The Winemaker's Journey-logo

The Winemaker's Journey

Arts & Culture Podcasts

Interviews with professional winemakers focused on how they developed their personal aesthetic; what were the mentors, fellow winemakers, great wines and vineyards that shaped their personal style. I also interview some of the innovators that are changing the way we make wine and grow grapes

Location:

United States

Description:

Interviews with professional winemakers focused on how they developed their personal aesthetic; what were the mentors, fellow winemakers, great wines and vineyards that shaped their personal style. I also interview some of the innovators that are changing the way we make wine and grow grapes

Language:

English


Episodes

Season 4, Episode 2: Dr. Eric Mayer of Napachar

7/7/2023
Napachar: https://napachar.com/ Wilson Biochar, Kelpie Wilson: wilsonbiochar.com Global Algae Inovations: globalalgae.com Pyrolysis: https://www.ars.usda.gov/northeast-area/wyndmoor-pa/eastern-regional-research-center/docs/biomass-pyrolysis-research-1/what-is-pyrolysis/#:~:text=Pyrolysis%20is%20the%20heating%20of,strong%20bio%2Dpolymers%20mentioned%20above. Stacking Functions: https://ranchomastatal.com/blognewsletter/2016/8/15/the-art-of-stacking-functions Drew Isaacs: haas.berkeley.edu/faculty/isaacs-andrew/ PAH's Polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons: cdc.gov.biomonitoring/PAHs_Fact Sheet.html Thibaut Scolasch: https://www.vinifera-euromaster.eu/dr-t-scholasch/

Duration:00:47:40

Season 4, Episode 1: Marcello, Massimo and Mario Monticelli

5/9/2023
Marcello Monticelli: https://www.winebusiness.com/news/article/232310 Massimo Monticelli: https://burlywine.com/our-story/massimo-monticelli/ Mario Monticelli: https://www.invinofelicitas.com/aboutMonticelli Brothers Winery: https://www.monticellibros.com/ Justin Meyer: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Justin_Meyer Philippe Melka: https://www.ateliermelka.com/about Stavin, Steve Sullivan: https://www.stavin.com/ Razi Winery: https://raziwinery.com/

Duration:01:17:29

Season 3, Episode 3: Dr. Ron Runnebaum from UC, Davis

9/16/2022
Ron Runnebaum publications: https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=ElhHLZQAAAAJ Roger Boulton: https://faculty.engineering.ucdavis.edu/boulton/ Hildegarde Heymann: https://wineserver.ucdavis.edu/people/hildegarde-heymann#/ JaRue Manning: https://biology.ucdavis.edu/people/jarue-manning Anthony King: https://www.winemakersstudio.com/team/anthony-king/ History of Department of Viticulture and Enology: https://wineserver.ucdavis.edu/about/history

Duration:01:14:05

Season 3, Episode 2: Jim Duane, Daniel Baron dual interview

4/29/2022
Inside Winemaking: https://www.insidewinemaking.com/ Jim Duane Naked Wines: https://us.nakedwines.com/producers/jim-duane Seavey Vineyards: https://www.seaveyvineyard.com/ Terratorium Wines: https://www.terratoriumwines.com/Complant Wine: https://complantwine.com/ Daniel Baron: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daniel_Baron Daniel Baron Naked Wines: https://us.nakedwines.com/producers/daniel-baron Silver Oak Cellars: https://silveroak.com/ Twomey Cellars: https://twomey.com/ Dominus Estate: https://www.dominusestate.com/

Duration:02:02:08

Season 3, Episode 1: Physiological Pruning with Alessandro Zanutta and Sam Baron

2/8/2022
Diploma Universitaire de La Taille et L'Empamprage: https://www.apprentissage-superieur-aquitaine.fr/52-formations/145-diplome-universitaire-taille-et-epamprage.html#:~:text=Unique%20dipl%C3%B4me%20Fran%C3%A7ais%20de%20taille,vigne%20et%20am%C3%A9liorer%20la%20production. Alessandro Zanutta's presentation at the 2015 Vintage Conference, Napa California: youtube.com/watch?V=o3qidd8VUsU Simonit & Sirch: https://simonitesirch.com/ François Dal: https://www.lerougeetleblanc.com/en/viticulture/day-francois-dal-7.html https://boardandbench.com/products/grapevine-pruning-manual-for-the-prevention-of-trunk-disease Poussard Pamphlet: https://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6565326w/f13.item.texteImage Compartmentalization of Decay in Trees Pamphlet by Alex Shigo: https://www.google.com/search?q=codit&rlz=1C5CHFA_enUS900US900&oq=codit&aqs=chrome..69i57j46i175i199i512j0i512l2j0i10i131i433j0i512j0i10i512j0i512l2.2295j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8 Schiopetto: https://www.schiopetto.it/en/ Marco Falluga: http://www.marcofelluga.it/index.php?id=1&L=1 Mike Marshall: https://mikemarshall.net/ Catarina Lichtenberg: https://caterinalichtenberg.com/

