Cinema Standoff: One on One Movie Review and Debate Podcast-logo

Cinema Standoff: One on One Movie Review and Debate Podcast

Media >

More Information

Location:

United States

Language:

English

Contact:

631-902-5867


Episodes

CS-17: Molly’s Game

2/6/2018
More
Molly Bloom's true account of her rise to running a secret high-stakes poker ring is fantastically entertaining. Tune in for our thoughts and commentary on the movie.

Duration:00:37:03

CS-16: Black Mirror- USS Calister

1/30/2018
More
The epic series Black Mirror is back with season 4 on Netflix! To kick it off we're giving our thoughts on episode 1.

Duration:00:33:16

CS-15: I, Tonya

1/23/2018
More
I, Tonya is the classic Cinderella story... only the glass slippers are ice skates that no matter how hard you try, just can't get tied the right way.

Duration:00:27:12

CS-14: The Shape of Water

1/9/2018
More
The Shape of Water. The story of a mute woman who always dreamed about having an amphibious love affair.

Duration:00:35:33

CS-13: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

12/26/2017
More
It's the holiday season and we're past due for our review of Star Wars: The Last Jedi. Please join us in the bashing of this revived series we all know and love.

Duration:00:52:33

CS-12: Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri

12/8/2017
More
The boys tackle Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri. It's a serious talk about rape, suicide, arson, and premeditated murder. All the things that make a movie great.

Duration:00:32:56

CS-11:Justice League

11/29/2017
More
After the mega-success of the Avengers, DC rushes into their equivalent with a Justice League movie, hoping to replicate Marvel's success. The result is little messy, but Rich and Nick have fun hashing out the good and the bad.

Duration:00:41:11

CS-10: Mindhunter

11/16/2017
More
Nick and Rich dissect David Fincher's most recent foray into his obsession with serial killers, the Netflix original series Mindhunter. From Jonathan Groff's killer acting to David Fincher's meticulous style of filmmaking, Mindhunter is a show to remember

Duration:00:59:36

CS-09: Killing of a Sacred Deer

11/14/2017
More
Yorgos Lanthimos' newest film is a surreal horror-thriller very reminiscent of his last movie, The Lobster. This revenge story meets an unavoidable moral dilemma and forces its viewers through an uncomfortable yet compelling experience.

Duration:00:30:46

CS-08: Thor: Ragnarok

11/8/2017
More
Good news, folks. Thor: Ragnarok is the best of the series, by far. Mixing a nice blend of comedy and action, piling up the laughs along with the bodies, Thor: Ragnarok is a fun time at the movies.

Duration:00:50:08

CS-07: 1922

11/8/2017
More
After an equipment malfunction, Nick and Rich are back on track (although a little echoey) with this episode concentrating on the Netflix Stephen King adaptation, 1922. Next episode the quality will go back up, as we will have our equipment replaced.

Duration:00:34:21

CS-06: The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected)

10/20/2017
More
If you like Noah Bombauch, this is a must-see. The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected) has all the oddball, deadpan, slapstick comedy that Baumbach is known for, this time with a top-tier cast elevating the material with nuanced performances.

Duration:00:28:16

CS-05: The Foreigner

10/14/2017
More
A shorter episode this week about The Foreigner. We look at the evolution of Jackie Chan's career to a more dramatic role with less action than one would have expected.

Duration:00:25:23

CS-04: Blade Runner 2049

10/9/2017
More
Rich and Nick analyze the sequel to an 80s cult classic, Blade Runner 2049. Beautifully shot and competently directed, the intricate narrative packs an emotional punch, mysteriously unfolding to a satisfying conclusion. Queue discussion.

Duration:00:54:40

CS-03-Gerald’s Game

10/7/2017
More
In this installment of the podcast we talk about the latest Stephen King film adaptation, Gerald's Game, a psychological thriller about a devious sex act gone wrong.

Duration:00:25:56

CS-02: mother!

10/7/2017
More
In this episode of Cinema Standoff Podcast, Nick and Rich break down the allegorical narrative of mother!, discussing varying interpretations of a narrative that is not necessarily meant to entertain, but provoke.

Duration:00:43:59

CS-01: It

9/23/2017
More
In this premiere episode of Cinema Standoff, Nick and Rich discuss the cinematic adaptation of the wildly popular novel IT, Stephen King, and all the factors that make this movie a huge success

Duration:00:37:51