The Obsessive Viewer - Movie Review Podcast-logo

The Obsessive Viewer - Movie Review Podcast

Film

A weekly podcast reviewing one or two new release titles every episode with an occasional free-for-all segment at the end we call Potpourri. Proudly presented by ObsessiveViewer.com. A full archive of The Obsessive Viewer Podcast (as well as written reviews) can be found at ObsessiveViewer.com.

Location:

Indianapolis, IN

Description:

A weekly podcast reviewing one or two new release titles every episode with an occasional free-for-all segment at the end we call Potpourri. Proudly presented by ObsessiveViewer.com. A full archive of The Obsessive Viewer Podcast (as well as written reviews) can be found at ObsessiveViewer.com.

Language:

English


Episodes

OV417 - Drive-Away Dolls (2024) & Monolith (2024) - Guests: Brent Leuthold and Joe Shearer

2/29/2024
This week, I’m joined by guest Brent Leuthold to review the new Ethan Coen film Drive-Away Dolls in a non-spoiler and spoiler feature review. And for this week’s secondary review, Joe Shearer joins me for a review of Monolith. For potpourri, Joe and I cover a bunch of rapid fire titles. Timestamps 00:28Dune Part Two07:11 Feature Review Drive-Away Dolls -16:3540:04 Secondary Review Joe Intro - 59:40 Monolith1:06:221:34:35 Potpourri Ordinary Angels1:47:49The Greatest Night in Pop1:52:15Drift1:53:46Lisa Frankenstein1:56:00SubUrbia1:58:23Lover, Stalker, Killer2:01:30 2:03:532:05:13 Related Links Brent’s LetterboxdAwake in the Dark Awake in the Dark - Ep. #79 - 2024 Oscar Talk with Ben Sears Brent's Notes on the 2024 Oscars Brent's Review of Drive-Away Dolls Brent's Review of Madame Web Brent's Review of Lisa Frankenstein Brent's Review of Argylle Joe’s Letterboxd Joe’s Writing on Midwest Film Journal Medium Cool: A Movie Podcast Joe's Review of The Seeding Hold On To Your Butts: Jackie Brown Hold On To Your Butts: Die Hard with a Vengeance Medium Cool Podcast: 114. Movies on the 4s (Part One) Medium Cool Podcast: 115. Celebrating Black Filmmakers Medium Cool Podcast: 116. Cinematic Love Stories My 2024 Podcast and Writing Archive One Year of Criterion Channel - Dec 24, 2023 - Dec 23, 2024 Movies I Own But Haven't Watched/Rated Yet Follow Us on Social Media My Letterboxd | YouTube | Facebook | Twitter/X Instagram | Threads | Bluesky | TikTok | Tiny’s Letterboxd Subscribe to the Podcast Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Audible Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive ContentOfficial OV Merch Obsessive ViewerObsessive Viewer Presents: AnthologyObsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies As Good As It Gets - Linktree Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.4)Brent: Earthworks ICON Pro in Google MeetJoe: Tonor USB Microphone via Google Meet ObsessiveViewer.com/OV417 Next Week on the Podcast OV418 - Dune Part Two (2024) & Spaceman (2024)

Duration:02:06:57

OV416 - Madame Web (2024) & Players (2024)

2/22/2024
This week, I review the new film Madame Web in a non-spoiler and spoiler review. For this week’s secondary review, I share my non-spoiler thoughts on Netflix’s new romcom, Players. For potpourri, I talk up Masaki Kobayashi’s 1962 samurai film, Harakiri. Timestamps 00:2804:38 Feature Review Madame Web -20:3641:49 Secondary Review Players1:07:33 Potpourri Harakiri (1962)1:17:24 1:28:491:30:58 Related Links Marvel’s ‘The Fantastic Four’ Lands Its Cast: Pedro Pascal, Vanessa Kirby, Joseph Quinn, Ebon Moss-Bachrach Christopher Nolan Would ‘Love to Make a Horror Film,’ Looking for a ‘Really Exceptional Idea’ Deadpool & Wolverine Trailer Twisters Trailer My 2024 Podcast and Writing Archive One Year of Criterion Channel - Dec 24, 2023 - Dec 23, 2024 Movies I Own But Haven't Watched/Rated Yet Follow Us on Social Media My Letterboxd | YouTube | Facebook | Twitter/X Instagram | Threads | Bluesky | TikTok | Tiny’s Letterboxd Subscribe to the Podcast Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Audible Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive ContentOfficial OV Merch Obsessive ViewerObsessive Viewer Presents: AnthologyObsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies As Good As It Gets - Linktree Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.4) Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV416

Duration:01:33:29

OV415 - Extended Potpourri - Role Play (2024), Fast X (2023), John Woo, Peacemaker, 24, and the Death of Peak TV