Duration:01:08:09

Season 2, Episode 6: A Roundtable Discussion with Four Roots Fund Scholars

1/4/2022
The Roots Fund: https://www.therootsfund.org/ Dalle Valle Vineyards: https://www.dallavallevineyards.com/ Burgess Cellars: https://www.burgesscellars.com/ McBride Sisters: https://www.mcbridesisters.com/ Inglenook: https://www.inglenook.com/ Quintessa: https://www.quintessa.com/ Wine School of Philadelphia: https://www.vinology.com/ Certified Specialist of Wine: https://societyofwineeducators.org/education-certifications/certified-specialist-of-wine/

Duration:01:21:25

Season 2, Episode 5: A Talk with Maggie Harrison

12/15/2021
Antica Terra: https://www.anticaterra.com/ Lillian: https: //www.lillianwinery.com/ Sine Qua Non: http://www.sinequanon.com/ Christo: https://christojeanneclaude.net/

Duration:00:59:38

Season 2, Episode 4: A Conversation with Zach Berkowitz

7/16/2021
John Wright: https://www.winespectator.com/articles/domaine-chandon-founder-john-wright-dies-at-78-46677 Will Nord: https://nordvineyards.com/ Dawnine Dyer: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dawnine_Dyer Ernie Weir: https://www.hagafen.com/About-Us/History-In-The-Making Ron McManis: https://www.mcmanisfamilyvineyards.com/ Doug Gubler: https://www.winebusiness.com/news/?go=getArticle&dataid=201391

Duration:00:55:13

Season 2, Episode 3: Special Father's Day Edition with Tom and Austin Peterson and Sam Baron

6/8/2021
Tom Peterson: https://www.vintagepoint.com/vintagepointpartners Austin Peterson: https://ovidnapavalley.com/story/ Sam Baron: https://www.complantwine.com/about, https://www.kivelstadtcellars.com/ Cornelius Ough: https://senate.universityofcalifornia.edu/in-memoriam/files/cornelius-ough.html Richard Peterson: https://richardgpeterson.com/about-the-author/ Mike Moone: https://www.vintagepoint.com/assets/client/File/Moone-Tsai/M-T%20Bios/Mike%20Moone%20Bio.pdf Aaron Pott: http://www.pottwine.com/test/about/aaron Michel Rolland: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michel_Rolland Andy Erickson: https://www.huneeuswines.com/wp-content/uploads/Andy-Erickson-Bio-SB.docx.pdf Thibaut Scholasch: https://fruitionsciences.com/en/team John Rolleri: https://napavalleyregister.com/news/local/obituaries/john-rolleri/article_91942856-573b-5d6d-a543-2f1f68aaee1e.html Harold Olmo: https://wineserver.ucdavis.edu/people/harold-olmo#/ Christian Moueix: https://www.winespectator.com/anniversary/leaders/id/christian-moueix Jean-Claude Berrouet: https://www.wineandspiritsmagazine.com/news/wine-news/jean-claude-berrouet Justin Meyer: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Justin_Meyer Earl Thollander: http://earlthollander.com/earl_thollander.html

