Plenty Opinions-logo

Plenty Opinions

Arts & Culture Podcasts >

Life comes at you fast. Zuri and Jenai are 30-something newlyweds and new moms with full careers trying to figure out how to manage adult responsibilities while maintaining their youthful joie de vivre. They host a bi-weekly podcast featuring candid, insanely opinionated conversations on various topics including relationships with a rotating cast of guests. New episodes every other Tuesday on Apple podcasts, Soundcloud, Spotify, Stitcher, Alexa, Google Play. Cover art illustration by @princesskay

Life comes at you fast. Zuri and Jenai are 30-something newlyweds and new moms with full careers trying to figure out how to manage adult responsibilities while maintaining their youthful joie de vivre. They host a bi-weekly podcast featuring candid, insanely opinionated conversations on various topics including relationships with a rotating cast of guests. New episodes every other Tuesday on Apple podcasts, Soundcloud, Spotify, Stitcher, Alexa, Google Play. Cover art illustration by @princesskay
More Information

Location:

United States

Description:

Life comes at you fast. Zuri and Jenai are 30-something newlyweds and new moms with full careers trying to figure out how to manage adult responsibilities while maintaining their youthful joie de vivre. They host a bi-weekly podcast featuring candid, insanely opinionated conversations on various topics including relationships with a rotating cast of guests. New episodes every other Tuesday on Apple podcasts, Soundcloud, Spotify, Stitcher, Alexa, Google Play. Cover art illustration by @princesskay

Language:

English

Contact:

9144030650


Episodes

Episode 013: Check Auntie or Nah?

9/10/2019
More
As we move through the transition from being a child to head of the family how do we deal with disagreements with our elders? From minor tiffs to major differences in point of view we talk to Samiyrah Bennett (Clinical Social Worker/Licensed Psychotherapist) and Yaasmin Lewis (Chemist/PepsiCo Sr. Analyst, Technical Team Lead) about when it is okay to check them when they are talking crazy or and when doing that is just disrespectful.

Duration:00:52:00

Episode 012: Can we still throw dem bones?

8/28/2019
More
Can we still resolve issues with violence or should that be above us now? Listen in as Jenai reconciles in real-time with the bad bitch she’d like to be and who she actually is. While we all should aspire to have Zuri's temper management skills; Leodyne (Attorney) & Jasmine (Former Teacher/PhD Student) join us to let us know that a beatdown can be served up to anyone at anytime for pretty much any reason.

Duration:00:44:15

Episode 011: Fight or Flight?

8/6/2019
More
Is there a healthy way to deal with past relationship trauma? Cassie (Ophthalmologist Technician) & Rutherford (Renaissance Woman) join us to discuss the tactics we've used in the past to try to protect ourselves from being hurt the same way twice.

Duration:00:56:04

Episode 010: Pick and pick until you pick shit?

7/23/2019
More
Undefeated Internet is a S-T-R-U-G-G-L-E this episode so bear with us. In fact, Jenai & Zuri almost start beefing over it on-air. After that, we talk to Ashley (Attorney) and Stephanie (Admissions Advisor) about the struggle that is being a single girl and the weariness that comes with working the process. Is settling for "good enough" the way to exit the single hamster wheel?

Duration:01:02:07

Episode 009: Can we both be dreamchasers?

7/9/2019
More
After a long anti-social media rant listen along as we partner with Mark (Startup Regional Manager) to try to keep Fitzroy (Business Analyst) on topic. We discuss if the old tenet "there can only be one star" in a relationship is still true or not.

Duration:00:57:44

Episode 008: Do we overshare?

6/25/2019
More
Do we owe it to our friends to be discerning about what we share with them to protect them? Or is it more important to lean on your friends for an outlet and sounding board? And when the shoe is on the other foot how do you behave responsibly? We discuss with Jessica (Dean of Students) and Jonathan (PhD, Psychologist). Plus, we got a WHOLE professional in this episode for some actual professional advice - finally. Lastly, TRIGGER WARNING if you are a cat lover. Zuri airs her strong...

Duration:00:58:52

Episode 007: Why do we buy luxury brands instead of our own?

6/11/2019
More
Why are people still addicted to Gucci belts when Gucci tried to play us? Why don’t we just support the luxury brands that are created by other folks that look like us? Bibi (Social Worker & Owner of PiriTees) and Jasmine (Nanny) help us try to figure out how we can make better personal choices that strengthen our support for the community. The girls also get hit with a question in listener letters that they don’t feel equipped to answer. Maybe it is amateur advice after all?

Duration:01:03:09

Episode 006: He cheated. Leave him or stay?

5/28/2019
More
What's the next step once you find out you've been cheated on? Sometimes the right path isn't that obvious. Trish (Portfolio Manager, Fitness Life Coach) and Cat (Attorney, Pure Barre Fanatic) figure out the stages of grief you go through once you've been betrayed.

Duration:00:58:55

Episode 005: Is girl code still at thing?

5/14/2019
More
One person’s trash is another person’s treasure, right? Pivoting off of reality TV, the girls talk through the nuances of girl code with Jhanell (Advertising Brand Planner) and Yemi (Corporate Finance Attorney). They land on some rules while melting the icebox where Jhanell's heart used to be.

Duration:00:51:37

Episode 004: Is the past ever in the past?

4/30/2019
More
Ugh, Scorpios are the worst - amirite? Jenai and Jermaine (Associate Vice President for Student Affairs at Southern Connecticut State University) support each other's opinion while Zuri and Tiffany (Postal Inspector) gang up on them. Is it or isn't okay to be a petty betty? We may never know. In listener letters, not all baby names are good names.

Duration:00:39:24

Episode 003: Are spoilers wack?

4/16/2019
More
Talisa (Staff Accountant) & Janika (HS Dance Teacher) swear they don't background check the dudes they date. We don't believe them and try to draw the truth out. The girls also analyze how you determine where you are from. In listener letters, what do you do when your friend has bride brain?

Duration:00:48:04

Episode 002: Can you lie to me though?

3/26/2019
More
The husbands have invaded the podcast. Inspired by Nikki Giovanni & James Baldwin, we dissect how to balance allowing your partner access to the unfiltered version of you while making sure they get the best of you at the same damn time. We learn that Emond (Entrepreneur / State Farm Agent) is pretty sick and tired of hearing Jenai's entrepreneurial ideas. Zuri & Mike (Assistant Principal) discuss the importance of communication. In listener letters, the guys say shoot your shot, sis. "James...

Duration:00:53:15

Episode 001: Ride n' Die or nah?

3/20/2019
More
It's the first episode! Jenai is super thirsty over a serial killer and Zuri is apparently proud to be a snitch. The girls have Patricia (Attorney) and Saleda (TV producer) on the mic to discuss when you should be loyal and when you need to cut and run. Along the way, they review the New York State prison system visitors policy. Listener letters have the girls considering changing the podcast to a matchmaking service.

Duration:00:54:53

Episode 000: Plenty Opinions is what?

3/1/2019
More
In this super quick snack of an episode meet the girls and get an overview of what to expect from this podcast.

Duration:00:05:54