Valletta Baroque Festival Podcast-logo

Valletta Baroque Festival Podcast

Music Podcasts >

The Valletta Baroque Festival is a yearly mid-winter festival showcasing top artists and ensembles in mesmerising baroque venues across the Maltese Islands.

The Valletta Baroque Festival is a yearly mid-winter festival showcasing top artists and ensembles in mesmerising baroque venues across the Maltese Islands.
More Information

Location:

Malta

Description:

The Valletta Baroque Festival is a yearly mid-winter festival showcasing top artists and ensembles in mesmerising baroque venues across the Maltese Islands.

Language:

English

Contact:

356 99179107


Episodes

11: Episode 11 - Ensemble Flame

4/18/2019
More
On 17 January 2019 Ensemble Flame (https://ensembleflame.com/) brought a lovely programme at the National Library in Valletta that Louis XIV would have been very happy with. It was an elegant combination of dances and more serious music of the time. #vbf19 #violadagamba #earlymusic

Duration:00:03:41

10: Episode 10 - Fahmi Alqhai

4/10/2019
More
Fahmi Alqhai (http://fahmi.alqhai.com/en/) dazzled the public with his brilliant solo concert on Viola da Gamba at the Oratory of the Rosary in Valletta. He juxtaposed the 'angelic' play of Marin Marais against the 'devilish' music of Antoine Forqueray. #vbf19 #violadagamba #earlymusic

Duration:00:07:07

9: Episode 9 - Ensemble Zefiro & Alfredo Bernardini

4/3/2019
More
The impressive Ta’ Ġieżu Church in Rabat provided the perfect setting for Bach's 'Ich habe Genug' and other works. The context blended perfectly with the delightful play by Ensemble Zefiro (http://www.ensemblezefiro.it/) and Alfredo Bernardini. #vbf19 #bach #baroquefestival #malta

Duration:00:07:12

8: Episode 8 - Sofie Vanden Eynde & Imago Mundi

3/27/2019
More
'Sacrificium' honoured 17th century female composers in a marvellous way. The preformance by IMAGO MUNDI (http://www.imagomundi.be/) , Sofie Vanden Eynde (http://www.sofievandeneynde.be/) and soprano Lore Binon (http://www.lorebinon.com/en) was absolute bliss. A little gem to cherish. #vbf19

Duration:00:03:47

7: Episode 7 - Vivica Genaux & Concerto de' Cavalieri

3/13/2019
More
A talented Concerto de' Cavalieri (https://www.concertodecavalieri.com/) accompanied mezzo soprano Vivica Genaux (http://www.vivicagenaux.com/) on Sunday 13 January 2019. They took the audience on a sublime voyage through Farinelli repertoire. No wonder that Vivica was offered the Hasse-Preis (https://www.hfmt-hamburg.de/news/details/140/) recently! #vbf19

Duration:00:09:19

6: Episode 6 - PRISMA Ensemble

3/6/2019
More
The four youngsters of PRISMA ensemble (https://www.prisma-music.eu/) turned a fully packed Aula Capitulare in Mdina into a real experience on 13 January 2019. One could literally feel the change of The Seasons during their performance. #vbf19

Duration:00:04:59

5: Episode 5 - Ensemble Matheus & Jean-Christophe Spinosi

2/27/2019
More
On Saturday 12 January 2019 Ensemble Matheus (http://www.ensemble-matheus.fr) brought a charming selection of Vivaldi, Telemann and Händel to Teatru Manoel. A programme put together by conductor and violinist Jean-Christophe Spinosi to enhance the dramatic build-up of the concert. #vbf19

Duration:00:05:54

4: Episode 4 - Hansjörg Albrecht

2/20/2019
More
On 12 January 2019 Hansjörg Albrecht (http://hansjoerg-albrecht.com/) got a standing ovation after performing Bach's Goldberg Variations on Organ at St. John's Co-Cathedral in Valletta. Albrecht sees the Goldberg Variations as a spectacular architectural plan. #vbf19

Duration:00:04:29

3: Episode 3 - Reiko Ichise & Jennifer Morsches

2/13/2019
More
With 'The Heart of Sensibility' Reiko Ichise (viola da gamba) and Jennifer Morsches (http://www.jennifermorsches.com/) (cello) brought a charming programme of 18th century music by immigrant composers in London to the Oratory of the Crucifix in Senglea on 12 January 2019. #vbf19

Duration:00:04:59

2: Episode 2 - Avi Avital & Capella Gabetta

2/6/2019
More
What a grand opening of the 7th edition of the Valletta Baroque Festival (http://vallettabaroquefestival.com.mt) on Friday 11 January 2019 at Teatru Manoel by Capella Gabetta (http://www.cappellagabetta.com/) and Avi Avital (https://www.aviavital.com/) ! They rocked the house with their impressive performance of Extravaganzas for Mandolin. #vbf19

Duration:00:04:59

1: Episode 1 - Kenneth Zammit Tabona, artistic director

1/28/2019
More
Kenneth Zammit Tabona, artistic director of the Valletta Baroque Festival (http://vallettabaroquefestival.com.mt) and Teatru Manoel (https://teatrumanoel.com.mt) , explains the details of the 7th edition that took place from 11 to 26 January 2019 in Valletta and other baroque venues across the Maltese Islands. #vbf19

Duration:00:05:03