The Nix - TV & Movie Review Podcast-logo

The Nix - TV & Movie Review Podcast

Television >

More Information

Location:

United States

Language:

English

Contact:

7182497958


Episodes

57: Pop-Culture Winter Preview

12/5/2018
More
We talk about our most anticipated pop culture coming up in the next few months. And cite a few potential trainwrecks. Pop Culture this Week: Andy Warhol at the Whitney, Goodbye Christopher Robin, Darkest Minds, We Were Liars, Neko Case, Crazy Ex Girlfriend, Escape at Dannemore, Enemies: Justice, the FBI and the President, Dirty John Preview: Roma, Capernaum, Destroyer, Drag Race, Umbrella Academy, SMILF, Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, Brooklyn 99, A Discovery of Witches, Pedro the Lion,...

Duration:00:40:35

56: Green Book, Old Man & the Gun

11/26/2018
More
We review the new, Oscar-buzzy movie Green Book, Fanny talks about Old Man & the Gun, and Justin shares his thoughts on Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald. Also discussed: Leah on the Offbeat, Genuine Fraud, Cabin at the End of the World, Creed

Duration:00:31:39

55: Widows, Fantastic Beasts-Crimes of Grindelwald

11/20/2018
More
We review the new heist thriller Widows and the 2nd Fantastic Beasts movie. Also discussed: Educated, Is It Still Good to Ya?, More Happy Than Not, Caustic the MC, The Good Place, Crazy Ex Girlfriend, The Conners, 911, Girls and Boys

Duration:00:42:13

54: Homecoming, Boy Erased

11/13/2018
More
We review the new show Homecoming, an adaptation of a fiction podcast by Mr. Robot creator Sam Esmail, starring Julia Roberts. We also saw Boy Erased, the 2nd film this year about gay conversion therapy. Also discussed: Wildlife, Suspiria, Please Like Me, Harrow County, The Good Place, Crazy Ex Girlfriend, Rufus Wainwright, Stan Lee, Bad Boys 4 Ever

Duration:00:35:30

53: Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, Can You Ever Forgive Me?

10/31/2018
More
We review the Netflix series, The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, and the terrific new Melissa McCarthy movie, Can You Ever Forgive Me? Also discussed: Beautiful Boy, Sabrina comic, Harrow County, Heathers, Pedro the Lion

Duration:00:52:43

52: Bad Times at the El Royale

10/24/2018
More
We review the new movie Bad Time at the El Royale, about a group of strangers finding trouble in a scenic hotel, and discussing our favorite pop culture set in a single location. Also, The Conners is here - how's the family fairing without its matriarch-gone-mad? Also discussed: Big Mouth, The Good Place, Crazy Ex Girlfriend, Hell House LLC 2, Witch in the Window, J.S. Ondara

Duration:00:52:09

51: The Hate U Give, Crazy Ex-Girlfriend

10/15/2018
More
We review the new movie, The Hate U Give, adapted from a YA novel inspired by #BlackLivesMatter, and share thoughts on the premiere episode for the final, 4th season of Crazy Ex-Girlfriend. Also discussed: The Haunting of Hill House, What If It's Us?, Chic

Duration:00:39:04

50: A Star Is Born, Venom

10/9/2018
More
We review A Star is Born (with spoilers), and also share some of our favorite movies about musicians. Plus, Justin gives his thoughts on Venom and the Doctor Who season 11 premiere. Also discussed: The Good Place, Insecure, Big Little Lies, Hurray for the Riff Raff

Duration:00:45:16

49: The Good Place, Gilda Radner Documentary

10/2/2018
More
We're psyched to have The Good Place back and talk (with spoilers) about the season 3 premiere. Also discussed: Truth and Lies: Jonestown, Paradise Lost (documentary), 90 Day Fiancé (reality show), Love Gilda (Gilda Radner documentary), Hal (Hal Ashby documentary), Maniac (full season reviews), NoName (Chicago rapper)

Duration:00:45:04

48: House With a Clock in Its Walls, Maniac

9/25/2018
More
We review Eli Roth's movie version of The House With a Clock in Its Walls, one of our favorite childhood books, plus the pulpy thriller A Simple Favor. We also give spoiler-free thoughts on the first half of the surreal new Netflix series Maniac. Finally, we talk about some our favorite platonic relationships in pop culture (and some that should've stayed platonic). Also discussed: Serial S3, Please Like Me, Arm of the Sphinx, Whip It, Loudon Wainwright.