Duration:01:03:19

Season 2, Episode 2: Bibiana González Rave

6/4/2021
Wines by Bibiana: https://winesbybibiana.com/ Marques de Riscal: https://www.marquesderiscal.com/en/marques-de-riscal-reserva Lycée Agricole de la Charente: https://epl-charente.com/Domaine Clarence Dillon: https://www.domaineclarencedillon.com/ Jean-Bernard Delmas: https://www.decanter.com/obituaries/jean-bernard-delmas-dies-bordeaux-425664/ Domaine Stéphane Ogier: http://www.stephaneogier.fr/ Scheidecker et Fils: https://www.scheidecker-fils.com/ La Crema: https://www.lacrema.com/ Lynmar Estate: https://lynmarestate.com/ Peay Vineyards: https://peayvineyards.com/ Peter Michael Winery: https://petermichaelwinery.com/ Pisoni Family Vineyards: https://www.pisonivineyards.com/ Mark Aubert: https://www.aubertwines.com/about-us/mark-aubert-co-owner-and-winemaker/ Soberanes Vineyard: http://www.soberanesvineyard.com/ Pahlmeyer Vineyards: https://www.pahlmeyer.com/ Helen Turley: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Helen_Turley Wayfarer Vineyard: https://www.wayfarervineyard.com/

Duration:01:08:03

Season 2, Episode 1A: Jean-Claude Berrouet simultaneous English translation

5/13/2021
Jean-Claude Berrouet https://www.wineandspiritsmagazine.com/news/wine-news/jean-claude-berrouet Don Stiernberg (theme music) : https://donstiernberg.com/ Jean-Pierre Moueix https://www.nytimes.com/2003/04/11/world/jean-pierre-moueix-89-french-wine-figure-dies.html Émile Peynaud https://www.winespectator.com/articles/emile-peynaud-who-influenced-winemaking-around-the-world-dies-at-92-22076 Pascal Ribereau-Gayon https://www.winespectator.com/articles/bordeaux-enologist-pascal-ribereau-gayon-dies-45102 Marc Dubernet.: https://www.dubernet.com/ Robert Parker: https://www.robertparker.com/ Christian Moueix/Dominus: http://dominusestate.com/mb/the-story/christian-moueix/ Gordon Shepherd: https://medicine.yale.edu/profile/gordon_shepherd/ Jean-Didier Vincent: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jean-Didier_Vincent Gerard Seguin: https://oeno-one.eu/article/view/2477 Kees van Leeuwen: https://study.agro-bordeaux.fr/teacher/van-leeuwen-cornelis-kees/

Duration:00:56:49

Season 2, Episode 1: Jean-Claude Berrouet French version

5/13/2021
Jean-Claude Berrouet https://www.wineandspiritsmagazine.com/news/wine-news/jean-claude-berrouet Don Stiernberg (theme music) : https://donstiernberg.com/ Jean-Pierre Moueix https://www.nytimes.com/2003/04/11/world/jean-pierre-moueix-89-french-wine-figure-dies.html Émile Peynaud https://www.winespectator.com/articles/emile-peynaud-who-influenced-winemaking-around-the-world-dies-at-92-22076 Pascal Ribereau-Gayon https://www.winespectator.com/articles/bordeaux-enologist-pascal-ribereau-gayon-dies-45102 Marc Dubernet.: https://www.dubernet.com/ Robert Parker: https://www.robertparker.com/ Christian Moueix/Dominus: http://dominusestate.com/mb/the-story/christian-moueix/ Gordon Shepherd: https://medicine.yale.edu/profile/gordon_shepherd/ Jean-Didier Vincent: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jean-Didier_Vincent Gerard Seguin: https://oeno-one.eu/article/view/2477 Kees van Leeuwen: https://study.agro-bordeaux.fr/teacher/van-leeuwen-cornelis-kees/

Duration:00:56:50

Season 1, Episode 7: Priyanka French

12/19/2020
Linda Bisson: https://wineserver.ucdavis.edu/people/linda-bisson#/ Roland Masse: https://gr8burgundies.com/2014/11/14/roland-masse-the-last-vintage-of-a-living-legend/ Jean François: http://www.knoxbarrels.com/Francois-Freres-Cooperage.html Martine Saunier: https://www.mwines.com/aboutmartine/ Dalle Valle: Naoko, Andy Erickson, Michel Rolland: https://www.dallavallevineyards.com/# Signorello Estate: https://www.signorelloestate.com/ Roger Boulton: https://wineserver.ucdavis.edu/people/roger-boulton#/

