Try Premium for 30 days

Live games for all NFL, MLB, NBA, & NHL teams
Commercial-Free Music
No Display Ads
The Disney Movie Review-logo

The Disney Movie Review

Media & Entertainment Podcasts >

More Information

Location:

United States

Language:

English


Episodes

EP167: Redbox Strikes Back Against Disney

1/21/2018
More
This week Redbox responded to Disney’s lawsuit over copyright infringement and we all side with Redbox. Disney's Board of Directors is saying goodbye to representatives from Facebook and Twitter due to conflicts of interests. And with four months left until Solo: A Star Wars Story, we discuss whether Star Wars actually needs marketing. That and much, much more. For the week of January 22, this is episode 167 of The Disney Movie Review

Duration: 01:03:39


EP166: A Fa$t Pa$$ to Dark Skin

1/14/2018
More
It was quite the eventful week as Disney admitted to darkening the skin of extras in the live action version of Aladdin. In addition, Disney began charging wealthy guests for extra fast passes, a sharp change in direction from the current free system. Plus there was a new Star Wars comic that could fix most of the problems with The Last Jedi. That and much, much more. For the week of January 15, this is episode 166 of The Disney Movie Review.

Duration: 01:00:43


EP165: Disney's F-word Problem

1/7/2018
More
This week it was light on the news but heavy on the language so we dive into Disney’s attempt to reach out to young black males. Plus the mouse house dominated the box office for the second year in a row. Will they be able to save theaters? And Christian Bale was almost in Han Solo. That and much, much more. For the week of January 8, 2018 this is episode 165 of The Disney Movie Review.

Duration: 01:00:06


EP164: A "Live" Look At 2018

12/31/2017
More
I'm like Bob Iger. I keep saying there won't be an episode and then, Poof! Here it is! But when Ed, Kim, Cameron, Chiwahn, and I all get together at a diner in Texas, you have to break out the recorder. Sorry for the sound quality, but we hope you enjoy this one!

Duration: 00:41:48


EP163: The Best of Disney 2017

12/25/2017
More
Which Disney movie had the best music this year? Which trailer left us wanting more? Who was the best director? Actor? Actress? And which film is the best Disney movie of the year? We'll tell you this week on The Disney Movie Review.

Duration: 01:13:13


EP162: The Last Jedi Review

12/17/2017
More
This week it’s our review of Star Wars: The Last Jedi. We talk about the negative fan reaction and whether or not we think it is an overreaction. We break down the character developments that let us down, and the ones that left us wanting more. And what in the world will happen in episode 9? We have some theories. For the week of December 18, this is episode 162 of The Disney Movie Review.

Duration: 01:31:36


EP161: Winners and Losers of Disney's Fox Deal

12/10/2017
More
This week we are inches away from a final deal for Disney to buy 21st Century Fox. So we take an in-depth look at the winners, the losers, and the things that are just too soon to tell. Plus, Kristin provides an exclusive look at how this deal could forever change the theme parks. And Olaf's Frozen Adventure is leaving theaters, which has made some fans more upset than they were in the first place. That and much more this week on Episode 161 of The Disney Movie Review.

Duration: 01:06:14


EP159: Coco Review

12/3/2017
More
This week we review Pixar’s new original film Coco. We talk about the music, animation and whether or not we cried, (spoiler alert: we did). Ed breaks down the religious plot hole he found and whether or not it ruins the movie. And of course we talk about Olaf’s Frozen Adventure. That and much, much more. For the week of December 4, this is episode 159 of The Disney Movie Review.

Duration: 01:15:57


EP160: The Problem With Bob Chapek as CEO

12/3/2017
More
Disney Parks Chief Bob Chapek is apparently first in line to be the next Disney CEO, but that would mean bad things for fans. Marvel released the first trailer for Avengers: Infinity War which may bring balance to the force. Disney has found the actress who will play Mulan in the live-action movie AND, If that weren’t enough, Disney announced it is suing Redbox, and they’ll probably win big. For the week of December 4, this is episode 160 of The Disney Movie Review

Duration: 00:46:58


Thoughts on John Lasseter

11/26/2017
More
John Lasseter, Chief Creative Officer at Pixar and Walt Disney Animation, has taken a six-month sabbatical after allegations of sexual harassment were reported in the Hollywood Reporter. This week we do an unplanned episode to talk about the allegations, the sabbatical, and where Pixar and Disney go from here. Sorry for the low-quality sound. Again, this wasn't planned. Also, Kristin was out doing Black Friday shopping. Forgot to mention that in the episode.

