The Nix - TV & Movie Review Podcast-logo

The Nix - TV & Movie Review Podcast

Television >

More Information

Location:

United States

Language:

English

Contact:

7182497958


Episodes

28: Lean on Pete, Rampage, Mary & the Witch's Flower

4/23/2018
More
SPOILERS AHEAD We talk about the hard-to-watch but essential boy-and-his-horse story, Lean on Pete, and think about non-U.S. directors takes on American culture. Also discussed: Sue Grafton, Y the Last Man, Handmaid's Tale, and Prince's just-released original version of Nothing Compares 2 U.

Duration:00:42:12

27: Rise, Barry & Theater in Pop Culture

4/16/2018
More
THERE MAY BE SPOILERS FOR ANYTHING WE TALK ABOUT This week, we're talking about 2 new TV shows that tackle theater communities, the earnest Rise and the dark Barry. We also share a few favorite examples of pop culture dealing with theater. Also discussed: Ready Player One, The Tag-Along, Iron Shoes, The Alienist, Bosch

Duration:00:44:36

26: A Quiet Place, Legion Reviews

4/10/2018
More
This week we review A Quiet Place and the season 2 premiere of Legion, and we also talk about Unsane, The Trade, Don’t Knock Twice, Dream House, Nashville, Real Housewives New York, Unfriended and the Brisbane band Confidence Man.

Duration:00:42:56

25: Wild Wild Country, Ready Player One, Roseanne Reboot

4/2/2018
More
SPOILERS AHEAD: We review the fascinating cult documentary Wild Wild Country, the Netflix series about the Rajneesh/Osho takeover of an Oregon town. We also share some our favorite cult-related pop culture, talk about Ready Player One, Tomb Raider, Hop Along and, uggh, the Roseanne reboot.

Duration:00:52:12

24: Isle of Dogs, Drag Race Season 10, Wrinkle in Time, Santa Clarita Diet

3/25/2018
More
SPOILERS AHEAD: We review Wes Anderson's Isle of Dogs, and also talk about the premiere of Drag Race Season 10, a Wrinkle in Time, Santa Clarita Diet, and an amazing country singer, Courtney Marie Andrews.

Duration:00:26:09

23: Love Simon, Thoroughbreds, Underrated Teen Movies

3/20/2018
More
We review 2 completely different teen movies, Love Simon and Thoroughbreds, and also share our favorite underrated movies about teenagers. Also discussed: Love Season 3, Camp Midnight, Drag Race All-Stars, Car Seat Headrest, Rise, Camp So and So, Nailed It, The Witch

Duration:00:52:37

22: Spring's Most Anticipated Movies, TV & Music

3/13/2018
More
We delve into our most anticipated pop culture coming this spring, including movies, TV, books & music. Plus trainwrecks! Other topics: The Arrangement, My Favorite Thing is Monster, Educated, David Bowie Is, Tune-yards, Edward Albee's Homelife & Zoo Story.

Duration:00:42:38

21: The Oscars, Annihilation Review

3/5/2018
More
We talk about the Oscars, some of our wishes for winners and who we think will win, and then we see how did after the broadcast. We also review Annihilation, and talk about Game Night, The Ritual, Everything Sucks, Unreal Season 3.

Duration:00:43:04

20: Black Panther, Everything Sucks, Here & Now, Shamir

2/27/2018
More
We review Black Panther and give our thoughts on Netflix's '90s throwback Everything Sucks, Alan Ball's new show Here & Now and the excellent new track from Shamir, Room.

Duration:00:42:37

19: Trans Representation in Pop Culture & A Fantastic Woman Review

2/19/2018
More
Fanny's amazing son, Parker, joins us for a review of the Oscar-nominated film A Fantastic Woman and a talk about trans representation across pop culture. We also chat about the Crazy-Ex Girlfriend season 4 finale, Drag Race, and the hilariously bad Winchester.

