Queen Speaking-logo

Queen Speaking

Business & Economics Podcasts >

More Information

Location:

United States

Language:

English

Contact:

5854067418


Episodes

Episode 29: Vitamins and supplements – love 'em or leave 'em?

8/10/2018
More
We’re breaking down the pros and cons associated with society’s obsession with supplements and vitamins. How do you decide whether or not you need to take them? (Disclaimer: Consult a medical professional if you're trying new supplements and vitamins!) Queen Speaking: Planning your ultimate, stress-free vacation (http://www.queenspeaking.com/26) Ologies Podcast: Fearology Pt. 1 (FEAR) with Mary Poffenroth (https://podtail.com/en/podcast/ologies/fearology-pt-1-fear-with-mary-poffenroth/)...

Duration:01:15:58

Episode 28: Personal branding basics

8/3/2018
More
Have you Googled yourself? What do you think you'll find? We run through why having a basic handle on your personal brand is important and how to answer questions about yourself to better define what makes you stand out. Links in this episode: * The Moth: Breaking Up in the Age of Google (https://themoth.org/stories/breaking-up-in-the-age-of-google) * Fast Company: This is what work will look like in 2100 (https://www.fastcompany.com/90180181/this-is-what-work-will-look-like-in-2100) *...

Duration:01:07:58

Episode 27: Can I give you some feedback?

7/27/2018
More
What’s it take to give good feedback? We talk through the tactics that make it easier to have direct, constructive, thoughtful conversations with friends and coworkers. Links in this episode: * Cait Flanders: The Year of Less (https://caitflanders.com/the-year-of-less/) * First Round Review: Influencers Aren't Born, They're Built — Here's How (http://firstround.com/review/influencers-arent-born-theyre-built-heres-how/) * LinkedIn: How to give Constructive Criticism: 6 Helpful Tips...

Duration:01:20:49

Episode 26: Planning your ultimate, stress-free vacation

7/20/2018
More
Vacation is not about becoming Instagram famous. Ask yourself, “What do you do to chill out?” Then, incorporate that into your vacation experience. Learn to take advantage of this time to do things that make you happy, soak up some downtime, and explore. Links in this episode: * First Round Media: The Type of Team Diversity You’re Probably Not Paying Attention To (http://firstround.com/review/the-type-of-team-diversity-youre-probably-not-paying-attention-to/) * Werk It: The Podcast...

Duration:01:18:27

Episode 25: Who’s on your personal board of directors?

7/13/2018
More
As we all progress on our journeys, mentorship is vital to our success. We discuss how to find a mentor, how to be a great mentor, and make the most of the 1:1 time whether you’re the mentee or mentor. Links in this episode: * Bon Appetit: Our Highly Subjective But Very Smart Guide to Traveling (https://www.bonappetit.com/gallery/travel-lessons-tips) * Tanya Geisler: What behaviour is standing in the way of your Unshakeable Confidence?...

Duration:01:31:30

Episode 24: Achieving a realistic work/life balance

7/6/2018
More
Can you have it all? Yes, over time. We share ways to assess your priorities and state of mind, and how to make changes to feel happy and fulfilled in the areas most important to you to own your version of work/life balance. Links in this episode: * No Limits with Rebecca Jarvis (http://abcradio.com/podcasts/no-limits/) [podcast] * Forbes: The Evolving Definition Of Work-Life Balance...

Duration:01:12:42

Episode 23: How-to use feedback to your advantage

6/29/2018
More
There’s value in feedback — learn how to handle constructive criticism to get the most out of your best traits. Plus, an exercise to improve your self awareness and how to solicit feedback from your coworkers, mentors, and others close to you. Links in this episode: * Harvard Business Review: 4 Habits of People Who Are Always Learning New Skills (https://hbr.org/2018/01/4-habits-of-people-who-are-always-learning-new-skills) * Glamour: Meet Glamour's 2018 College Women of the Year...

Duration:01:18:38

Episode 22: What to do with an idea

6/22/2018
More
We talk through how we built Queen Speaking from an idea to reality to inspire you to nurture your own ideas. We cover choosing the right platform, expectations, growth opportunities, setbacks, and staying motivated. Links in this episode: * Fast Company: 4 Questions To Ask Yourself When You Have To Make A Big Decision (https://www.fastcompany.com/40581993/4-questions-to-ask-yourself-when-you-have-to-make-a-big-decision) * Career Contessa: How My Social Anxiety Affects My Work...

Duration:01:20:49

Episode 21: How to create a vision board

6/15/2018
More
Learn how to embrace the creative side of goal setting by creating a vision board to visualize the things you want in life and make them happen. Links in this episode: * Sun Basket Healthy Meal Kit Delivery (https://sunbasket.com/) * Honeydue App (https://www.honeydue.com/) * On Being podcast: Maria Shriver on Finding My “I Am” (https://onbeing.org/programs/maria-shriver-finding-my-i-am-may2018/) * Kitchn: What Is Fika? An Introduction to the Swedish Coffee Break...

Duration:01:09:45

Episode 20: How to avoid burnout

6/8/2018
More
We talk through how to identify burnout red flags, navigate your way out of the overwhelm, and how to avoid it down the road. Links in this episode: * Good Good Comedy Theatre (https://goodgoodcomedy.com/) * Man Repeller: I’ve Limited My Wardrobe to 8 Pieces and It’s…Amazing (https://www.manrepeller.com/2017/05/eileen-fisher-the-system.html) * First Round Review: How Food52 Strikes a Winning Balance Between Content and Commerce...

