The Nix - TV & Movie Review Podcast-logo

The Nix - TV & Movie Review Podcast

Television >

More Information

Location:

United States

Language:

English

Contact:

7182497958


Episodes

47: Forever, Kidding & Post-SNL Careers

9/19/2018
More
We review 2 new shows: Jim Carrey's Forever & Kidding, starring Maya Rudolph & Fred Armisen. This leads to a discussion about which sketch-comedy actors have sustained the most interesting careers. Also discussed: American Horror Story: Apocalypse, American Vandal, Shameless, You, Jack Ryan, Whip It, Battlestar Galactica, Adventure Time, The Dragon Prince, Katie Pruitt.

Duration:00:57:02

46: Bad Pop Culture We Love

9/10/2018
More
We saw The Nun. It was terrible. It inspired us to talk about bad pop culture we actually like, which leads to Justin breaking Fanny with one of the most wretched songs of all time. Also, Justin does a dramatic reading and doesn't hold back on the bad accents. Discussed: The Nun, Kanopy, BPM, The Lodgers, Mayans MC, Red Dawn, Girls Just Want to Have Fun, The Pirate Movie, House II, The Hardy Boys, Siberia, The River, Sweet Valley High, The Loch, Vengaboys, Riskay

Duration:00:51:41

45: Crazy Rich Asians, Fall Music Preview

9/3/2018
More
We review Crazy Rich Asians, and talk about fall music & books we're excited about. Also discussed: Searching, The Little Stranger, Support the Girls, Battlestar Galactica, Breaking Bad

Duration:00:48:48

44: Fall Movies & TV We're Excited About

8/29/2018
More
We talk about most anticipated movies and TV coming this fall. Fanny does her pop-culture homework, reviewing the first season of Battlestar Galactica. Justin, meanwhile, gets some TV time with parents (Foxtrot, The Leisure Seeker, A Very English Scandal).

Duration:00:52:46

43: The Miseducation of Cameron Post

8/20/2018
More
This week we review the new movie The Miseducation of Cameron Post, about teens in a gay-conversion camp. Also discussed: Disenchanted, Castle Rock, Eighth Grade, Real Housewives, Prince

Duration:00:33:39

42: BlacKkKlansman, The Meg & Mission Impossible: Fallout

8/13/2018
More
This week we review Spike Lee's new movie BlacKkKlansman & giant shark vs Jason Statham in The Meg. Also discussed: Mission Impossible 6, Santigold, Blindspotting, RHONY Spoilers come with warnings

Duration:00:31:10

41: Orange Is the New Black S6 Review

8/6/2018
More
We review the season 6 of Orange is the New Black - spoilers start at 23 min mark. Also discussed: Paddington 2, Pose Finale, Waxahatchee, Blindspotting, Succession, Battle of the Sexes

Duration:00:45:06

40: Leave No Trace, Aquaman Trailer, Buffy Reboot

7/23/2018
More
We review "Leave No Trace," Debra Granik's first movie since "Winter's Bone" made J-Law a thing. Plus, we discuss new ComicCon trailers, including Aquaman, Shazam, Godzilla: King of the Monsters, Fantastic Beasts 2, and share our very mixed feelings on the just-announced Buffy reboot and the firing of James Gunn. Also discussed: Maura Johnson, Ms. Marvel, Tierra Whack, Jojo Rabbit

Duration:00:29:44

39: Nanette & Who Is America, Handmaid's Tale Finale

7/18/2018
More
We discuss 2 buzzy new comedies, Hannah Gadsby's Nanette & Sacha Baron Cohen's Who Is America and also share thoughts on the Handmaid's Tale's S2 finale. Also discussed: The Good Place, Nashville, The Party, Pose, Brooklyn Nine-Nine, the Robin Williams' documentary Come Inside My Mind, Bill Plympton, Skyscraper

Duration:00:59:45

38: Ant-Man & The Wasp, Sorry to Bother You, 3 Identical Twins

7/9/2018
More
We review 3 new movies: Ant-Man & The Wasp, Sorry to Bother You & 3 Identical Strangers. Also discussed: Hannibal, Glow Season Two, Dancing Hermione, Teddy Geiger, Scarlett Johansson SPOILERS FOR: 3 Identical Strangers