Duration:00:56:20

18: A Not-Very-Romantic Valentine's Day Special

2/12/2018
More
We share our not-quite-the-usual romantic pop culture picks for Valentine's Day, including picks for worst chemistry and couples that should've been. Also, we review the Cloverfield Paradox, which was a thing that happened. Also discussed: The Woods BEWARE OF SPOILERS

Duration:00:47:06

17: Altered Carbon, Counterpart & Electric Dreams Reviews

2/5/2018
More
3 new high-profile sci-fi shows recently debuted. We give our thoughts on Altered Carbon, Counterpart & Electric Dreams Other topics: Dunkirk, Ru Paul's Drag Race, Dirty Money, Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, The Good Place, Death Cure, Sense8, Xenia Rubinos, Cloverfield Paradox, Twitter threads, David Letterman's beard HERE BE SPOILERS

Duration:00:35:59

16: One-Hit Wonders That Should've Been Bigger

1/29/2018
More
This week, we're talking one-hit wonders that should've had longer careers. Plus thoughts on The Post, Encore, Y the Last Man, Nilufer Yanya, Annihilation & This Is Pop.

Duration:00:36:45

15: Comedy in the Age of Trump, Phantom Thread

1/22/2018
More
What kinds of comedy still lands in the age of Trump? We talk about some of our favorite current funny pop culture, and also the not-so-funny stuff. Plus, Phantom Thread, the return of The Path, and Brazilian singer Jorge Ben.

Duration:00:31:45

14: Favorite Kids/Teens Book Adaptations

1/14/2018
More
We're talking our favorite film adaptations of kids/teen books, plus thoughts on other books, comics and lots of Prince. Plus the amazing Sidney Gish. APOLOGIES FOR BAD SOUND THIS WEEK!

Duration:00:45:37

13: Most Anticipated Pop Culture of 2018 & Call Me By Your Name

1/8/2018
More
We debut our new format, in which we drop the TV recaps, but talk about more fun stuff. This week we're talking talking our most anticipated movies, tv, music and books of 2018, plus we review our week in pop culture. SPOILERS AS ALWAYS: Call Me By Your Name: 0:00-8:45 I, Tonya: 8:45-10:33 The Chi, Crazy-Ex Girlfriend, Runways, SMILF, Grown-ish, Fire & Fury: 10:33-16:32 Most Anticipated Pop Culture of 2018: 16:32-48:07 Movies House With the Clock in Its Walls If Beale Street Could...

Duration:00:48:07

12: 2017's Biggest Pop-Culture Disappointments

1/1/2018
More
We rant about about biggest pop-culture disappointments of 2017, review new episodes of SMILF & Runaways, and end with a surprising Nix. 0-10:35 Pop culture this week: Black Mirror, The Good Place 10:35-29:44 Biggest pop-culture disappointments of 2017 29:44-32:20 Runways 1.7 & 1.8 32:20-35:40 SMILF 1.7

Duration:00:38:32

11: 2017's Best Movies, TVs, Music, Books & Podcasts

12/25/2017
More
Fanny's List: Get Out Coco Lady Bird The Handmaid’s Tale SMILF Stranger Things Ingrid Goes West History Is All You Left Me (Adam Silvera) All the Crooked Saints (Maggie Stiefvater) Connie Britton Justin's List The Leftovers The Florida Project Get Out The Big Sick Women complicating pop: SZA, St. Vincent, Lorde, K. Flay, Lizzo, LPX, Kero Kero Bonito, The Preatures, Tove Lo, Princess Nokia It Comes at Night SMILF Master of None Coco Switched on Pop (Podcast)

Duration:00:48:47

10: Reviews of Star Wars: Last Jedi, Coco, Runaways, Mayor, SMILF

12/18/2017
More
In our 10th episode (woo-hoo!), we review Star Wars: The Last Jedi, Coco, Runways, The Mayor and SMILF. SPOILERS FOR ALMOST EVERYTHING 0:00-13:08 Pop Culture this Week (including Coco, American Vandal, Broad City, Red Oaks): 13:08-29:10 Star Wars: The Last Jedi 29:10-34:40 Runways 34:40-40:00 The Mayor 40:00-46:55 SMILF

Duration:00:46:54

9: Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, The Mayor, Runaways, SMILF Episode Reviews

12/10/2017
More
We review Crazy-Ex Girlfriend 1.7, The Mayor 1.8, Runaways 1.5, SMILF 1.5, and chat about The Disaster Artist, Personal Shopper, The Rift and the original ending of Get Out. Crazy-Ex Girlfriend 13:48 The Mayor 24:04 Runaways 27:57 SMILF 33:00

Duration:00:41:12

Try Premium for 30 days

Live games for all NFL, MLB, NBA, & NHL teams
Commercial-Free Music
No Display Ads