Amazon Book Review Podcast-logo

Amazon Book Review Podcast

Arts & Culture Podcasts

The Amazon Book Review Podcast is hosted by the Amazon Books editors and brings conversations between these book experts to readers who are looking for their next favorite book. Each podcast features a spirited roundtable discussion on a book topic close to the Amazon editors' hearts, followed by an interview with a remarkable author.

The Amazon Book Review Podcast is hosted by the Amazon Books editors and brings conversations between these book experts to readers who are looking for their next favorite book. Each podcast features a spirited roundtable discussion on a book topic close to the Amazon editors' hearts, followed by an interview with a remarkable author.

Location:

United States

Description:

The Amazon Book Review Podcast is hosted by the Amazon Books editors and brings conversations between these book experts to readers who are looking for their next favorite book. Each podcast features a spirited roundtable discussion on a book topic close to the Amazon editors' hearts, followed by an interview with a remarkable author.

Twitter:

@amazonbooks

Language:

English

Contact:

917-325-4404


Episodes

True Crime

9/21/2020
Seira Wilson, Vannessa Cronin, and Chris Schluep talk about their favorite true crime books (and some shows, podcasts, and Audible Originals). Books include: “The Stanger Beside Me” by Ann Rule, “Shot in the Heart” by Mikal Gilmore, “I’ll Be Gone in the Dark” by Michelle McNamara, “The Bloody Alphabet Coloring Book,” “American Kingpin” by Nick Bilton, “The People Who Eat Darkness” by Richard Lloyd Parry, “Helter Skelter” by Vincent Bugliosi, “Zodiac” by Robert Graysmith, “Party Monster” by...

Duration:00:33:15

A conversation with Leah Johnson, author of YOU SHOULD SEE ME IN A CROWN

9/5/2020
Seira Wilson talks to debut author Leah Johnson about her new Young Adult novel, which is Reese Witherspoon's debut Young Adult Book Club pick. In the book, Johnson asks Who is prom for? And what does it represent? And we meet Liz Lightly, a queer Black girl who is trying to navigate life.

Duration:00:20:34

The Best Books of 2020 So Far

8/27/2020
Erin Kodicek, Vannessa Cronin, Sarah Gelman, and Chris Schluep talk about the Best Books of 2020 So Far. Titles include Oona Out of Order by Margarita Montmomore, Pretty Things by Janelle Brown, Things in Jars by Jess Kidd, The Girl With the Louding Voice by Abi Dare, The Mercies by Kiran Millwood Hargrave, Writers and Lovers by Lily King, and The Hour of Fate by Susan Berfield.

Duration:00:28:42

A Conversation with Christopher Beha, author of the novel THE INDEX OF SELF-DESTRUCTIVE ACTS

8/10/2020
This big, sprawling novel is about family, New York, and to some degree, baseball.

Duration:00:21:13

Summer Reads

6/22/2020
The editors discuss some of the books they are excited about this summer.

Duration:00:36:23

A Decade of #1 Picks

5/20/2020
The editors look back at their selections for best book of the year; we discuss why we picked them and which ones we think people will still be talking about ten years from now.

Duration:00:28:12

Reading when you are home all the time; plus a conversation with Pamela Paul and Maria Russo about their book "How to Raise a Reader."

5/8/2020
The editors discuss how we negotiate reading when we are home all day and what books we are turning to. Plus, a conversation between Chris Schluep, Pamela Paul, and Maria Russo about a book that has never been more useful or relevant: How to Raise a Reader.

Duration:01:17:31

Recent books we recommend; plus a conversation with Goodreads and Amazon editorial.

4/6/2020
The editors discuss books that have just published, or are just about to be published. Plus, on the even of our Goodreads/Editorial summit, Sarah Gelman talks to a few of our colleagues.

Duration:00:36:15

The Best Books of March and Unforgettable Reads; plus a conversation with Brian Greene.

3/20/2020
The editors discuss the best books of March, along with a new feature called "Unforgettable Reads." Plus, Chris Schluep talks to physicist Brian Greene about his new book UNTIL THE END OF TIME

Duration:00:35:04

Authors we fell for last decade; plus a conversation with Colin O'Brady.

3/6/2020
We read a lot last decade, and here are a few of the authors who really stuck with us. Plus, Adrian Liang talks to Colin O'Brady, adventurer and author.

Duration:00:51:43

Romantic Comedies and why you should read them; plus a conversation with Christopher McDougall.

2/13/2020
We talk about a whole bunch of romcoms, and Sarah Gelman talks to Christopher McDougall, author of "Running with Sherman."

Duration:00:41:12

Books we are looking forward to in 2020; plus a conversation with Sarah Adler.

1/10/2020
The Amazon Books editors look ahead to the books we are excited about in 2020, and Sarah Gelman talks to food and lifestyle guru, and owner of Simply Real Health, Sarah Adler.

Duration:01:09:04

The Amazon Editors discuss their favorite mysteries, thrillers and suspense of 2019, as well as some thrillers and mysteries they are looking forward to in 2020; plus a conversation with best-selling author Leigh Bardugo about her novel "The Ninth House."

12/22/2019
The Amazon Books editors discuss what mysteries and thrillers excited them in 2019, and Leigh Bardugo joins us for a discussion about her best-selling novel "The Ninth House." Plus, Sarah Gelman correctly guesses "Is It Real, or Is It From a Book?"

Duration:00:32:11

The Amazon Editors recommend holiday gift picks, and Seira Wilson talks to Alice Hoffman about her novel "The World That We Knew."

12/12/2019
The Amazon Books editors discuss what books to gift others in 2019, and which ones you should give to yourself, and Alice Hoffman joins us for a discussion about her moving novel "The World Between Us."

Duration:00:33:54

The Best Books of 2019, and Seira Wilson talks to Mike Isaac about his book "Super Pumped: The Battle for Uber."

12/6/2019
The Amazon Books editors discuss their favorite books of 2019, and Mike Isaac joins us for a discussion about our Best Business Book of 2019, "Super Pumped."

Duration:00:35:36

The Best Books of October, and Megan Phelps-Roper on "Unfollow: A Memoir of Loving and Leaving the Westboro Baptist Church"

10/31/2019
The Amazon Books editors look at some of their favorite books from October 2019, and Megan Phelps-Roper joins us for a discussion about her powerful new book.

Duration:00:28:25

The Best Books of August

8/2/2019
The Amazon Books Editors discuss a few of their favorites from August, plus an interview with George Takei, author of "They Called Us Enemy."

Duration:00:35:32

Talking with MythBuster Adam Savage

7/19/2019
The star of the long-running Discovery Channel series stopped by our Seattle offices to talk about the show, his path to becoming a maker of things, and his new book, “Every Tool’s a Hammer.”

Duration:00:26:48

Can't-miss book club picks, and an interview with "Underland" author Robert Macfarlane

7/5/2019
Adrian, Seira, and Sarah talk book clubs (and some of their favorite book club reads), and Jon interviews Robert Macfarlane, author of “Underland”

Duration:00:30:16

The Best Books of the Year So Far

6/18/2019
The Amazon Books editors discuss a few of their favorite books from the first half of 2019, and an interview with Elizabeth Gilbert, author of "City of Girls"

Duration:00:30:03