Cult Film in Review-logo

Cult Film in Review

Film >

Cult Film in Review is a weekly podcast where we cover the movies you love but no one else gets. Join Cody, a regular guy with a love for irregular films, and his offbeat band of cinephile misfits as they discuss the masterpieces of the misguided. Whether taking a trip to Tromaville or re-watching Re-Animator we give these cult classics the credit they deserve. Can you dig it?

Cult Film in Review is a weekly podcast where we cover the movies you love but no one else gets. Join Cody, a regular guy with a love for irregular films, and his offbeat band of cinephile misfits as they discuss the masterpieces of the misguided. Whether taking a trip to Tromaville or re-watching Re-Animator we give these cult classics the credit they deserve. Can you dig it?
More Information

Location:

United States

Description:

Cult Film in Review is a weekly podcast where we cover the movies you love but no one else gets. Join Cody, a regular guy with a love for irregular films, and his offbeat band of cinephile misfits as they discuss the masterpieces of the misguided. Whether taking a trip to Tromaville or re-watching Re-Animator we give these cult classics the credit they deserve. Can you dig it?

Language:

English


Episodes

Creepshow

10/18/2018
More
We’re three deep into Halloween picks and this week the guys discuss the George Romero, Steven King horror anthology, Creepshow! In this episode, the guys talk about their favorite segments of this collection – well, the ones they can remember. Later, the crew argues how they could have made the movie better than two legends […] The post Creepshow appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:14:59

The Thing

10/11/2018
More
This week on Cult Film in Review, the crew is reviewing another John Carpenter classic – so you know what that means – it’s another Kyle Smith pick, just in time for The Halloween season! The guys review The Thing…. finally. In this episode, Cody asks if this is John Carpenter’s most famous film. More […] The post The Thing appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:35:31

Poltergeist

10/4/2018
More
Our favorite time of year has arrived. The pumpkins are in the patch, the candy has reached the shelves, and Cult Film in Review has another month of Halloween picks specially chosen to bring in the holiday with cult film flair! This week, the crew is talking about a childhood cult classic, Poltergeist! In this […] The post Poltergeist appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:31:39

Microwave Massacre

9/27/2018
More
It’s dinnertime for the guys of Cult Film in Review because this week they’re reviewing a long-awaited fan request, the 1983 slasher Microwave Massacre. In this episode, the crew talks about this film’s long journey from early fan request, to Amazon Prime recommendation, to the coveted spot of episode 175. Later, Mike wonders if May is […] The post Microwave Massacre appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:07:56

Spaced Invaders

9/20/2018
More
Space, the final frontier… These are the voyages of four film lovers who dare to revisit a childhood favorite, but will they still hold it dear to their hearts now that they’ve grown? This week, the crew of Cult Film in Review discuss the 1990 sci-fi comedy, Spaced Invaders! In this episode, the guys talk about […] The post Spaced Invaders appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:08:32

Pink Flamingos

9/13/2018
More
Get ready for the dirtiest, nastiest, filthiest episode of Cult Film in Review yet. This week, we’re reviewing the John Water’s classic, Pink Flamingos. In this episode, we ask which John Water’s film was his “opus.” Was it this film or one of his more popular fare, like Hairspray. Later, we ask if this film […] The post Pink Flamingos appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:30:35

The Evil Dead

9/6/2018
More
This week on Cult Film in Review, we’re headed to the woods to finally take on one of the most quintessential cult classics of all time. It’s time to get groovy because we’re discussing The Evil Dead. In this episode, we ask who the number one icon in cult film is. Is Ash the most […] The post The Evil Dead appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:30:59

Time Bandits

8/30/2018
More
This week, Cult Film in Review is taking a trip through the ages and beyond. The guys are discussing the Terry Gilliam fantasy, Time Bandits. In this episode, Mike talks about the takeaways from this film when he was but a wee lad. What are his thoughts now that he’s seen the film at 58? Will […] The post Time Bandits appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:06:55

Equinox

8/23/2018
More
This week on Cult Film in Review, we’re going to hell and back – assuming “back” is a camp guarded by the minions of Evil! We’re talking about the 1970 fantasy horror, Equinox! In this episode, the guys talk about the history of this oft-talked about cult classic. Later, we joke about religious symbols. Clearly, […] The post Equinox appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:01:54

