Tuesday Reviewsday-logo

Tuesday Reviewsday

19 Favorites

More Information

Location:

United States

Description:

New music every week, as chosen by tastemakers on Take Two from Southern California Public Radio. Hear from Shirley Halperin, news director at Billboard Magazine, Oliver Wang of Soul-Sides, music supervisor Morgan Rhodes, music journalists Chris Martins, Steve Hochman and more.

Language:

English

Contact:

"KPCC, Southern California Public Radio 474 South Raymond Avenue Pasadena, CA 91107" (626) 583-5102


Episodes

Tuesday Reviewsday: new summer jams!

6/6/2017
More
Time to update your playlist! Every week we’ll get a whole raft of new music. This week, Take Two contributor Oliver Wang brings us his selections.

Duration: 00:07:09


Tuesday Reviewsday: Jazzmeia Horn and more

5/23/2017
More
Tuesday Reviewsday is our weekly new music segment, and this week Morgan Rhodes join A Martinez to talk about the latest releases.

Duration: 00:09:43


Tuesday Reviewsday: Juanes and La Santa Cecilia

5/16/2017
More
Music journailist Justino Aguila joins Take Two for the latest installment of Tuesday Reviewsday

Duration: 00:07:47


Tuesday Reviewsday: Prince's newly released single, Electric Intercourse

5/9/2017
More
If you love music, but don't have the time to keep up with what's new, you should listen to Tuesday Reviewsday. Every week our critics join our hosts in the studio to talk about what you should be listening to in one short segment. This week A Martinez is joined by Oliver Wang - music writer, scholar, and DJ.

Duration: 00:08:25


Tuesday Reviewsday: Drake, Moonchild and more

3/28/2017
More
Every week we get a look at the new music you should be listening to. This week music supervisor Morgan Rhodes offers her take.

Duration: 00:09:49


Nicki Minaj, Frank Ocean and more

3/21/2017
More
If you love music, but don't have the time to keep up with what's new, you should listen to Tuesday Reviewsday.

Duration: 00:09:35


New music Tuesday: Cece Winans, Kid Koala and more

2/7/2017
More
If you love music, but don't have the time to keep up with what's new, we've got the solution ... Tuesday Reviewsday. Every week our critics join our hosts in the studio to talk about what you should be listening to in one short segment. This week we're joined by music supervisor Morgan Rhodes and Oliver Wang from Soul-Sides.com.

Duration: 00:09:23


Tuesday Reviewsday

1/31/2017
More
Every week our music experts come in to talk about the best new tunes in one short segment. This week, Billboard's Leila Cobo and music journalist Justino Aguila join A Martinez with their top picks.

Duration: 00:09:38


Hawaiian music from Calcutta

1/3/2017
More
As it turns out, Hawaiian music has a storied history in India.

Duration: 00:08:09


The best music of 2016

12/27/2016
More
We've got a breakdown of the best neo-soul, R&B and hip hop that 2016 had to offer.

Duration: 00:13:48


The best Christmas music from Latin America

12/20/2016
More
How many ways can you sing Feliz Navidad? Take a listen to find out.

Duration: 00:11:20


Childish Gambino, Thievery Corporation, Nouvelle Vague, Gabriel Garzon Montano and Zilla Mayes

12/13/2016
More
Childish Gambino (Donald Glover) was already having the best year ever, but his new album takes 2016 to the next level for the artist.

Duration: 00:12:55


Music from Latin America: Celia Cruz, Jacob Forever, Regulo Caro and Torreblanca

11/29/2016
More
We take a listen to old and new Cuban music, and talk about how things might change now that Fidel Castro is gone.

Duration: 00:10:43


A Tribe Called Quest, Lee Fields and Low Leaf

11/22/2016
More
A Tribe Called Quest is back with their final album and it's everything that you'd want it to be and more.

Duration: 00:08:58


Mike Watt, Leah Paul and Jefferson Street Parade Band

11/15/2016
More
We’ve been through a lot of emotions this past week. With that in mind, today we have music to reflect some of that.

Duration: 00:09:59


Drake beefs with Kid Kudi, Ari Lennox slays and more

11/1/2016
More
Is this Drake’s new mid-life crisis now that he’s turning 30?

Duration: 00:13:07


Shirley Collins, Afro-Rock and West African tunes

10/25/2016
More
On our weekly new music segment we've got a power group from West Africa, legendary British singer Shirley Collins and some Afro-Rock from New York.

Duration: 00:09:47


Jenni Rivera, Franco de Vita, Helado Negro and more

10/17/2016
More
While Jenni Rivera passed away years ago, her estate is still releasing previously unheard work, of which Justino Aguila has brought in to the studio.

Duration: 00:10:26


Solange, Moses Sumney, The Impressions and more

10/11/2016
More
"I think that it's a good commentary on people that are interested in how black hair feels, but not as interested in how black people feel." Morgan Rhodes on the new work from Solange.

Duration: 00:10:33


Shovels & Ropes, Insects vs Robots and Wadada Leo Smith

10/4/2016
More
Willie Nelson's son Jacob Micah heads up the band Insects vs Robots, which sounds nothing like anything his father has done.

Duration: 00:09:45

See More