2/15/2024
This week, Tiny and I discuss some recent news before we dive into an Extended Potpourri in which we discuss Role Play (2024), Fast X (2023), the Hong Kong work of John Woo, and whether or not the age of Peak TV is dead. Timestamps 00:2809:36 Extended Potpourri Peacemaker20:36Role Play (2024)26:48Fast X (2023)31:10A Better Tomorrow (1986)37:00A Better Tomorrow II (1987)39:19The Killer (1989)42:23The Flash (2023)43:36Bullet in the Head (1990)51:49Hard Boiled (1992)55:39Is Peak TV Still a Thing?59:55241:31:58 1:44:531:47:38 Related Links Carl Weathers Dies: ‘Rocky’ & ‘Predator’ Star Who Appeared In ‘Happy Gilmore’, ‘The Mandalorian’ & More Was 76 Dave Franco and Alison Brie to Star in Co-Dependency Horror Film ‘Together’ A Quiet Place: Day One (2024) Trailer Gone in 60 Minutes - Midwest Film Journal My 2024 Podcast and Writing Archive One Year of Criterion Channel - Dec 24, 2023 - Dec 23, 2024 Follow Us on Social Media My Letterboxd | YouTube | Facebook | Twitter/X Instagram | Threads | Bluesky | TikTok | Tiny’s Letterboxd Subscribe to the Podcast Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Audible Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive ContentOfficial OV Merch Obsessive ViewerObsessive Viewer Presents: AnthologyObsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies As Good As It Gets - Linktree Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.4)Tiny: Samson Q2U via USB over Google Meet Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV415

Duration:01:49:42

OV414 - Argylle (2024) & The Beekeeper (2024) - Guest: Nick Rogers

2/8/2024
This week, I’m joined by Nick Rogers (Midwest Film Journal) to review Argylle in a non-spoiler and spoiler review. Then, in our secondary review, we discuss David Ayer’s The Beekeeper. For Potpourri, Nick shares his thoughts on the long running Sniper franchise while I share my thoughts on the new coming of age film, Fitting In. Timestamps 00:2808:35 Featured Review Argylle26:2245:37 Secondary Review The Beekeeper1:06:101:13:43 Potpourri The Sniper Franchise 1:25:07Fitting In (2024)1:33:00 1:36:441:38:44 Related Links Oscar Nominations 2024: ‘Oppenheimer’ Dominates With 13 Nods, ‘Poor Things’ Follows With 11 Netflix 2024 Movie Slate: Titles From Jamie Foxx, Cameron Diaz, Jennifer Lopez, Jerry Seinfeld & Woody Woodpecker; ‘Beverly Hills Cop 4’ Sets Release Date Brad Pitt Circling Role in Quentin Tarantino’s ‘The Movie Critic’ As Good As It Gets - Linktree Nick's Letterboxd Nick's Writing on Midwest Film Journal Fighter (2024) Class of 1994: Body Snatchers The Beekeeper (2024) Follow Us on Social Media My Letterboxd YouTube FacebookTwitter/XInstagramThreads BlueskyTikTok My 2024 Podcast and Writing Archive One Year of Criterion Channel - Dec 24, 2023 - Dec 23, 2024 Apple Podcasts Spotify Audible Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive ContentOfficial OV Merch Obsessive ViewerObsessive Viewer Presents: AnthologyObsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.4)Nick: Webcam Mic Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV414

Duration:01:40:44

OV413 - Mean Girls (2024) & I.S.S. (2024) - Guest: Brent Leuthold

2/1/2024
This week, I’m joined by Brent Leuthold (AwakeintheDark.com) to review Mean Girls in a non-spoiler and spoiler review. Then, in our secondary review, we discuss the sci-fi thriller, I.S.S. For Potpourri, I share some brief thoughts about Wong Kar-Wai’s Chungking Express while Brent talks about the new Netflix docuseries, American Nightmare. Timestamps 00:2811:00 Reviews Mean Girls - 24:38 52:02 I.S.S. - 1:08:09 1:24:26 Potpourri ChungkingExpress (1994)1:36:13American Nightmare1:42:12 1:47:431:50:09 Related Links Jesse Eisenberg, Kieran Culkin Sundance Comedy-Drama ‘A Real Pain’ Sells to Searchlight for $10 Million Netflix Buys Sundance Thriller ‘It’s What’s Inside’ in Huge $17 Million Sale Brent's LetterboxdAwake in the DarkBrent's Review of I.S.S. Brent's Review of Mean Girls (2024) Brent's Review of The Beekeeper Brent's Top Ten Films of 2023 As Good As It Gets - Linktree Follow Us on Social Media My Letterboxd YouTube FacebookTwitter/XInstagramThreads BlueskyTikTok My 2024 Podcast and Writing Archive One Year of Criterion Channel - Dec 24, 2023 - Dec 23, 2024 Apple Podcasts Spotify Audible Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive ContentOfficial OV Merch Obsessive ViewerObsessive Viewer Presents: AnthologyObsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.3 BETA)Brent: Earthworks ICON Pro in Google Meet Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV413