Duration:00:49:14

37: New TV Reviews: Pose & Glow

7/2/2018
More
We review the first season of Ryan Murphy's new FX show Pose and the second season of Glow, two very different shows set in the 80s that celebrate resistance and challenge nostalgia in fascinating ways. Also discussed: Drag Race Finale, Let's Eat Grandma, RBG, I'll Be Gone in the Dark, Ocean's 8 Spoilers for Pose & Glow (with warnings)

Duration:00:50:13

36: Won't You Be My Neighbor, Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom Reviews

6/25/2018
More
This week we have an emotional conversation about the amazing new Mr. Rogers new documentary, Won't You Be My Neighbor? Also discussed: Jurassic Park: Fallen World, Drag Race reunion, Getting On, Handmaid's Tale, Neil Patrick Harris, Rachel Bloom, Neko Case

Duration:00:43:32

35: Incredibles 2, Hereditary, Reality TV

6/19/2018
More
We review Incredibles 2, battle about Hereditary (briefly) and special guest Amy Hyde joins us to talk about the current state of reality TV, from So You Think You Can Dance and American Idol to Real Housewives and Top Chef. Plus Justin raves about Hearts Beat Loud.

Duration:00:50:47

34: The Rest of Summer: Movies, TV & Music We're Excited About

6/11/2018
More
Has summer pop-culture peaked or is there good stuff on the way? We're talking about movies, TV and music coming our way. Sound not great this week, apologies. Also discussed: Hereditary, Oceans 8, Dietland, The Tale

Duration:00:56:43

33: Solo Review & Prequels That Don't Suck

5/28/2018
More
We review Solo: A Star Wars Story, and also discuss the rare prequels that don't suck. Also discussed: Let the Sunshine In, Andre Leon Tally, Vivienne Westwood, Heart Beats Loud, He Won't Get Far on Foot, Drag Race, Ray Bradbury, Board Games SPOILERS FOR SOLO: 26:16-34:35

Duration:00:43:42

32: Deadpool 2 Review

5/23/2018
More
We review Deadpool 2, the Airplane 2 of superhero satires. Also discussed: Savageland, Wussy's cover of the Twinkeyz' Aliens in Our Midst, Queerness as Coolness, Show Dogs. SPOILERS FOR DEADPOOL: 21:00-32:17

Duration:00:42:55

31: Tully & Motherhood in Pop Culture

5/16/2018
More
SPOILERS FOR TULLY: 20:12-31:45 We review Tully, the latest collaboration between director Jason Reitman & writer Diablo Cody, starring Charlize Theron. We also look at other pop culture that tackles the complexities of motherhood. Discussed: New Netflix shows: 3% season two, Safe; You, Animal Kingdom, Homeboy Sandman, Tully, The World According to Garp, Little Man Tate, Philomena, We Need to Talk About Kevin, Who's Afraid of Virginia Wolf, The Babadook, Aliens, Poltergeist, Annette...

Duration:00:46:16

30: Ghost Movies & Books, French Pop Culture

5/7/2018
More
SPOILERS IN PODCAST Sebastien Joncoux joins us to talk about what French pop culture we should be checking out for. We also talk review the new British film "Ghost Stories" and talk about some of underrated and overrated ghost movies and books. Topics discussed: Death of Stalin, Adjustment Day, Donald Glover's This Is America, Patients, Comment C’est Loin, 10%, Les Shadoks, Shangri-la, Okko, Piers Faccini, Fauve, Ghost Stories, The River, American Gothic, Anna Dressed in Blood, Certain...

Duration:00:52:39

29: Handmaid's Tale S2, Avengers: Infinity War

5/1/2018
More
THIS PODCAST IS SPOILERY We review the first 2 episodes of The Handmaid's Tale and the superhero overload of Marvel's Avengers: Infinity War. Also discussed: Legion, Drag Race, the documentary "Grace Jones: Bloodlight and Bami," Bachelor Nation, Chuck Palahniuk's Adjustment Day

Duration:00:45:01

28: Lean on Pete, Rampage, Mary & the Witch's Flower

4/23/2018
More
SPOILERS AHEAD We talk about the hard-to-watch but essential boy-and-his-horse story, Lean on Pete, and think about non-U.S. directors takes on American culture. Also discussed: Sue Grafton, Y the Last Man, Handmaid's Tale, and Prince's just-released original version of Nothing Compares 2 U.

Duration:00:42:12