Try Premium for 30 days

Live games for all NFL, MLB, NBA, & NHL teams
Commercial-Free Music
No Display Ads
Week in Review (KUOW)-logo

Week in Review (KUOW)

Puget Sound PR

More Information

Location:

Seattle, WA

Genres:

News

Language:

English


Episodes

We reviewed this week's news (and some musical about a Treasury Secretary)

2/16/2018
More
We'll look back at this week's school shooting in Parkland, Florida and the College Republicans rally at the University of Washington that raised questions over free speech on campus. Also this week: Can a health club ban a white supremacist from training at their gym? Is Washington state on the brink of abolishing the death penalty? And could Hamilton possibly be as good as the hype?

Duration:00:49:47

We reviewed this week's news, then had it cut down for a better view

2/9/2018
More
Does a $17,000 security fee infringe on free speech on the University of Washington campus? Is it "hostile architecture" when the city of Seattle uses fences and bike racks to keep people from camping in public areas? Did West Seattle homeowners pay enough of a cost for cutting down city-owned trees to enhance their views? And does Paul Allen play and sing as good as Jimi Hendrix? Quincy Jones thinks so.

Duration:00:50:56

Is it hot in here or did we just review this week's news?

2/2/2018
More
The Amazon spheres: corporate hype or a Seattle icon to rival the Space Needle? We'll tell you what we learned from a behind-the-scenes look at the end of former Seattle mayor Ed Murray's career. And a controversial FBI memo is finally released -- we'll see what all the dossier is about. Also, would you pay $40 for custom Sasquatch license plates?

Duration:00:49:36

No long lines, just grab this week's news and go

1/26/2018
More
This week, an Amtrak engineer said he didn't see the signs telling him to slow down before last month's fatal derailment near Tacoma. Amazon opened a convenience store with no checkout lines. Sound Transit might lose a bunch of car-tab tax money. And Edgar Martinez might want to hit Hall of Fame voters with a light bat.

Duration:00:51:08

Seek immediate shelter and listen to this week's news

1/19/2018
More
This week, a woman revealed graphic details about her date with comedian Aziz Ansari, and it has women discussing reasons why they don't always say "hell no" and walk out the door. Also, should a Seattle Congressmember attend the State of the Union address despite her opinion of President Trump?

Duration:00:51:37

We reviewed this week's news and still have our FCC license

1/12/2018
More
President Trump says a mouthful about immigration. Governor Inslee and the Democrats size up their new majority in Olympia. Seattle's new soda tax kicks in. Plus, a story about how the Seattle city government sausage is made, thanks to a special exemption for one Airbnb owner who fought city hall and won.

Duration:00:50:23

This week's news isn't going to pump itself

1/5/2018
More
The Trump Administration says it will stop telling prosecutors to look the other way when states legalize marijuana and wants to open federal waters off the coast to oil drilling. Seattle taxpayers will pay to settle a sex abuse lawsuit against former mayor Ed Murray. And Oregonians will finally get to pump their own gas, but please cool it with the jokes.

Duration:00:50:21

Week in Review: Soda tax, Amtrak crash and one year of Trump

12/29/2017
More
If you want to avoid a new tax on soda, load up on Pineapple Fanta now. You'll pay more when Seattle's new soda tax kicks in on January 1. Also new on New Year's Day: statewide paid sick leave and another upward tick in Seattle’s minimum-wage.

Duration:00:43:21

Week in Review: Amtrak crash, tax bill, final 747 flight

12/22/2017
More
What caused Amtrak Cascades 501 from Seattle to Portland crash on its first trip along a new, faster route? Who wins and loses with the passage of the new Republican tax plan? Why is Washington's Attorney General suing Value Village? And where are people going to eat turkey sandwiches now that Bakeman's Restaurant is closing?

Duration:00:51:18

Week in Review: Friday, December 15, 2017

12/15/2017
More
A Washington state representative denies sexually harassing anyone, but has resigned from his leadership position. Do the results of the Alabama special election mean voters are turning away from Republicans?

Duration:00:50:25

Week in Review: Friday, December 8, 2017

12/8/2017
More
This week, Senator Al Franken said he'll be resigning his Senate seat over accusations of sexual harassment, and some liberals are not celebrating. They want Democrats to resign only when President Trump does. What's the right thing to do?

Duration:00:49:46

Week in Review: Friday, December 1, 2017

12/1/2017
More
Seattle mayor Jenny Durkan’s first week in office saw housing help for low-income families, a study of the city’s Race and Social Justice Initiative and a proposal for two years of free community college tuition for public high school graduates. We’ll look ahead to the challenges to come.

Duration:00:50:36

This week we're counting down the days to a new mayor

11/17/2017
More
Seattle mayor-elect Jenny Durkan assembles her transition team, and the City Council rejects a head tax on big Seattle businesses – for now. We'll cover the latest from City Hall as Durkan's swearing-in fast approaches.

Duration:00:49:30

Week in Review: Election roundup, #MeToo in Olympia

11/3/2017
More
Haven't voted yet? Your ballot is due on Tuesday. We'll catch you up on the latest election news with help from Seattle Channel's Joni Balter , KING 5 political reporter Natalie Brand and Q13 political analyst C.R. Douglas .

Duration:00:52:17

Week in Review: Tolling, Seattle sterotypes and a head tax

10/27/2017
More
Seattle City Councilmember Mike O'Brien is one of the lawmakers proposing to study the idea of tolling -- not just 520 or Highway 99, but Seattle surface streets, too. The new waterfront tunnel is going to have a toll. That toll will cause some drivers to spill onto our already-crowded surface streets and congestion pricing could help with that, but is it the only way to ease downtown traffic?

Duration:00:50:08

Week in Review: Amazon HQ2, #MeToo, Boy Scouts

10/20/2017
More
This week, some Seattle-area leaders told Amazon they'd like to hit the refresh button on their relationship with the company. Is Seattle going overboard with the apologizing? And what does Amazon owe Seattle for its success?

Duration:00:50:21

Week in Review: Harvey Weinstein, Amazon HQ2 and upcoming elections

10/13/2017
More
This week rape and sexual harassment got a very public face when we learned that Hollywood mogul Harvey Weinstein is accused of raping several women. He’s been settling sexual harassment claims for decades, and many, many people knew about it and said nothing.

Duration:00:50:40

Week in Review: Gun laws, electing leaders and food hype

10/6/2017
More
This week one man killed 58 and wounded hundreds of people in Las Vegas using legal weapons — semiautomatic rifles modified with devises that make them act more like machine guns. Will this shooting change our gun laws?

Duration:00:36:33

Week in Review: NFL takes a knee, Washington takes on Big Pharma

9/29/2017
More
Some NFL players took a knee during the national anthem, or sat. The Seahawks stayed in their locker room. Other players stood and locked arms. What does it all matter if the fans tune them out? Also, Facebook says it will get tougher on fake Russian campaign ads, but what is our responsibility to consume media smartly? And Washington state sues the maker of OxyContin, but pharmaceutical companies say they don't deserve all the blame because it's doctors who over-prescribed and patients...

Duration:00:52:05

Week in Review: Friday, September 22, 2017

9/22/2017
More
Bill apologizes to listeners for our interview with the man from this week's viral Seattle-Nazi-gets-punched video, and we look for the lessons. (see the video and read the transcript) Seattle gets a new temporary mayor, and the race to replace Eastside Congressman Dave Reichert gets a well-known Republican challenger.

Duration:00:51:29

See More