Duration:01:52:02

OV412 - Night Swim (2024) & Self Reliance (2024) - Guest: Sam Watermeier

1/25/2024
This week, I am joined by Sam Watermeier (of MidwestFilmJournal.com) to review Night Swim (currently in theaters) in a non-spoiler and spoiler review. Then, in our secondary review, we discuss Jake Johnson’s Self Reliance (now streaming on Hulu). For Potpourri, Sam talks about seeing Fargo on 35mm at the Historic Artcraft Theatre while I share my thoughts on The Wages of Fear. Timestamps 00:2804:11 Reviews Night Swim17:3140:19 Self Reliance55:381:06:24 Potpourri Fargo1:28:28The Wages of Fear 1:35:24 1:46:531:48:51 Related Links ‘28 Days Later’ Sequel in the Works: Danny Boyle, Alex Garland Reteam to Launch New Trilogy With ‘28 Years Later’ - Variety David Gordon Green Exits ‘Exorcist’ Sequel as Universal, Blumhouse Search for New Director -Variety Sam’s Letterboxd Sam’s Review of Night Swim Sam’s Writing on Midwest Film Journal As Good As It Gets - Linktree Follow Us on Social Media My LetterboxdTiny’s LetterboxdMike’s Letterboxd FacebookTwitter/XInstagramThreads BlueskyTikTok YouTube My 2024 Podcast and Writing Archive Apple Podcasts Spotify Audible Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive ContentOfficial OV Merch Obsessive ViewerObsessive Viewer Presents: AnthologyObsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.3 BETA)Sam:Samson Q2U via USB in Google Meet Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV412

Duration:01:50:58

OV411 - 2023 Year in Review - Best Movies of the Year and Viewing Stats

1/18/2024
Welcome to The Obsessive Viewer’s 2023 Year in Review episode! It’s our annual episode where Tiny, Mike, and I share our movie viewing stats for the year and our top ten favorite movies lists. Timestamps 00:2807:15 Stats and Stat Tracking 17:5821:5225:56 33:28 42:4845:3849:01 Honorable Mentions and Movies We Missed 55:1759:46 Top Tens of 2023 1:07:342:03:352:58:19The Obsessive Viewer3:17:40 3:20:003:24:45 3:29:233:31:06 Related Links Matt’s 2023 Letterboxd StatsMatt’s 2023 Archive Matt's Top Ten Movies of 2023 and Thoughts on the Year Matt's 2024 List - One Year of Criterion Channel - Dec 24, 2023 - Dec 23, 2024 Patreon Special - 2023 Podcast and Writing Stats + Honorable Mentions - Jan 1, 2024 Tiny’s 2023 Letterboxd Stats Mike’s 2023 Letterboxd Stats As Good As It Gets - Linktree Matt’s Top Ten of 2023 Godzilla Minus OneBarbieDream ScenarioThe HoldoversTalk to MeOppenheimerJohn Wick: Chapter 4Poor ThingsThanksgivingGuardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 Tiny’s Top Ten of 2023 The HoldoversOppenheimerSpider-Man: Across the Spider-VerseBarbieGuardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3NyadExtraction 2MaestroDungeons & Dragons: Honor Among TheivesSly Mike’s Top Ten of 2023 Spider-Man: Across the Spider-VerseThe HoldoversGodzilla Minus OneAirBarbieThe Iron ClawScream VITalk to MeJohn Wick: Chapter 4Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie Follow Us on Social Media My LetterboxdTiny’s LetterboxdMike’s Letterboxd FacebookTwitter/XInstagramThreads BlueskyTikTok My 2024 Podcast and Writing Archive Our Theme Song on Spotify Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive ContentOfficial OV Merch Obsessive ViewerObsessive Viewer Presents: AnthologyObsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.3 BETA)Mike:Blue Snowball via USB in Google MeetTiny: Samson Q2U via USB in Google Meet Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV411

Duration:03:35:10

OV410 - Ferrari (2023) & Good Grief (2024)

1/11/2024
This week, I review Ferrari (currently in theaters) in a non-spoiler and spoiler review. Then, in our secondary review, Mike joins me to review Dan Levy’s Good Grief (now streaming on Netflix). For Potpourri, I share my thoughts on The Infernal Affairs Trilogy. Timestamps 00:2803:10 Reviews Ferrari05:3519:30 Introducing Mike - 30:52 Good Grief36:3756:35 Potpourri The Infernal Affairs Trilogy1:09:30 1:21:521:23:36 Related Links Judd Apatow Says It’s ‘Insulting’ to Put ‘Barbie’ in the Oscar Race for Adapted Screenplay: ‘There Was No Existing Material’ Drew McWeeny Tweet about Barbie As Good As It Gets - Linktree Follow Us on Social Media TikTokMy LetterboxdTiny’s LetterboxdMike’s Letterboxd FacebookTwitter/XInstagramThreads Bluesky My 2024 Podcast and Writing Archive Our Theme Song on Spotify Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive ContentOfficial OV Merch Obsessive ViewerObsessive Viewer Presents: AnthologyObsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.3 BETA)Mike:Blue Snowball via USB in Google Meet Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV410

Duration:01:25:47

OV409 - Aquaman and the Lost Kingdom (2023) & Rebel Moon - Part One: A Child of Fire (2023) - Guest: Andy Carr

