The Nix - TV & Movie Review Podcast-logo

The Nix - TV & Movie Review Podcast

Television >

More Information

Location:

United States

Language:

English

Contact:

7182497958


Episodes

51: The Hate U Give, Crazy Ex-Girlfriend

10/15/2018
More
We review the new movie, The Hate U Give, adapted from a YA novel inspired by #BlackLivesMatter, and share thoughts on the premiere episode for the final, 4th season of Crazy Ex-Girlfriend. Also discussed: The Haunting of Hill House, What If It's Us?, Chic

Duration:00:39:04

50: A Star Is Born, Venom

10/9/2018
More
We review A Star is Born (with spoilers), and also share some of our favorite movies about musicians. Plus, Justin gives his thoughts on Venom and the Doctor Who season 11 premiere. Also discussed: The Good Place, Insecure, Big Little Lies, Hurray for the Riff Raff

Duration:00:45:16

49: The Good Place, Gilda Radner Documentary

10/2/2018
More
We're psyched to have The Good Place back and talk (with spoilers) about the season 3 premiere. Also discussed: Truth and Lies: Jonestown, Paradise Lost (documentary), 90 Day Fiancé (reality show), Love Gilda (Gilda Radner documentary), Hal (Hal Ashby documentary), Maniac (full season reviews), NoName (Chicago rapper)

Duration:00:45:04

48: House With a Clock in Its Walls, Maniac

9/25/2018
More
We review Eli Roth's movie version of The House With a Clock in Its Walls, one of our favorite childhood books, plus the pulpy thriller A Simple Favor. We also give spoiler-free thoughts on the first half of the surreal new Netflix series Maniac. Finally, we talk about some our favorite platonic relationships in pop culture (and some that should've stayed platonic). Also discussed: Serial S3, Please Like Me, Arm of the Sphinx, Whip It, Loudon Wainwright.

Duration:00:51:27

47: Forever, Kidding & Post-SNL Careers

9/19/2018
More
We review 2 new shows: Jim Carrey's Forever & Kidding, starring Maya Rudolph & Fred Armisen. This leads to a discussion about which sketch-comedy actors have sustained the most interesting careers. Also discussed: American Horror Story: Apocalypse, American Vandal, Shameless, You, Jack Ryan, Whip It, Battlestar Galactica, Adventure Time, The Dragon Prince, Katie Pruitt.

Duration:00:57:02

46: Bad Pop Culture We Love

9/10/2018
More
We saw The Nun. It was terrible. It inspired us to talk about bad pop culture we actually like, which leads to Justin breaking Fanny with one of the most wretched songs of all time. Also, Justin does a dramatic reading and doesn't hold back on the bad accents. Discussed: The Nun, Kanopy, BPM, The Lodgers, Mayans MC, Red Dawn, Girls Just Want to Have Fun, The Pirate Movie, House II, The Hardy Boys, Siberia, The River, Sweet Valley High, The Loch, Vengaboys, Riskay

Duration:00:51:41

45: Crazy Rich Asians, Fall Music Preview

9/3/2018
More
We review Crazy Rich Asians, and talk about fall music & books we're excited about. Also discussed: Searching, The Little Stranger, Support the Girls, Battlestar Galactica, Breaking Bad

Duration:00:48:48

44: Fall Movies & TV We're Excited About

8/29/2018
More
We talk about most anticipated movies and TV coming this fall. Fanny does her pop-culture homework, reviewing the first season of Battlestar Galactica. Justin, meanwhile, gets some TV time with parents (Foxtrot, The Leisure Seeker, A Very English Scandal).

