Cult Film in Review-logo

Cult Film in Review

Film >

Cult Film in Review is a weekly podcast where we cover the movies you love but no one else gets. Join Cody, a regular guy with a love for irregular films, and his offbeat band of cinephile misfits as they discuss the masterpieces of the misguided. Whether taking a trip to Tromaville or re-watching Re-Animator we give these cult classics the credit they deserve. Can you dig it?

Cult Film in Review is a weekly podcast where we cover the movies you love but no one else gets. Join Cody, a regular guy with a love for irregular films, and his offbeat band of cinephile misfits as they discuss the masterpieces of the misguided. Whether taking a trip to Tromaville or re-watching Re-Animator we give these cult classics the credit they deserve. Can you dig it?
More Information

Location:

United States

Description:

Cult Film in Review is a weekly podcast where we cover the movies you love but no one else gets. Join Cody, a regular guy with a love for irregular films, and his offbeat band of cinephile misfits as they discuss the masterpieces of the misguided. Whether taking a trip to Tromaville or re-watching Re-Animator we give these cult classics the credit they deserve. Can you dig it?

Language:

English


Episodes

Moonwalker

4/19/2018
More
This week on Cult Film in Review, we’re talking about the undisputed King of Pop, Michael Jackson, when we review Moonwalker. The guys come from a time when Michael Jackson ruled the airways with a sparkly fist. We talk about our memories of Michael and how he shaped our childhood. Later, we talk about the […] The post Moonwalker appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:09:27

Female Prisoner #701: Scorpion

4/12/2018
More
This week, the guys are locking themselves up and throwing away the key as they review the 1972 Japanese prison movie, Female Prisoner #701: Scorpion. In this episode, the guys discuss the “women in prison” genre of films and how this particular movie sets itself apart from others in the same category. Later, Kyle gives some […] The post Female Prisoner #701: Scorpion appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:00:57

Chasing Amy

4/5/2018
More
Cult Fim in Review is taking it to Jersey with our review of the Kevin Smith classic, Chasing Amy. In this episode, the guys discuss which Kevin Smith film they saw first and why it’s taken us so long to review this beloved and iconic cult film director. Later, Cody introduces the audience to his Theory […] The post Chasing Amy appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:25:18

Conquest

3/29/2018
More
Get ready as Cult Film in Review takes you on a journey of courage and adventure. This week, the guys grab their loincloths and take on a sword and sorcery film directed by cult film icon Lucio Fulci, in 1983’s Conquest. In this episode, the crew discusses the finer points of the fantasy film genre by […] The post Conquest appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:10:26

The Brood

3/22/2018
More
The guys at Cult Fim in Review get Cronenbergian, with their review of the 1979 film The Brood. In this episode, we talk about the many Cronenberg films we’ve seen in the past and discuss some of the common themes throughout his library. Later, we talk about what possessed Cronenberg to create this film and how it […] The post The Brood appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:00:57

A Man Called Blade

3/15/2018
More
We head westward as we discuss the 1977 spaghetti western, A Man Called Blade. In this episode, some of the guys are a little confused as to why this genre is named after everyone’s favorite pasta dish. Kyle gives a little background on the genre along with his normal collection of factoids. Later, we ask why Blade […] The post A Man Called Blade appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:00:59:11

Bloodsport

3/8/2018
More
This week, the guys are ready for combat, as they take on the bare knuckles challenge that is the Kumite with their review of the 1988 martial arts movie, Bloodsport. In this episode, Kyle realizes this is his first time watching this Canon classic, as he confuses it with another Jean Claude Van Damme masterpiece. […] The post Bloodsport appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:13:38

House (1977)

3/1/2018
More
This week, we’re spending a little time with family as we review the wacky, bizarre, Japanese horror/fantasy, House (1977). In this episode, we talk about the differences between Japanese and American culture and how it might make this particular film even more strange to Western audiences. Later, we do a little research and discover that even […] The post House (1977) appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:05:55

Mirror, Mirror

2/22/2018
More
This week, Cult Film in Review is joined by Molly Henery of The Blogging Banshee to celebrate Women in Horror Month! We’re reviewing Mirror, Mirror, a 90s horror fantasy that absolutely does not star Julia Roberts. In this episode, Molly tells the guys what compelled her to chose this little-known horror franchise. If you thought Mirror, […] The post Mirror, Mirror appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:15:59