1/4/2024
This week, I review Aquaman and the Lost Kingdom (currently in theaters) in a non-spoiler and spoiler review with guest Andy Carr (Odd Trilogies Podcast). Then, in our secondary review, we cover Rebel Moon - Part One: A Child of Fire (now streaming on Netflix). We also discuss the latest Scream VII news, Amazon Prime ad news, and more. Timestamps 00:2803:3013:38 Reviews Aquaman and the Lost Kingdom37:551:10:31 Rebel Moon - Part One: A Child of Fire1:33:56 Potpourri Sonic the Hedgehog 32:08:39The Meyerowitz Stories (2017)2:11:31 2:15:252:17:47 Related Links Andy’s Odd Trilogies PodcastAndy’s Letterboxd Andy's 0 Star Letterboxd List Odd Trilogies - Episode 74: A Christmas Story Sequel TrilogyAndy’s Rebel Moon Review My Rebel Moon Review What Realistic Film Dialogue Sounds Like ‘Scream 7’ Director Christopher Landon Says He ‘Formally Exited’ the Movie Weeks AgoThe Wrap Amazon Prime Video will start showing ads on January 29thThe Verge Follow Us on Social Media TikTokMy LetterboxdTiny’s LetterboxdMike's Letterboxd FacebookTwitter/XInstagramThreads Bluesky My 2023 Podcast and Writing Archive Our Theme Song on Spotify Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive ContentOfficial OV Merch Obsessive ViewerObsessive Viewer Presents: AnthologyObsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.3 BETA)Andy: Samson Q2U via USB in Google Meet Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV409

Duration:02:19:36

OV408 - IFJA Ten Best Films of 2023 - Guest: Andy Carr

12/28/2023
This week, I welcome my friend and IFJA colleague Andy Carr back to the show to help me close out the year with a breakdown of the Indiana Film Journalists Association’s Ten Best Films of 2023. Timestamps 00:2805:50 The IFJA Awards - 18:33 Best Film Finalists - 33:39 Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret.34:26Barbie44:50The Holdovers48:58John Wick: Chapter 455:36Killers of the Flower Moon1:03:52May December1:13:28Past Lives1:18:30Robot Dreams1:23:24 Oppenheimer1:28:38Poor Things1:40:16 1:48:591:54:18 Related Links ‘Poor Things’ big winner in 2023 IFJA awardsAndy’s Odd Trilogies Podcast Andy’s Writing on Film YapAndy’s Letterboxd Midwest Film Journal's Hold Onto Your Butts Essay Series Jonathan Majors Fired By Disney/Marvel Studios After Assault Guilty Verdicts; Actor Had Played Kang The Conqueror Follow Us on Social Media TikTokMy LetterboxdTiny’s Letterboxd FacebookTwitter/XInstagramThreads Bluesky My 2023 Podcast and Writing Archive Our Theme Song on Spotify Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive ContentOfficial OV Merch Obsessive ViewerObsessive Viewer Presents: AnthologyObsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.3 BETA)Andy: Samson Q2U via USB in Google Meet Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV408

Duration:01:56:35

OV407 - Poor Things (2023) & Saltburn (2023) - Guest: Mitch Ringenberg

12/21/2023
This week, I review Poor Things (currently in theaters) in a non-spoiler and spoiler review with guest Mitch Ringenberg (Midwest Film Journal). Then, in our secondary review, we cover Saltburn (now on Amazon Prime Video). We also discuss the trailer for Alex Garland’s next film, Civil War and more. Timestamps 00:2802:4415:14 Reviews Poor Things32:431:03:45 Saltburn1:26:051:38:50 1:56:442:00:35 Related Links Mitch’s Letterboxd Mitch’s Writing on Midwest Film Journal Midwest Film Journal's Hold Onto Your Butts Essay Series André Braugher Cause Of Death Revealed ‘Curb Your Enthusiasm’ Ending With Season 12 as Larry David Says ‘I Bid You Farewell’ America is on the brink in the first trailer for Alex Garland’s Civil War Follow Us on Social Media TikTokMy LetterboxdTiny’s Letterboxd FacebookTwitter/XInstagramThreads Bluesky My 2023 Podcast and Writing Archive Our Theme Song on Spotify Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive ContentOfficial OV Merch Obsessive ViewerObsessive Viewer Presents: AnthologyObsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.3 BETA)Mitch:Blue Yeti USB Mic via Google Meet Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV407

Duration:02:02:21

OV406 - Leave the World Behind (2023) & Silent Night (2023) - Guests: Andy Carr and Joe Shearer

12/14/2023
This week, I review Leave the World Behind (currently on Netflix) in a non-spoiler and spoiler review with guests Andy Carr (Odd Trilogies Podcast) and Joe Shearer (Midwest Film Journal contributor). In our secondary review, we review Silent Night (now on Netflix) and we also discuss the 2023 IFJA Award Nominees. Timestamps 00:2812:54 Reviews Leave the World Behind41:0142:121:13:59 Silent Night1:45:59 2:11:122:16:16 Related Links Nominations Announced for the 2023 Indiana Film Journalists Association Awards André Braugher Dies: Star Of ‘Homicide: Life On The Street’, ‘Brooklyn Nine-Nine’ & Other Series And Films Was 61 Andy’s Odd Trilogies Podcast Andy’s Writing on Film YapAndy’s Letterboxd Joe’s Writing on Midwest Film JournalJoe’s Letterboxd Film Soceyology - WFYI Indianapols Follow Us on Social Media TikTokMy LetterboxdTiny’s Letterboxd YouTube FacebookTwitter/XInstagramThreads Bluesky My 2023 Podcast and Writing Archive Our Theme Song on Spotify Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive ContentOfficial OV Merch Obsessive ViewerObsessive Viewer Presents: AnthologyObsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.3 BETA)Andy: Samson Q2U via USB in Google MeetJoe: Tonor USB Microphone via Google Meet Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV406