Duration:01:18:21

Episode 19: How to find a hobby

6/1/2018
More
We talk through why it’s good for your well-being to have a hobby and what questions to ask to find one that works for you. Links in this episode: - HubSpot Academy Courses & Certifications (https://academy.hubspot.com/courses) - Queen Speaking Episode 7: Continuing Education (http://www.queenspeaking.com/7) - Barnard College Commencement: Abby Wambach, Remarks as Delivered (https://barnard.edu/commencement/archives/2018/abby-wambach-remarks) - A Plus: We'd take relationship advice from...

Duration:01:09:04

Episode 18: Mindfulness + social media

5/25/2018
More
A digital detox may be everything we need, but that's a terrifying feat. We talk through how to take small steps to regain control over the social media scroll. Links in this episode: - Queen Speaking Episode 11: Building a capsule wardrobe (http://www.queenspeaking.com/11) - Ouai Volume Spray (https://theouai.com/products/volume-spray) - Naomi Boyer: How to Get Big, Voluminous Hair Feat. Ouai Volume Spray (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LRVKRrJHu-Y) [Video] - Mind Body Green Health: You...

Duration:01:39:35

Episode 17: Skincare basics

5/18/2018
More
What do you need to consider when upping your skincare game in your 20s, 30s, and beyond? There will be some trial and error, but everyone deserves great skin! We talk through the basics from cleansers to SPF and everything in between. Links in this episode: - Thrive Global: Become an ‘Unstoppable’ Leader by Enhancing Your Self-Awareness (https://www.thriveglobal.com/stories/29889-become-an-unstoppable-leader-by-enhancing-your-self-awareness) - Goop: Passion, Intimacy—and Why a Little Hate...

Duration:01:36:13

Episode 16: Let’s get organized

5/11/2018
More
We talk through how to declutter the excess in your mind, your home, and your office. Links in this episode: - Fast Company: The Counterintuitive Lesson I Learned From Scheduling “Worry Time” (https://www.fastcompany.com/40565084/the-counterintuitive-lesson-i-learned-from-scheduling-worry-time) - Apartment Therapy: Lagom (https://www.apartmenttherapy.com/what-is-lagom-swedish-home-decluttering-258407) - Girl’s Night In Club: How to Say ‘No’ to Others and ‘Yes’ to Yourself...

Duration:01:26:14

Episode 15: Negotiation inspiration

5/4/2018
More
You negotiate on the daily from planning dinner to vacations. We talk through the lessons that help influence bigger picture asks like buying a car or asking for a raise. Links in this episode: - Lateral Thinking Cheat Sheet (https://docs.shanesnow.com/v/lateral-thinking-cheat-sheet) - The Everygirl: 5 Easy Ways to Start Negotiating Like A Badass (http://theeverygirl.com/5-easy-ways-to-start-negotiating-like-a-badass/) - Career Contessa: Everything You Need to Know About Asking for a Raise...

Duration:01:04:50

Episode 14: Dissecting millennials’ obsession with astrology

4/27/2018
More
Horoscopes are everywhere these days! We talk through ways to use astrology to our benefit, whether it’s for guidance, a push in the right direction or a new perspective. Links in this episode: - Apartment Therapy: The One Thing You Need to Clean to Set Yourself Up for Spring (https://www.apartmenttherapy.com/windows-spring-cleaning-tips-257136) - Man Repeller: The Problem With “Not Caring” About Pop Culture...

Duration:01:03:27

Episode 13: How to practice active listening

4/20/2018
More
Good leaders listen well, pay attention, and ask good questions. We talk through the ways to improve your active listening skills to help you build strong relationships. Links in this episode: - Seth Godin: Effort in the face of near-certain rejection (http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/2018/04/effort-in-the-face-of-near-certain-rejection.html) - Fast Company: How One Simple Change Can Make You A Better Listener...

Duration:01:01:30

Episode 12: Tax refund budgeting: spend it or save it?

4/13/2018
More
We talk through how to be responsible (and fun) as you reassess your budget during tax season to stay on top of your financial goals. Links in this episode: - You Are a Badass: How to Stop Doubting Your Greatness and Start Living an Awesome Life by Jen Sincero (https://www.amazon.com/You-Are-Badass-Doubting-Greatness/dp/0762447699) - Nerdwallet: Find the Best Stock Broker (https://www.nerdwallet.com/investing/best-stock-broker-comparison) - Nerdwallet: Best Savings Accounts of 2018...

Duration:00:52:39

Episode 11: Building a capsule wardrobe

4/6/2018
More
As we start to spring clean our closets, we walk through how to pare down to the essentials, mix and match, and build your capsule wardrobe. Links in this episode: - Chrissy Rutherford on fear (https://www.instagram.com/p/Bg3fWixBT02/?hl=en&taken-by=chrissyford) - Food & Wine: Red Wine BBQ Chicken (http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/red-wine-bbq-chicken) - Marie Kondo (http://konmari.com/) - Unfancy: My Spring Capsule-ish Wardrobe...

Duration:01:00:36

Episode 10: Combating the comparison complex

3/30/2018
More
Social media is amplifying FOMO, jealousy, and envy so we’re talking through how to celebrate you and forge your own path. Links in this episode: - Shine Text (https://www.shinetext.com/) - What A Day by Crooked Media (https://crooked.com/article/newsletter-what-a-day/) - The Skimm (https://www.theskimm.com/) - Girls' Night In (http://girlsnightinclub.com/) - Fortune's Broadsheet (http://fortune.com/tag/broadsheet/) - Career Contessa: How I Recovered After Not Landing My Dream Job at...

Duration:00:46:04