Pencil & Ink Comic Book Reviews-logo

Pencil & Ink Comic Book Reviews

Entertainment >

Fresh, funny, bourbon-infused comic reviews imported from Detroit! The Pencil and Ink Review crew brings you the best and most entertaining comic reviews and news each week! Join Tom, Joe, and Bruske as they discuss the latest and greatest comic releases from Marvel, DC, Image, Valiant and many more! Brush up on your vintage nerd wisdom and go back in time during our monthly Retro Reviews show, where the guys discuss their favorite old school comic classics. Finally, we infused a bit of estrogen into our Indy Review crew, where Ashley joins the guys in discussing all of the current must-read independent comic titles you can’t stop talking about. You can find us at http://www.pencilandinkreviews.com or shoot us an email at pencialandinkreviews@gmail.com . Cheers!

Fresh, funny, bourbon-infused comic reviews imported from Detroit! The Pencil and Ink Review crew brings you the best and most entertaining comic reviews and news each week! Join Tom, Joe, and Bruske as they discuss the latest and greatest comic releases from Marvel, DC, Image, Valiant and many more! Brush up on your vintage nerd wisdom and go back in time during our monthly Retro Reviews show, where the guys discuss their favorite old school comic classics. Finally, we infused a bit of estrogen into our Indy Review crew, where Ashley joins the guys in discussing all of the current must-read independent comic titles you can’t stop talking about. You can find us at http://www.pencilandinkreviews.com or shoot us an email at pencialandinkreviews@gmail.com . Cheers!
More Information

Location:

Detroit, MI

Description:

Fresh, funny, bourbon-infused comic reviews imported from Detroit! The Pencil and Ink Review crew brings you the best and most entertaining comic reviews and news each week! Join Tom, Joe, and Bruske as they discuss the latest and greatest comic releases from Marvel, DC, Image, Valiant and many more! Brush up on your vintage nerd wisdom and go back in time during our monthly Retro Reviews show, where the guys discuss their favorite old school comic classics. Finally, we infused a bit of estrogen into our Indy Review crew, where Ashley joins the guys in discussing all of the current must-read independent comic titles you can’t stop talking about. You can find us at http://www.pencilandinkreviews.com or shoot us an email at pencialandinkreviews@gmail.com . Cheers!

Language:

English


Episodes

Random Episode 11

3/1/2018
More
Tom, John, and Joe get together to discuss Comics Gate and the twitter war Tom found himself in back in December with this community and their bizarre movement. Please be aware that the language used in this episode is graphic due to the Comics Gate movement’s use of crude and offensive verbiage in tweets. We discuss and explain the issue between Diversity and Comics, Captain Cummings, and many industry professional such as Mark Waid and Dan Slott.

Duration:01:11:41

Random Episode 10

2/27/2018
More
Tom and Joe get together to review the start of the Ultimate Universe from the early 2000's. They Ultimates Vol. 1, Ultimate Spider Man Vol. 1, and Ultimate X-Men Vol.1.

Duration:02:07:49

Retro Comic Reviews Episode 15

2/19/2018
More
Joe and Tom come back on the ATTACK with another Retro Review episode! Your two hosts travel back to 1963 cover X-Men # 1 and Avengers # 1 from Jack Kirby and Stan Lee. They also talk some Agents of Shield, Marvel old Ultimate Comic Book Universe from the 2000's, and Legion. All that and much more!

Duration:01:08:08

Retro Comic Reviews Episode 14

2/12/2018
More
In This Retro review show Tom and Joe cover Nick Fury and his Howling Comando's Issue number 5, 6, 7, 8!

Duration:00:51:02

Random Episode 9

11/15/2017
More
The gang gets back together again to talk about the sudden news of Brian Micheal Bendis quitting Marvel and signing with DC Comics. We also talk Walking Dead and Stranger Things 2!

Duration:00:44:07

Wednesday Comic Reviews Episode 33

11/8/2017
More
Joe, John, and Tom cover the Marvel event Original Sin 0 - 9 in this episode!

Duration:02:13:51

Wednesday Comic Reviews Episode 32

11/7/2017
More
The original three are back picking up where they left off with Marvel Now! In this episode we cover Thor God of Thunder 7 - 25 by Jason Arron. This episode is a lead in to our next episode where we cover Original Sin.