Duration:02:18:33

OV405 - Dream Scenario (2023) & It’s a Wonderful Knife (2023) - Guests: Sam Watermeier and Brent Leuthold

12/7/2023
This week, I review Dream Scenario (currently in theaters) in a non-spoiler and spoiler review with guest Sam Watermeier (Midwest Film Journal) before reviewing It’s a Wonderful Knife (now on Shudder) with guest Brent Leuthold (Awake in the Dark) in our secondary review. Timestamps 00:28Killers of the Flower Moon - 03:49Hold Onto Your Butts10:45 Reviews Dream Scenario19:5621:1648:20 It’s a Wonderful Knife1:16:33 Potpourri Poor Things1:57:36A Thousand and One2:07:02 2:09:592:12:09 Related Links Sam’s Work on Midwest Film Journal Sam’s Dream Scenario ReviewBrent’s Work on Awake in the Dark Brent’s Dream Scenario Review Follow Us on Social Media TikTokMy LetterboxdTiny’s Letterboxd FacebookTwitter/XInstagramThreads Bluesky My 2023 Podcast and Writing Archive Our Theme Song on Spotify Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive ContentOfficial OV Merch Obsessive ViewerObsessive Viewer Presents: AnthologyObsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.2 BETA)Sam: Samson Q2U via USB in Google MeetBrent: Earthworks ICON Pro via Google Meet Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV405

Duration:02:13:53

OV404 - Napoleon (2023) & May December (2023) - Good Burger 2, The Last of Us, and Scream VII Cast Shake Up

11/30/2023
This week, I review Napoleon (currently in theaters) in a non-spoiler and spoiler review and May December (on Netflix December 1). I also talk out my feelings about the week’s shocking Scream VII cast news and share some thoughts about Good Burger 2 and The Last of Us season 1 in potpourri. Timestamps 00:2805:00 Reviews Napoleon - 28:08 30:0049:07 May December - 59:38 Potpourri The Last of Us- Season 11:14:25Good Burger 21:18:24 1:24:231:27:00 Related Links ‘Black Mirror’ Renewed for Season 7Variety ‘Scream 7’ – Melissa Barrera Reportedly No Longer Starring in the Franchise’s Next InstallmentBloody Disgusting Jenna Ortega Not Expected to Return for ‘Scream 7’Bloody Disgusting Follow Us on Social Media TikTokMy LetterboxdTiny’s Letterboxd FacebookTwitter/XInstagramThreads Bluesky My 2023 Podcast and Writing Archive Our Theme Song on Spotify Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive ContentOfficial OV Merch Obsessive ViewerObsessive Viewer Presents: AnthologyObsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies Recent Patreon Content Immediate Reaction - Maestro (2023) - Nov 14, 2023 Patreon Potpourri - 024 - "Awards Season 2023" - The Beanie Bubble, Fingernails, Flora and Son, and Tetris - Nov 15-18, 2023 Book Reaction - Everything's Eventual by Stephen King - Stories 6-9 - The Death of Jack Hamilton, In the Deathroom, L.T.’s Theory of Pets, and The Road Virus Heads North - Nov 18, 2023 Patreon Shop - Content for Sale without a Patreon Membership Immediate Movie Reactions - 2022 - Pack 1 (Jan-May 2022) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2022 - Pack 2 (Jun-Dec 2022) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2023 - Pack 1 (Jan-May 2023) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2023 - Pack 2 (Jun-Sept 2023) Stephen King Adaptation Commentaries - Pack 1 Stephen King Adaptation Commentaries - Pack 2 Book Reaction - Night Shift by Stephen King Book Reaction - Nightmares & Dreamscapes by Stephen King Book Reaction - Skeleton Crew by Stephen King Book Reaction - Billy Summers by Stephen King Book Reaction - Fairy Tale by Stephen King Book Reaction - The Bill Hodges Trilogy by Stephen King Book Reaction - The Outsider by Stephen King Book Reaction - If It Bleeds by Stephen King Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.2 BETA) Processing: High Pass Filter, DeEsser, Compressor, and Master Compellor enabled. Recorded in the Living Room Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV404

Duration:01:28:54

OV403 - Thanksgiving (2023) & Please Don't Destroy: The Treasure of Foggy Mountain (2023) - Guest: Brent Leuthold (AwakeintheDark.com)