Duration:00:52:46

43: The Miseducation of Cameron Post

8/20/2018
More
This week we review the new movie The Miseducation of Cameron Post, about teens in a gay-conversion camp. Also discussed: Disenchanted, Castle Rock, Eighth Grade, Real Housewives, Prince

Duration:00:33:39

42: BlacKkKlansman, The Meg & Mission Impossible: Fallout

8/13/2018
More
This week we review Spike Lee's new movie BlacKkKlansman & giant shark vs Jason Statham in The Meg. Also discussed: Mission Impossible 6, Santigold, Blindspotting, RHONY Spoilers come with warnings

Duration:00:31:10

41: Orange Is the New Black S6 Review

8/6/2018
More
We review the season 6 of Orange is the New Black - spoilers start at 23 min mark. Also discussed: Paddington 2, Pose Finale, Waxahatchee, Blindspotting, Succession, Battle of the Sexes

Duration:00:45:06

40: Leave No Trace, Aquaman Trailer, Buffy Reboot

7/23/2018
More
We review "Leave No Trace," Debra Granik's first movie since "Winter's Bone" made J-Law a thing. Plus, we discuss new ComicCon trailers, including Aquaman, Shazam, Godzilla: King of the Monsters, Fantastic Beasts 2, and share our very mixed feelings on the just-announced Buffy reboot and the firing of James Gunn. Also discussed: Maura Johnson, Ms. Marvel, Tierra Whack, Jojo Rabbit

Duration:00:29:44

39: Nanette & Who Is America, Handmaid's Tale Finale

7/18/2018
More
We discuss 2 buzzy new comedies, Hannah Gadsby's Nanette & Sacha Baron Cohen's Who Is America and also share thoughts on the Handmaid's Tale's S2 finale. Also discussed: The Good Place, Nashville, The Party, Pose, Brooklyn Nine-Nine, the Robin Williams' documentary Come Inside My Mind, Bill Plympton, Skyscraper

Duration:00:59:45

38: Ant-Man & The Wasp, Sorry to Bother You, 3 Identical Twins

7/9/2018
More
We review 3 new movies: Ant-Man & The Wasp, Sorry to Bother You & 3 Identical Strangers. Also discussed: Hannibal, Glow Season Two, Dancing Hermione, Teddy Geiger, Scarlett Johansson SPOILERS FOR: 3 Identical Strangers

Duration:00:49:14

37: New TV Reviews: Pose & Glow

7/2/2018
More
We review the first season of Ryan Murphy's new FX show Pose and the second season of Glow, two very different shows set in the 80s that celebrate resistance and challenge nostalgia in fascinating ways. Also discussed: Drag Race Finale, Let's Eat Grandma, RBG, I'll Be Gone in the Dark, Ocean's 8 Spoilers for Pose & Glow (with warnings)

Duration:00:50:13

36: Won't You Be My Neighbor, Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom Reviews

6/25/2018
More
This week we have an emotional conversation about the amazing new Mr. Rogers new documentary, Won't You Be My Neighbor? Also discussed: Jurassic Park: Fallen World, Drag Race reunion, Getting On, Handmaid's Tale, Neil Patrick Harris, Rachel Bloom, Neko Case

Duration:00:43:32

35: Incredibles 2, Hereditary, Reality TV

6/19/2018
More
We review Incredibles 2, battle about Hereditary (briefly) and special guest Amy Hyde joins us to talk about the current state of reality TV, from So You Think You Can Dance and American Idol to Real Housewives and Top Chef. Plus Justin raves about Hearts Beat Loud.

Duration:00:50:47

34: The Rest of Summer: Movies, TV & Music We're Excited About

6/11/2018
More
Has summer pop-culture peaked or is there good stuff on the way? We're talking about movies, TV and music coming our way. Sound not great this week, apologies. Also discussed: Hereditary, Oceans 8, Dietland, The Tale

Duration:00:56:43

33: Solo Review & Prequels That Don't Suck

5/28/2018
More
We review Solo: A Star Wars Story, and also discuss the rare prequels that don't suck. Also discussed: Let the Sunshine In, Andre Leon Tally, Vivienne Westwood, Heart Beats Loud, He Won't Get Far on Foot, Drag Race, Ray Bradbury, Board Games SPOILERS FOR SOLO: 26:16-34:35

Duration:00:43:42

32: Deadpool 2 Review

5/23/2018
More
We review Deadpool 2, the Airplane 2 of superhero satires. Also discussed: Savageland, Wussy's cover of the Twinkeyz' Aliens in Our Midst, Queerness as Coolness, Show Dogs. SPOILERS FOR DEADPOOL: 21:00-32:17

Duration:00:42:55