A Cut Above: Horror Review-logo

A Cut Above: Horror Review

1 Favorite

Jacqueline, Hydraberg and John watch and review the good, bad and bizarre of the horror movie genre! We are back every week with a new episode.

Location:

United States

Description:

Jacqueline, Hydraberg and John watch and review the good, bad and bizarre of the horror movie genre! We are back every week with a new episode.

Language:

English


Episodes
Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E146: You'll Never Find Me (2023)

4/16/2024
Episode 146: This week we are diving into John's pic, the shudder original You'll Never Find Me from 2023. It's an isolation filled episode. You may want to take stake in our next episode, we'll be covering 1971's Countess Dracula. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:01:42:07

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E145: Eaten Alive (1976)

4/9/2024
Episode 145: This week we greet special guest Matt of The Swords in Stereo Podcast. His expertise on bladed weapons will come in handy as we slice and scythe our way through the gator filled Tobe Hooper film that is 1976's Eaten Alive. Make sure to check us out next week as we cover You'll Never Find Me from 2023 on Shudder. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:02:00:02

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E144: April Fools Day (1986)

4/2/2024
Episode 144: This week it's prank city as Bob swaps out with his partner Mikey over at Let's Get Physical Media podcast. Mikey saves the day tho as we rate & review the 1986 forgotten slasher April Fools Day. Be sure to check us out next week as we wrestle with the 1976 killer croc film Eaten Alive by Tobe Hooper. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:01:49:23

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E143: I Saw the Devil (2010)

3/26/2024
Episode 143: As our March Madness comes to a close, we send it off with the 2010 South Korean film I Saw the Devil. Make sure to join us next week for April Fools Day from 1986. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:02:07:58

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E142: In the Mouth of Madness (1995)

3/19/2024
Episode 142: Another week of Madness with special guest Anna of the Cinema Slab Podcast on to help us tackle our first John Carpenter film with 1995's In the Mouth of Madness. Check back in next week as we close out March Madness with 2010's I Saw the Devil. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:02:12:00

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E141: American Psycho (2000)

3/12/2024
Episode 141: Reservations for four in week two of our March Madness theme. This episode we are joined by Jacqueline's smart friend Jay to discuss world hunger, Sri Lanka and 2000's American Psycho. Is our review as deep as we think or merely vapid? Make sure to join us next week for John Carpenter's In the Mouth of Madness from 1994. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:02:15:19

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E140: Maniac (2012)

3/5/2024
Episode 140: It's time to kick off our March Madness month with 2012's remake of Maniac with special guest Hannah of the Cinemaslab Podcast. Make sure to spiral into madness with us next week for 2000's American Psycho. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:02:05:03

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E139: The Nightingale (2018)

2/28/2024
Episode 139: The final week of our women in horror month is upon us, and we enlisted the help of Logan from the Ghoulish University to help us discuss the heavy Jennifer Kent film The Nightingale. Make sure to join us next week for March Madness month with 2012's Maniac. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:02:20:09

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E138: Stepford Wives (1975)

2/20/2024
Episode 138: Week three of #womeninhorrormonth we are covering another classic in 1975's The Stepford Wives with the help of Nichole from the Light & Shadow: A Horror Podcast Special thanks to Nichole for being our first 10x repeat guest. Make sure to join us for the final week of women in horror month as we discuss 2018's The Nightingale. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:02:16:12

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E137: Birth/Rebirth (2023)

2/13/2024
Episode 137: Another week of #womeninhorrormonth is upon us and we brought on five time guest Amie Burke to help cover Laura Moss' Birth/Rebirth. Make sure to join us next week as we cover the 1975 classic The Stepford Wives. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:02:14:36

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E136: Carrie (1976)

2/6/2024
Episode 136: To help kick off our 3rd annual Women in Horror Month we invited Caitlin Grant of the Plug It Up podcast to cover Brian De Palma's 1976 classic Carrie starring Sissy Spacek and Piper Laurie. Make sure to come back next week for more feminine horror in the month of February with 2023's Birth/Rebirth. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:02:12:53

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E135: City of the Living Dead (1980)

1/30/2024
Episode 135: This week we go I-talian with Lucio Fulci's City of the Living Dead. It was a fun time tackling our first Italian horror film. Make sure to join us next week as we kick off Women in Horror Month with 1976's Carrie. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:02:18:07

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E134: Talk to Me (2023)

1/23/2024
Episode 134: Hear us talk 2023's Talk to Me this week with special guests James of the Trey's Table podcast and his son Jordan of the Blackout Kombat podcast. It's a generational episode of A Cut Above. Join us next week as we cover our first Italian horror film with 1980's City of the Living Dead. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:02:25:05

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E133: Censor (2021)

1/16/2024
Episode 133: Hydraberg's pick this week as we cover 2021's Censor. Does it have something to say? Listen to episode 133 of A Cut Above: Horror Review to find out. Make sure to join us next week for 2022's Talk to Me with special guests James & Jordan. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:01:46:52

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E132: The Wailing (2016)

1/10/2024
Episode 132: This week we welcome back Nate of the Give Me Back My Action & Horror Movies podcast to discuss the 2016 South Korean classic that is The Wailing. Make sure to join back up next week for 2021's Censor. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:02:11:01

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E131: Funny Games (1997)

1/3/2024
Episode 131: This week it's just the three of us of as we play Funny Games from 1997. In polite society where do you draw the line? Join us next week for The Wailing from 2016 with special guest Nate from Give Me Back My Action And Horror Movies. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:01:55:25

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E130: Upgrade (2018)

12/27/2023
Episode 130: We have a special guest this week, Jon of The Cinemigos podcast. He'll be helping us discuss 2018's Upgrade. Between sci-fi and horror this film lies. Make sure to join us next week for Funny Games from 1997. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:02:03:12

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E129: Black Christmas (2019)

12/19/2023
Episode 129: This holiday season we are covering the third film titled Black Christmas from 2019. We have a special guest on, Nichole of Light & Shadow: A Horror Podcast. HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!! Make sure to join us next week when we cover Upgrade from 2019 with first time guest Jon aka KineticOnslot of the Cinemigos podcast. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:02:14:00

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E128: V/H/S 85 (2023)

12/12/2023
Episode 128: Anna of Cinema Slab Podcast joins us this week to take it back to the 80's with John's pick finally V/H/S 85 from 2023 on Shudder. Make sure to join us next week for Black Christmas 2019 with special guest Nichole of Light & Shadow: A Horror Podcast. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:01:56:33

Ask host to enable sharing for playback control

E127: Videodrome (1983)

12/5/2023
Episode 127: We are taking it back to analog this week with David Cronenberg's Videodrome from 1983. Long Live the New Flesh. Make sure to join us next week as we keep it analog with V/H/S 85 from 2023. See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

Duration:02:06:59