11/22/2023
In this week’s episode, I welcome my friend and IFJA colleague Brent Leuthold back to the show to review Thanksgiving (currently in theaters) in a non-spoiler and spoiler review and Please Don’t Destroy: The Treasure of Foggy Mountain (on Peacock). Become a patron for exclusive audio content at Patreon.com/ObsessiveViewer. And visit the Patreon Shop for a la carte exclusive content at ObsessiveViewer.com/Patreon. Timestamps 00:2809:04 Reviews Thanksgiving18:1019:1041:23Please Don’t Destroy: The Treasure of Foggy Mountain1:12:36 1:31:31 Related Links Brent’s LetterboxdThanksgiving Next Goal Wins The Holdovers Five Night’s At Freddy’s Killers of the Flower Moon Brent’s Social Media FacebookTwitter Instagram Threads Madame Web trailer Emma Stone, Nathan Fielder Parody Sydney Sweeney and Glen Powell’s ‘Anyone But You’ Intro in New ‘The Curse’ Promo Please Don’t Destroy - “I Got Vaccinated” Mark Little: Elevated Horror Tiktok Thanksgiving (2007) - Grindhouse Trailer My TikTok AccountMy 2023 Podcast and Writing Archive Our Theme Song on SpotifyMy LetterboxdTiny’s Letterboxd Recent Patreon Content Patreon Potpourri - 023 - "Awards Season 2023" - BS High, Creed III, Air, and Stephen Curry: Underrated - Nov 11-12, 2023 Immediate Reaction - Priscilla (2023) - Nov 12, 2023 Book Reaction - Everything's Eventual by Stephen King - Novella – Everything’s Eventual - Nov 12, 2023 Book Reaction - Cibola Burn (The Expanse 4) by James S.A. Corey - Part 5 (Chapters 37-46) - Nov 11, 2023 Patreon Shop Immediate Movie Reactions - 2022 - Pack 1 (Jan-May 2022) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2022 - Pack 2 (Jun-Dec 2022) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2023 - Pack 1 (Jan-May 2023) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2023 - Pack 2 (Jun-Sept 2023) Stephen King Adaptation Commentaries - Pack 1 Stephen King Adaptation Commentaries - Pack 2 Book Reaction - Night Shift by Stephen King Book Reaction - Nightmares & Dreamscapes by Stephen King Book Reaction - Skeleton Crew by Stephen King Book Reaction - Billy Summers by Stephen King Book Reaction - Fairy Tale by Stephen King Book Reaction - The Bill Hodges Trilogy by Stephen King Book Reaction - The Outsider by Stephen King Book Reaction - If It Bleeds by Stephen King Help Support the PodcastOfficial OV Merch Obsessive ViewerObsessive Viewer Presents: AnthologyObsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.2 BETA) Processing: High Pass Filter, DeEsser, Compressor, and Master Compellor enabled. Recorded in the Living RoomBrent: Earthworks ICON Pro Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV403

Duration:01:35:23

OV402 - Priscilla (2023) - Pet Sematary: Bloodlines, Face Off, and Maestro - Guest: Kim C (The Year of Underrated Stephen King)

11/16/2023
In this week’s episode, I welcome my friend and fellow Stephen King podcaster Kim C to the show to review Priscilla (currently in theaters) in a non-spoiler and spoiler review. For potpourri, Kim shares her love of makeup artist reality show Face Off and I share my brief thoughts on Bradley Cooper’s new movie, Maestro. Become a patron for exclusive audio content at Patreon.com/ObsessiveViewer. And visit the Patreon Shop for a la carte exclusive content at ObsessiveViewer.com/Patreon. Timestamps 00:2808:10 Review Priscilla20:4422:141:12:16 Potpourri Face Off1:30:42Maestro1:34:18 1:37:08 Related Links The Year of Underrated Stephen KingKim C’s Twitter Kim C’s Instagram UnderratedSK on Facebook Warner Bros.’ ‘Salem’s Lot’ Remake Appears Headed to Max Instead of Theaters My TikTok AccountMy 2023 Podcast and Writing Archive Our Theme Song on SpotifyMy LetterboxdTiny’s Letterboxd Recent Patreon Content Patreon Potpourri - 023 - "Awards Season 2023" - BS High, Creed III, Air, and Stephen Curry: Underrated - Nov 11-12, 2023 Immediate Reaction - Priscilla (2023) - Nov 12, 2023 Book Reaction - Everything's Eventual by Stephen King - Novella – Everything’s Eventual - Nov 12, 2023 Book Reaction - Cibola Burn (The Expanse 4) by James S.A. Corey - Part 5 (Chapters 37-46) - Nov 11, 2023 Patreon Shop Immediate Movie Reactions - 2022 - Pack 1 (Jan-May 2022) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2022 - Pack 2 (Jun-Dec 2022) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2023 - Pack 1 (Jan-May 2023) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2023 - Pack 2 (Jun-Sept 2023) Stephen King Adaptation Commentaries - Pack 1 Stephen King Adaptation Commentaries - Pack 2 Book Reaction - Night Shift by Stephen King Book Reaction - Nightmares & Dreamscapes by Stephen King Book Reaction - Skeleton Crew by Stephen King Book Reaction - Billy Summers by Stephen King Book Reaction - Fairy Tale by Stephen King Book Reaction - The Bill Hodges Trilogy by Stephen King Book Reaction - The Outsider by Stephen King Book Reaction - If It Bleeds by Stephen King Help Support the PodcastOfficial OV Merch Obsessive ViewerObsessive Viewer Presents: AnthologyObsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.2 BETA) Processing: High Pass Filter, DeEsser, Compressor, and Master Compellor enabled. Recorded in the Living RoomKim C: RØDE Podmic USB via Google Meet Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV402

Duration:01:44:54

OV401 - The Marvels (2023) & Quiz Lady (2023) - When Evil Lurks, The Haunting of Hill House, Foundation, and SAG-AFTRA Strike Ends