My Own Private Idaho

2/15/2018
More
This week, Cult Film in Review is tackling their own private film review with the Gus Van Sant indie drama, My Own Private Idaho. In this episode, the guys discuss whether a character has to be relatable and likable to be interesting to audiences. Later, Mike explains why he desperately tried to avoid this film for years. […] The post My Own Private Idaho appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:07:29

Something Wicked This Way Comes

2/8/2018
More
This week, Cult Film in Review is bringing you to the dark corners of the Magic Kingdom with our review of the 1983 fantasy film, Something Wicked This Way Comes. In this episode, Kyle gives us some backstory of the Dark Disney catalog that features such classics as The Black Cauldron, Escape From Witch Mountain, […] The post Something Wicked This Way Comes appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:12:34

City of Lost Children

2/1/2018
More
Enter a world of fantasy, danger, mystery, disembodied talking brains, and so many lost children. Yes, this week The Crew is talking about the 1995 fantasy film, City of Lost Children. In this episode, we take a trip down memory lane, to a time when movies were dark, grungy and every city looked like it […] The post City of Lost Children appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:10:49

Grey Gardens

1/25/2018
More
This week, we’re spending a little time with the family when we review the 1975 cult documentary, Grey Gardens. In the history of Cult Film in Review, we’ve only reviewed one other documentary, American Movie. In this episode, the guys discuss the similarities between one of our most highly rated cults films and this 70s […] The post Grey Gardens appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:09:16

Lost Highway

1/18/2018
More
This week, we explore the deepest, darkest reaches of the subliminal mind or possibly just a story about a cheating spouse. We’re reviewing the David Lynch mystery, Lost Highway. In this episode, we talk about Bill Pullman and his saxophone playing skills. Surprisingly, not all of The Crew are fans. And is this film a story […] The post Lost Highway appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:11:05

Gleaming the Cube

1/11/2018
More
Grab your boards and get ready for some sick jumps, the guys are reviewing the 1989 action, mystery, Gleaming the Cube. In this episode, we try and figure out what kind of heartless monster would kill a man in front of The Magic Kingdom. We also quiz ourselves on our knowledge of pro skaters who aren’t […] The post Gleaming the Cube appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:01:10

Ninja III: The Domination

1/4/2018
More
A spirit has come over us and all we can talk about is the power of the ninja because this week we’re reviewing Ninja III: The Domination! In this episode, we talk about the magic formula that makes so many Cannon Films fun to watch. Later, we question why ninjas in the Cannon canon can’t be […] The post Ninja III: The Domination appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:11:13

Blood Rage

12/28/2017
More
We’re getting real testy this week. Tempers are flaring and the smell of blood is in the air. No, The Guys haven’t turned on each other yet – they’re reviewing the 80s slasher film, Blood Rage aka. Slasher. This Thursday, we ask what sets off Terry and turns him into a murderous, blackmailing twelve-year-old. Perhaps this […] The post Blood Rage appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:06:42

Brainscan

12/21/2017
More
Are you ready to play? The guys are throwing on some heavy metal and logging into the Net when they review the 1994 thriller, Brainscan. What do you get when you mix one part Freddy Krueger, one part Beetlejuice, and mix it with a whole lot of 90s tropes? You get The Trickster. We talk […] The post Brainscan appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:10:46

Mad Max

12/14/2017
More
This week, we go from a man being chased on the road in Duel to a man who does the chasing in the 1979 George Miller classic, Mad Max. Its all talk about the End of Times as the guys try and pinpoint the difference between a post-apocalyptic world and a pre-post-apocalyptic one. Later in the […] The post Mad Max appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:01:06:09

Duel

12/7/2017
More
We’re hitting the road for a rip-roaring race through the desert when we review the Steven Spielberg thriller, Duel. In this episode, we ask, as the Godfather of the Summer Blockbuster, can a Steven Spielberg film classify as a cult film? And if this is not a cult film, does it have the makings to become […] The post Duel appeared first on Cult Film in Review.

Duration:00:54:26

Try Premium for 30 days

Live games for all NFL, MLB, NBA, & NHL teams
Commercial-Free Music
No Display Ads