20/2017
More
I need this, and so does my kid

Duration: 00:06:29


Ep. 51: Want to be smarter than your friends? Watch C-SPAN.

6/13/2017
More
If you're at all concerned with what your lawmakers are doing on Capitol Hill, C-SPAN should be your lifeblood.

Duration: 00:06:39


Ep. 48: My 8-year-old daughter wanted to play basketball. But sexism got in the way.

5/23/2017
More
She'd hoped to play alongside the boys. The boys had other ideas.

Duration: 00:06:37


Ep. 47: I am a murderino

5/16/2017
More
Let me tell you about 'My Favorite Murder'

Duration: 00:07:00


Ep. 46: The beautiful fiction of Disneyland

5/9/2017
More
Inside my obsession with the Happiest Place on Earth

Duration: 00:06:55


Ep. 45: There's never been a better time to watch 'Dirty Dancing'

5/2/2017
More
Celebrating its 30th anniversary this year, the film is far more politically radical than you remember

Duration: 00:06:56


Ep. 43: I already miss the Chicago Cubs' curse

4/25/2017
More
Sports curses are wonderful — until they're broken

Duration: 00:06:08

See More