Duration:00:51:27

47: Forever, Kidding & Post-SNL Careers

9/19/2018
More
We review 2 new shows: Jim Carrey's Forever & Kidding, starring Maya Rudolph & Fred Armisen. This leads to a discussion about which sketch-comedy actors have sustained the most interesting careers. Also discussed: American Horror Story: Apocalypse, American Vandal, Shameless, You, Jack Ryan, Whip It, Battlestar Galactica, Adventure Time, The Dragon Prince, Katie Pruitt.

Duration:00:57:02

46: Bad Pop Culture We Love

9/10/2018
More
We saw The Nun. It was terrible. It inspired us to talk about bad pop culture we actually like, which leads to Justin breaking Fanny with one of the most wretched songs of all time. Also, Justin does a dramatic reading and doesn't hold back on the bad accents. Discussed: The Nun, Kanopy, BPM, The Lodgers, Mayans MC, Red Dawn, Girls Just Want to Have Fun, The Pirate Movie, House II, The Hardy Boys, Siberia, The River, Sweet Valley High, The Loch, Vengaboys, Riskay

Duration:00:51:41

45: Crazy Rich Asians, Fall Music Preview

9/3/2018
More
We review Crazy Rich Asians, and talk about fall music & books we're excited about. Also discussed: Searching, The Little Stranger, Support the Girls, Battlestar Galactica, Breaking Bad

Duration:00:48:48

44: Fall Movies & TV We're Excited About

8/29/2018
More
We talk about most anticipated movies and TV coming this fall. Fanny does her pop-culture homework, reviewing the first season of Battlestar Galactica. Justin, meanwhile, gets some TV time with parents (Foxtrot, The Leisure Seeker, A Very English Scandal).

Duration:00:52:46

43: The Miseducation of Cameron Post

8/20/2018
More
This week we review the new movie The Miseducation of Cameron Post, about teens in a gay-conversion camp. Also discussed: Disenchanted, Castle Rock, Eighth Grade, Real Housewives, Prince

Duration:00:33:39

42: BlacKkKlansman, The Meg & Mission Impossible: Fallout

8/13/2018
More
This week we review Spike Lee's new movie BlacKkKlansman & giant shark vs Jason Statham in The Meg. Also discussed: Mission Impossible 6, Santigold, Blindspotting, RHONY Spoilers come with warnings

Duration:00:31:10

41: Orange Is the New Black S6 Review

8/6/2018
More
We review the season 6 of Orange is the New Black - spoilers start at 23 min mark. Also discussed: Paddington 2, Pose Finale, Waxahatchee, Blindspotting, Succession, Battle of the Sexes

Duration:00:45:06

40: Leave No Trace, Aquaman Trailer, Buffy Reboot

7/23/2018
More
We review "Leave No Trace," Debra Granik's first movie since "Winter's Bone" made J-Law a thing. Plus, we discuss new ComicCon trailers, including Aquaman, Shazam, Godzilla: King of the Monsters, Fantastic Beasts 2, and share our very mixed feelings on the just-announced Buffy reboot and the firing of James Gunn. Also discussed: Maura Johnson, Ms. Marvel, Tierra Whack, Jojo Rabbit

Duration:00:29:44

39: Nanette & Who Is America, Handmaid's Tale Finale

7/18/2018
More
We discuss 2 buzzy new comedies, Hannah Gadsby's Nanette & Sacha Baron Cohen's Who Is America and also share thoughts on the Handmaid's Tale's S2 finale. Also discussed: The Good Place, Nashville, The Party, Pose, Brooklyn Nine-Nine, the Robin Williams' documentary Come Inside My Mind, Bill Plympton, Skyscraper

Duration:00:59:45

38: Ant-Man & The Wasp, Sorry to Bother You, 3 Identical Twins

7/9/2018
More
We review 3 new movies: Ant-Man & The Wasp, Sorry to Bother You & 3 Identical Strangers. Also discussed: Hannibal, Glow Season Two, Dancing Hermione, Teddy Geiger, Scarlett Johansson SPOILERS FOR: 3 Identical Strangers

Duration:00:49:14