Duration:00:51:48

Season 1, Episode 6: Bryan Rahn

12/5/2020
Jim Brownell: https://www.legacy.com/obituaries/fresnobee/obituary.aspx?n=james-r-brownell&pid=167987223 Coastal Viticultural Consultants: https://www.coastalvit.com/ Soil Resistivity: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Soil_resistivity Professional Soil Science Association of California: https://pssac.org/ NRCS: https://www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/portal/nrcs/site/national/home/ Pressure Chamber: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scholander_pressure_bomb Porometer: https://www.delta-t.co.uk/product/ap4/ Walt Mahaffee: https://owri.oregonstate.edu/users/walter-mahaffee qPCR: https://www.thermofisher.com/blog/ask-a-scientist/what-is-qpcr/ Eutypa: http://ipm.ucanr.edu/PMG/r302100611.html Bot Canker: http://ipm.ucanr.edu/PMG/r302101011.html

Duration:01:00:36

Season 1, Episode 5: Cathy Corison

11/19/2020
Corison Winery website: https://www.corison.com/ Alexandre Lora: https://www.alexandrelora.com/ John Winthrop Haeger: http://oenosite.com/ Cornelius Ough: https://senate.universityofcalifornia.edu/in-memoriam/files/cornelius-ough.html Freemark Abbey: https://www.freemarkabbey.com/ Yverdon Winery: https://wineindustryadvisor.com/2013/12/20/jackson-family-wines-purchases-yverdon-spring-mountain Chappellet: https://www.chappellet.com/ Tony Soter: https://www.sotervineyards.com/founders Morisoli Vineyard: https://historicvineyardsociety.org/vineyard/morisoli-vineyard Staglin Winery: https://www.staglinfamily.com/ Cabernet Sauvignon Clone 2: https://fps.ucdavis.edu/fgrdetails.cfm?varietyid=356 Resistivity: https://www.coastalvit.com/Terroirview.php Tule: https://www.tuletechnologies.com/ Scorpion: https://www.etslabs.com/library/27

Duration:00:39:31

Season 1, Episode 4: Mia Klein

10/17/2020
Ann Noble: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ann_C._Noble Mary Ann Graf: https://webpages.scu.edu/womenwinemakers/view.php?id=312 Zelma Long: https://webpages.scu.edu/womenwinemakers/view.php?id=147 Cathy Corison: https://webpages.scu.edu/womenwinemakers/view.php?id=41 Tony Soter: https://www.sotervineyards.com/founders Phillip Titus: https://www.titusvineyards.com/about-us/philip-titus Roberto Stucchi: https://www.coltibuono.com/en/about/la-famiglia/ Heidi Barrett: https://webpages.scu.edu/womenwinemakers/view.php?id=10 Cimarossa Winery: https://www.cimarossa.com/ Palmaz Vineyards: https://palmazvineyards.com/

Duration:00:50:30

Season 1, Episode 3: A Discussion on Harvesting Decisions with Sam Baron

10/10/2020
Berry Sensory in Australia: https://winetitles.com.au/product/winegrape-berry-sensory-assessment-in-australia/ Link to Fruition Science's Sugar Loading Curvehttps://blog.fruitionsciences.com/en/dyostem-results/ Email me at daniel@complantwine.com if you would like a pdf of my modified berry sensory scoresheet.

Duration:00:39:04

Season 1, Episode 2: Andy Walker

10/3/2020
Harold Olmo obituary: https://senate.universityofcalifornia.edu/_files/inmemoriam/html/haroldolmo. Lloyd Lider Obituary: htmhttps://www.tributearchive.com/obituaries/8966978/Lloyd-Arthur-Lider Austin Goheen article on the Jackson Station: http://iv.ucdavis.edu/files/24464.pdf Interview with Carole Meredith: https://sanfranciscowineschool.com/blogs/blog/19215299-insider-interviews-by-david-furer-presenting-carole-meredith Grapevine Propagation and Layering: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Propagation_of_grapevines Article on Powdery Mildew resistant vinifera discovered by Hungarian grape breeder Pal Kozma is a central Asian variety named Karadzhandal, one of a dozen such cultivars. Note reference to HP Olmo's 1948 germplasm collecting trip and map of same: https://bmcplantbiol.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/1471-2229-13-149

Duration:01:03:33

Season 1, Episode 1: Rob Davis

9/13/2020
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ann_C._Noble https://www.thewinecellarinsider.com/wine-topics/wine-educational-questions/davis-aroma-wheel/ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andr%C3%A9_Tchelistcheff http://www.themaestrofilm.com/thestory.htm https://www.winespectator.com/articles/winemaker-patrick-leon-dies

Duration:01:29:53