11/10/2023
In this week’s episode, I fly solo on the show to review The Marvels in a non-spoiler and spoiler review and then share my thoughts on the new comedy Quiz Lady currently on Hulu. For potpourri, I announce a couple of upcoming Patreon projects and share my thoughts on When Evil Lurks, currently on Shudder. Become a patron for exclusive audio content at Patreon.com/ObsessiveViewer. And visit the Patreon Shop for a la carte exclusive content at ObsessiveViewer.com/Patreon. Timestamps 00:28 Circle City Supernatural05:0906:42 Reviews The Marvels12:1822:2149:49 Quiz Lady1:13:40 Potpourri - 1:25:28 The Haunting of Hill House1:25:57Foundation1:27:22When Evil Lurks1:32:44 1:35:41 Related Links Circle City Supernatural trailerCircle City Supernatural on Amazon The Strike Is Over! SAG-AFTRA & Studios Reach Tentative Deal On New Three-Year Contract Crisis at Marvel: Jonathan Majors Back-Up Plans, ‘The Marvels’ Reshoots, Reviving Original Avengers and More Issues Revealed My TikTok AccountMy 2023 Podcast and Writing Archive Our Theme Song on SpotifyMy LetterboxdTiny’s Letterboxd Recent Patreon Content Immediate Reaction - The Marvels (2023) - Nov 7-8, 2023 Immediate Reaction - Cobweb (2023) - Oct 31, 2023 Immediate Reaction - When Evil Lurks (2023) - Oct 31, 2023 Immediate Reaction - Dark Harvest (2023) - Oct 30, 2023 Immediate Reaction - Five Nights at Freddy's (2023) - Oct 29, 2023 Immediate Reaction - Night of the Hunted (2023) - Oct 29, 2023 Immediate Reaction - The Killer (2023) - Oct 29, 2023 Patreon Shop Immediate Movie Reactions - 2022 - Pack 1 (Jan-May 2022) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2022 - Pack 2 (Jun-Dec 2022) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2023 - Pack 1 (Jan-May 2023) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2023 - Pack 2 (Jun-Sept 2023) Stephen King Adaptation Commentaries - Pack 1 Stephen King Adaptation Commentaries - Pack 2 Book Reaction - Night Shift by Stephen King Book Reaction - Nightmares & Dreamscapes by Stephen King Book Reaction - Skeleton Crew by Stephen King Book Reaction - Billy Summers by Stephen King Book Reaction - Fairy Tale by Stephen King Book Reaction - The Bill Hodges Trilogy by Stephen King Book Reaction - The Outsider by Stephen King Book Reaction - If It Bleeds by Stephen King Help Support the PodcastOfficial OV Merch Obsessive ViewerObsessive Viewer Presents: AnthologyObsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies Mic Info ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.2 BETA) Processing: High Pass Filter, DeEsser, Compressor, and Master Compellor enabled. Recorded in the Living Room Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV401

Duration:01:38:57

OV400 - Extended Potpourri - Killers of the Flower Moon, BS High, The Killer, Ahsoka, Five Nights at Freddy’s, and RIP Matthew Perry

11/2/2023
In this special milestone episode, Tiny and I discuss a wide range of topics including BS High, Killers of the Flower Moon, Ahsoka, Five Nights at Freddy’s, Sex Education, The Killer, and more. Become a patron for exclusive audio content at Patreon.com/ObsessiveViewer. And visit the Patreon Shop for a la carte exclusive content at ObsessiveViewer.com/Patreon. Timestamps 00:2801:28 09:12Salem’s Lot09:45They Follow13:1715:40 Extended Potpourri - 31:08 Killers of the Flower Moon31:22BS High41:46The Killer50:59Ahsoka57:23Five Nights at Freddy’s1:07:07Sex Education1:14:30 1:18:40 Related Links Warner Bros.’ ‘Salem’s Lot’ Remake Appears Headed to Max Instead of Theaters ‘The Life of Chuck’ – Mike Flanagan Announces Incredible Full Cast Including Lillard and Langenkamp ‘It Follows’ Sequel Revealed: Maika Monroe and Director David Robert Mitchell Reunite for ‘They Follow’ ‘I Actually Felt Like I Knew Him’ Days after Matthew Perry’s death, the Friends apartment corner transforms into a site of mourning.OV088 – Bonus Ep – Friends Retrospective My TikTok AccountMy 2023 Podcast and Writing Archive Our Theme Song on SpotifyMy LetterboxdTiny’s Letterboxd Recent Patreon Content Immediate Reaction - Cobweb (2023) - Oct 31, 2023 Immediate Reaction - When Evil Lurks (2023) - Oct 31, 2023 Immediate Reaction - Dark Harvest (2023) - Oct 30, 2023 Immediate Reaction - Five Nights at Freddy's (2023) - Oct 29, 2023 Immediate Reaction - Night of the Hunted (2023) - Oct 29, 2023 Immediate Reaction - The Killer (2023) - Oct 29, 2023 Immediate Reaction - Killers of the Flower Moon (2023) - Oct 21, 2023 Immediate Reaction - Fair Play (2023) - Oct 19, 2023 Patreon Shop Immediate Movie Reactions - 2022 - Pack 1 (Jan-May 2022) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2022 - Pack 2 (Jun-Dec 2022) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2023 - Pack 1 (Jan-May 2023) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2023 - Pack 2 (Jun-Sept 2023) Stephen King Adaptation Commentaries - Pack 1 Stephen King Adaptation Commentaries - Pack 2 Book Reaction - Night Shift by Stephen King Book Reaction - Nightmares & Dreamscapes by Stephen King Book Reaction - Skeleton Crew by Stephen King Book Reaction - Billy Summers by Stephen King Book Reaction - Fairy Tale by Stephen King Book Reaction - The Bill Hodges Trilogy by Stephen King Book Reaction - The Outsider by Stephen King Book Reaction - If It Bleeds by Stephen King Help Support the PodcastOfficial OV MerchObsessive ViewerObsessive Viewer Presents: AnthologyObsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.2 BETA) Processing: High Pass Filter, DeEsser, Compressor, and Master Compellor enabled. Recorded in the Living Room Tiny: Samson Q2U via USB in Google Meet Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV400