Midnight Cowboy

8/16/2018
More
It’s time for us to pack it up and head on out to the big city. This week, we review the 1969 drama, Midnight Cowboy! In this episode, we ask if a film that’s won an Oscar can be considered a cult film? Although the movie has some offbeat humor and interesting camerawork, does this […] The post Midnight Cowboy appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:04:33

Master of the Flying Guillotine

8/9/2018
More
This week, the guys get kung furious with there review of the 1976 martial arts classic, Master of the Flying Guillotine! In this episode, the crew tries to piece together the history of this film. Who exactly was in the wrong? The Master of the Flying Guillotine or the One-armed Boxer? Later, the guys decide which of the fighters […] The post Master of the Flying Guillotine appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:07:28

The Return of Swamp Thing

8/2/2018
More
Cult Film in Review is packing up their waders because they’re headed to the bayou for one heck of a review. That’s right, The Crew is discussing the 1989 action comedy, The Return of Swamp Thing! In this episode, the guys compare and contrast between this film and the Wes Craven prequel, Swamp Thing. Later, Mike asks if […] The post The Return of Swamp Thing appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:02:53

The Secret of NIMH

7/26/2018
More
There’s a world that exists right in your backyard. Beneath the bushes and the rocks. Where the creatures scurry. And Cult Film in Review is about to take a trip outdoors with our review of The Secret of NIMH. In this episode, we talk about our favorite Don Bluth classics. Where does this one rate […] The post The Secret of NIMH appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:08:09

Freejack

7/19/2018
More
Ladies and Gentlemen, start your engines. This week Cult Film in Review discusses the 1992 sci-fi action, Freejack. In this episode, we question whether this film is a cult film – but really this time. We’re talking about Freejack here! Later, we question or praise Mick Jagger’s performance depending on who you ask. Is his […] The post Freejack appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:11:22

The Rocketeer

7/12/2018
More
Join Cult Film in Review this week for another episode of “Destroy Your Childhood” as we review the 90s Disney action film, The Rocketeer! In this episode, we reminisce about The Rocketeer breakfast cereal, The Rocketeer Happy Meal toys, and other things that probably never existed. Later, we remain awestruck at the sheer power of […] The post The Rocketeer appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:00:58:36

Hard Ticket to Hawaii

7/5/2018
More
This week, Cult Film in Review takes a trip to the tropics with our review of the 1987 action film, Hard Ticket to Hawaii. In this episode, Plots with Mike hits a snag as Mike struggles to structure this movie into something resembling a story. Later, the guys try to find out what motivates Dona and […] The post Hard Ticket to Hawaii appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:06:24

Cemetery Man

6/28/2018
More
Ths week, International Horror and Sci-fi Film Festival Director Monte Yazzie joins Cult Film in Review as they discuss the 1994 fantasy horror, Cemetery Man AKA Dellamorte Dellamore. In this episode, we talk about what differentiated this film from so many of the other mid-90s horror films. Were fans of the genre still yearning for the […] The post Cemetery Man appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:16:22

Willow

6/21/2018
More
This week on Cult film in Review, we take a journey full of magic and adventure. A place where heroes may be small but they are capable of monumental achievements. That’s right, we’re talking about the Ron Howard fantasy, Willow. In this episode, Mike points out the differences between Sword and Sorcery and High Fantasy – […] The post Willow appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:00:59:53

Candyman

6/14/2018
More
This week, Cult Film in Review discusses a 90s horror classic when we review, Candyman. In this episode, we show our knowledge of movie budgeting – which is none. Candyman supposedly cost 30 million to make, but can that be right when Jurrasic Park cost a mere 60 million? Later, we rate our favorite Clive Barker stories […] The post Candyman appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:13:59

In the Mouth of Madness

6/7/2018
More
Today, we descend into the darkest recesses of the mind. Where imagination and reality collide, indiscernible from one another. Where man shares the world with demons. That’s right, we’re talking about the Sutter Kane/John Carpenter collaboration, In the Mouth of Madness. In this episode, we ask why this John Carpenter film often falls off people’s […] The post In the Mouth of Madness appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:29:12