Duration: 00:38:50


EP157: Disney In Talks To Buy 21st Century Fox

11/12/2017
More
It was a rough news week for Disney. The one bright spot was a story about how Disney and 21st Century Fox have been in on-again, off-again talks for its studio division. That news was largely positive. The rest of the week - not so much. Thor: Ragnarok became the 14th Marvel movie to pass $500 million at the global box office, but that news was overshadowed by Disney's incredibly misguided blackout of the LA Times. And let's not even get started on Disney's disappointing 4th quarter...

Duration: 01:05:19


EP155: Beyonce is Nala, and Disney is The Empire

11/5/2017
More
This Week Disney released the full cast for The Lion King and it includes Beyonce as Nala. Lucasfilm is making some hefty demands of movie theaters that want to show Star Wars: The Last Jedi. Some investors say Disney’s new streaming app could be worth $25 billion within 10 years after launching. Plus Kristin has an update on crowds in Disney World and construction at Hollywood Studios. All that and much more. For the week of November 6, this is episode 155 of The Disney Movie Review.

Duration: 00:53:35


EP156: Thor: Ragnarok Review

11/5/2017
More
This week it’s our review of Thor: Ragnarok - the 17th movie in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. We do the first part completely spoiler free and then we get into spoilers. We talk about how Director Taika Watiti made Marvel’s first real comedy. We also talk through all of the characters and the one line that made us all see Asgard in the Real World. Plus we give our final ratings and talk about where the MCU goes from here! That and much, much more. For the week of Nov. 6, this is Episode...

Duration: 01:07:24


EP154: Disney Deaths May Help Kids

10/29/2017
More
This week we talk about Disney cancelling Gigantic - their definitive retelling of the Jack and the Beanstalk Story. A new study says Disney films are a great way for parents to talk to their children about death. Lucasfilm announced the title for the new Han Solo film and fan excitement is so low. That and much, much more. For the week of October 30, this is episode 154 of the Disney Movie Review.

Duration: 00:56:45


EP153: Jedis, Free Speech, and Dogs

10/15/2017
More
This week Lucasfilm released the full trailer for The Last Jedi and our hopes are high! Disney partnered with the other studios to launch a new App and will end Disney Movies Anywhere. ESPN suspended host Jemele Hill after she told people to Boycott advertisers for the Dallas Cowboys. And, it is raining Cats and Dogs at Disney world. For the week of October 16, 2017, this is episode 153 of The Disney Movie Review.

Duration: 01:19:04


EP152: Guns, Race and Politics

10/8/2017
More
I do my best to keep the "outside world" separate from this podcast. But I couldn't act like everything was normal this week. Nothing was normal about the what happened in Las Vegas. And I kept hearing the same thing over and over: "Nothing is going to change." The reason behind that statement was that Congress won't do anything to change the laws. The right won't talk to the left, and the left won't talk to the right. But to me, the problem is bigger than that. We, as Americans, won't...

Duration: 01:10:36


EP151: Disney Launches New Streaming App

10/1/2017
More
A former Disney Imagineer is working with AMC to revolutionize movies. Disney is bringing exclusive behind the scenes content to the movie pre-show. Disney launches a new app that gives us a sneak peek of what their new streaming app could look like...and it is awesome. For the week of Oct 2, 2017, this is episode 151.

Duration: 00:52:22


EP150: Disney Sued For Stealing VFX Software

9/24/2017
More
This week, Disney is being sued over visual effects in the live action Beauty and the Beast and two incredibly successful Marvel films. The Last Jedi may get a new trailer in a few weeks, but some fans are focused on JJ Abrams. And summer was bad, but are we seeing a great big beautiful tomorrow at the box office? That and much, much more. For the week of Sept. 25, this is episode 150 of The Disney Movie Review.

Duration: 01:02:32


Bonus: A Review of Pandora From People Who Have Been There

9/17/2017
More
Ed and Kristin give us a break down of their recent trips to Disney World and their thoughts on Pandora.Ed and Kristin give us a break down of their recent trips to Disney World and their thoughts on Pandora.

Duration: 00:50:24


EP149: Return of the JJ and Bob Iger's Future

9/17/2017
More
This week Lucasfilm has called on JJ Abrams to direct Star Wars Episode 9, but is he really what the franchise needs? Pixar released a new trailer for Coco and gets us all excited for Thanksgiving. Disney plans to release 25 films in the next 27 months, and that's just the beginning. Plus we have a good discussion about the current state of the Disney company and whether Bob Iger should be let go. That and much, much more. For the week of September 18, this is episode 149 of The Disney...

Duration: 01:02:39

See More