Duration:01:22:27

OV399 - The Exorcist: Believer (2023) & V/H/S/85 (2023) - Guest: Brent Leuthold (AwakeintheDark.com)

10/12/2023
In this episode, I welcome my friend Brent Leuthold to the show to review the new horror releases The Exorcist: Believer and V/H/S/85! Become a patron for exclusive audio content at Patreon.com/ObsessiveViewer. And visit the Patreon Shop for a la carte exclusive content at ObsessiveViewer.com/Patreon. Timestamps Show Start – 00:28 Introducing Brent - 01:32 Taylor Swift: The Eras Tour - 05:15 Reviews – 11:42 The Exorcist: Believer – 14:03 Spoiler Review – 52:00 V/H/S/85 - 1:11:33 Closing the Ep – 1:33:04 Related Links My TikTok Account My 2023 Chain Link Viewing Project List My 2023 Podcast and Writing Archive Oppenheimer (2023) The Miracle Club (2023) Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 (2023) Mike’s Band: As Good As It Gets Our Theme Song on Spotify Brent's Letterboxd No Sleep October: Trick 'r Treat The Exorcist: Believer Fair Play Flora and Son Dumb Money Brent's Social Media Facebook Twitter Instagram Threads Patreon Shop Immediate Movie Reactions - 2022 - Pack 1 (Jan-May 2022) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2022 - Pack 2 (Jun-Dec 2022) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2023 - Pack 1 (Jan-May 2023) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2023 - Pack 2 (Jun-Sept 2023) Stephen King Adaptation Commentaries - Pack 1 Stephen King Adaptation Commentaries - Pack 2 Book Reaction - Night Shift by Stephen King Book Reaction - Nightmares & Dreamscapes by Stephen King Book Reaction - Skeleton Crew by Stephen King Book Reaction - Billy Summers by Stephen King Book Reaction - Fairy Tale by Stephen King Book Reaction - The Bill Hodges Trilogy by Stephen King Book Reaction - The Outsider by Stephen King Book Reaction - If It Bleeds by Stephen King Help Support the Podcast Official OV Merch Obsessive Viewer Obsessive Viewer Presents: Anthology Obsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.2 BETA). Processing: High Pass Filter, DeEsser, Compressor, and Master Compellor enabled. Recorded in the Living Room Brent: Earthworks ICON Pro Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV399

Duration:01:38:28

OV398 - No One Will Save You (2023) - It Lives Inside (2023), and Close Encounters of the Third Kind in IMAX

9/29/2023
In this episode, Tiny and I review the new Brian Duffield movie, No One Will Save You! Become a patron for exclusive audio content at Patreon.com/ObsessiveViewer. Timestamps Show Start – 00:28 Patreon Shop Info - 02:14 Review – 05:56 No One Will Save You – 06:30 Spoiler Review – 38:00 Potpourri - 1:00:06 Matt: It Lives Inside (2023) - 1:00:36 Tiny: Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977) - 1:03:00 Closing the Ep – 1:08:30 Related Links My TikTok Account My 2023 Chain Link Viewing Project List My 2023 Podcast and Writing Archive Oppenheimer (2023) The Miracle Club (2023) Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 (2023) Mike’s Band: As Good As It Gets Our Theme Song on Spotify Patreon Shop Immediate Movie Reactions - 2022 - Pack 1 (Jan-May 2022) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2022 - Pack 2 (Jun-Dec 2022) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2023 - Pack 1 (Jan-May 2023) Immediate Movie Reactions - 2023 - Pack 2 (Jun-Sept 2023) Stephen King Adaptation Commentaries - Pack 1 Stephen King Adaptation Commentaries - Pack 2 Book Reaction - Night Shift by Stephen King Book Reaction - Nightmares & Dreamscapes by Stephen King Book Reaction - Skeleton Crew by Stephen King Book Reaction - Billy Summers by Stephen King Book Reaction - Fairy Tale by Stephen King Book Reaction - The Bill Hodges Trilogy by Stephen King Book Reaction - The Outsider by Stephen King Book Reaction - If It Bleeds by Stephen King Help Support the Podcast Official OV Merch Obsessive Viewer Obsessive Viewer Presents: Anthology Obsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies Mic Info Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.2.2). Processing: High Pass Filter, DeEsser, Compressor, and Master Compellor enabled. Recorded in the Living Room Tiny: Samson Q2U via USB in Google Meet Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV398

Duration:01:11:58