The Mock Review with Ben and Drew-logo

The Mock Review with Ben and Drew

Education Podcasts >

More Information

Location:

United States

Language:

English


Episodes

Episode 10: Regional Tournament Assignments (with Adam Detsky)

12/5/2018
More
On the latest episode, Ben and Drew are joined by AMTA Team and Feeder Subcommittee Chair Adam Detsky. Adam breaks down the 2018 Regional Tournament assignments, and discusses how he and his committee go about placing 700+ teams into Regional sites around the country. Adam goes in-depth on the committee's process to try and make each Regional as fair as possible while also considering geography, Regional size and bid allocation, and making sure ORCS fields are even as well.

Duration:01:07:17

Episode 9: But It Actually Updates

11/21/2018
More
Content Warning: The first 12 minutes of this episode discuss the death of Alaina Housley and the issue of gun violence more broadly. The remaining portion of the episode begins at 12:02. On this week's episode, Ben and Drew discuss more fall tournament results, including the Black Squirrel Invitational, and respond to some questions regarding the 70% of teams that don't advance past Regionals, and what those teams can do to earn a bid to ORCS.

Duration:00:50:29

Episode 8: Early Season Review

11/3/2018
More
On the latest episode of The Mock Review, Ben and Drew take a closer look at some early-season results and how they might predict how the rest of the season will unfold. Ben and Drew also discuss what they've seen so far at different tournaments with how Midlands Television Studios v. Danny Kosack is playing out and propose some possibilities for case changes after the fall. All of this and much more on the newest episode of The Mock Review!

Duration:00:43:55

Episode 7: Elizabeth Bays

10/9/2018
More
On the latest episode of The Mock Review, Ben and Drew are joined over two sessions by Elizabeth Bays of Yale University. Elizabeth discusses Yale's four consecutive appearances in the National Final Round, their reputation for creative theories and whether they push the limits of AMTA rules, and Elizabeth's thoughts on how AMTA can improve transparency and communication with its membership.

Duration:01:01:49

Episode 6: Midlands Television Studios v. Kosack (with Michael Gelfand)

8/23/2018
More
On the first post-case release episode of The Mock Review, Ben and Drew chat with Civil Case Committee Chair Michael J. Gelfand about Midlands Television Studios, Inc. v. Danny Kosack. Mike (aka The Gelf) delves into why the committee decided to torture anxious college students with absurd case previews and then drop the case with no warning, how the core idea for this case came to fruition, what it was like working with nine different people on the Civil Case Committee, why the case has...

Duration:01:00:55

Episode 5: Board Meeting Rundown

7/30/2018
More
On this week's episode, Ben and Drew cover the major decisions from the 2018 AMTA Board of Directors meeting in Las Vegas. We've got exclusive audio of AMTA President Will Warihay's introductory remarks at the meeting, and Ben and Drew walk through the discussion in the room on each of the major motions, including invention of fact, tournament structure, objections before openings/closings, raising the invitational license fee, and several others.

Duration:00:57:53

Episode 4: Invitationals and Tab Cards

7/20/2018
More
On the first full-length episode of The Mock Review to not feature a guest, Ben and Drew discuss invitational tournaments and flying blind at competition. Ben gets on his soapbox about being fair to newer programs, and Drew explains the risks of sending out a lot of early invites as an invitational host. Ben and Drew take opposite positions on looking at ballot results during tournaments, and agree to disagree on the merits of knowing your record during a tournament.

Duration:01:14:58

Episode 3: AMTA President Will Warihay

7/13/2018
More
Ben and Drew talk to Will Warihay, the current President of the American Mock Trial Association (AMTA), about a number of different topics related to the upcoming AMTA Board of Directors meeting. The discussion covers Will's background in mock trial, why he ran for President of AMTA, what he wants to focus on during his term, his thoughts on improper inventions and finding more AMTA tournament hosts, and many other issues.

Duration:01:16:14

Episode 2: Two National Champions

6/29/2018
More
On this extra-long episode of The Mock Review, Ben and Drew first talk to Dani Kunkel about winning the National Championship Tournament, almost dropping the trophy during an impromptu Stanley Cup-style celebration, and what's next for Dani. Next, Nick Ramos gives his thoughts on the judging in Minneapolis, breaks down his approach to Trial by Combat, and describes what it's really like to carry a full-sized sword on the streets of Philadelphia.

Duration:01:31:45

Episode 1: Trial by Combat Preview

6/21/2018
More
You want scoops? We've got scoops. Ben and Drew discuss Trial by Combat with Justin Bernstein, the mind behind the first collegiate-level individual championship, and he gives our listeners some exclusive details about the case packet before its release. We also talk with Eric Roytman, a two-time All-American Attorney from Ohio State University, about his preparation for Trial by Combat and his eclectic history as a witness.

Duration:01:14:52

Episode 0: Preview

6/16/2018
More
Ben and Drew introduce themselves, set out the plan for future episodes, and have a quick debate on the merits of challenge format pairings at invitational tournaments.

Duration:00:17:21