Duration:02:35:00

Random Episode 8

9/20/2017
More
John talks Tom into doing another random episode on Wizard Con attendance, the potential for a pop culture bubble to collapse, and once again we dive into the insanity that is the comic book industry business model currently due to a strange email Tom received from his local comic book shop. All that and much more in Random Episode 8!

Duration:01:17:00

Random Episode 7

8/6/2017
More
We apologize for the bad audio quality in this episode. Joe's microphone was having issues and we had some echo going on. The original 3 host's get back together to review Spider Man Homecomming, Wonder Woman, and Gaurdians of the Galaxy Volume 2! Also Joe talks about his wedding.

Duration:01:56:14

DC Through The Ages Episode 1

5/19/2017
More
Tom and Howler Dive into some DC Retro classics and then cover DC Rebirth #1, Rebirth Super Man #1, Rebirth Batman #1!

Duration:02:32:36

Random Episode 6

4/22/2017
More
Tom and John sit down to do an episode on WayWard volume 2 but end up talking about their personal pull list and what they have been reading the past few months. They discuss titles they are thinking about dropping and what new interesting titles Image has been putting out this year. They also take some time to give much deserve praise to D.C. Comics and to complain about Marvel Comics current writing staff and editorial.

Duration:01:16:52

Indy Comic Reviews Episode 14

3/17/2017
More
Tom and John do an in depth review of WayWard Volume 1 from Image Comics and the team of Jim Zub and Steven Cummings. They also talk about history repeating itself for Marvel Comics and the self destructive corporate business practices they can't seem to get away from. All this and more in another episode of Image Indy Comic Book Reviews!

Duration:01:22:39

Random Episode 5

2/5/2017
More
Tom invited long time comic book reader and collector Howler Mouse onto Random Episode 5 to talk about the comic book industry and how younger readers are attacking the orignial creators of these characters with out fully understanding the time period and the condition of the work environment they dealt with. They also chat about the direction of where consumer interest is going and what is causing the drop in sales for Marvel and DC.

Duration:01:43:16

Random Episode 4

1/15/2017
More
Tom and John have a long discussion about the current state of the comic book industry and if the business model is broken.

Duration:01:49:12

Random Episode 3

11/30/2016
More
Joe, Tom, and John WTF you been at?

Duration:01:26:32

Wednesday Comic Reviews Episode 31

8/1/2016
More
Tom and John cover the complete Marvel Comics Axis event from 2014 on the long road to Secret Wars. They also talk a little bit about X-Men Apocalypse before it hit theaters, they talk about the DeadPool movie, and Tom vents a little about his brother and tells a funny Pete story in the process.

Duration:01:59:40

Wednesday Comic Reviews Episode 30

6/29/2016
More
Pencil and Ink Reviews apologizes for how late this show was released. The show was recorded a few months ago but due to John having a new baby, Tom moving to a new city, and Joe busy recording his audio book deal and getting engaged things have been a little crazy for the Pen and Ink Crew. However we have a great show for you our listners. John and Tom tackle Magneto and Uncanny Avengers leading up to the fantastic Marvel event Axis from 2014. Magneto 1 - 10 and Uncanny Avengers 6 - 23....

Duration:02:17:07

Wednesday Comic Reviews Episode 29

3/30/2016
More
The team crashes through Captain America 2-25 by Rick Remender and John Romita Jr. on the March to Axis Marvels next big chornological event on the Pencil and Ink reading pull list.

Duration:01:29:08

Indy Comic Reviews Episode 13

3/6/2016
More
Tom and Jay tackle a number of underground comic book submissions sent to Pencil and Ink reviews from comic book creators looking for feedback. In this episode they cover Blue Hand Mojo Dust to Dust by John Jennings and Rosarium Publishing, Life through a Lens by Kent Olsen and Sabine Ten Lohuis, Chadhiyana 1-3 by J.M DeSantis and Rosarium Publishing, Corporatica by William Bryant, Pedro Elefante, and Rosarium Publishing, Cabra Cini: Voodoo Junkie Hitwoman by Sam Johnson and published by...

Duration:02:09:20

New 52 Episode 4

3/5/2016
More
Tom and John cover DC Convergence Event and also talk Season 2 of Gotham.

Duration:01:09:12