Pencil and Ink Comic Book Reviews-logo

Pencil and Ink Comic Book Reviews

Entertainment

Fresh, funny, bourbon-infused comic reviews imported from Detroit! The Pencil and Ink Review crew brings you the best and most entertaining comic reviews and news each week! Join Tom, Joe, and Bruske as they discuss the latest and greatest comic releases from Marvel, DC, Image, Valiant and many more! Brush up on your vintage nerd wisdom and go back in time during our monthly Retro Reviews show, where the guys discuss their favorite old school comic classics. Finally, we infused a bit of estrogen into our Indy Review crew, where Ashley joins the guys in discussing all of the current must-read independent comic titles you can’t stop talking about. You can find us at http://www.pencilandinkreviews.com or shoot us an email at pencialandinkreviews@gmail.com . Cheers!

Fresh, funny, bourbon-infused comic reviews imported from Detroit! The Pencil and Ink Review crew brings you the best and most entertaining comic reviews and news each week! Join Tom, Joe, and Bruske as they discuss the latest and greatest comic releases from Marvel, DC, Image, Valiant and many more! Brush up on your vintage nerd wisdom and go back in time during our monthly Retro Reviews show, where the guys discuss their favorite old school comic classics. Finally, we infused a bit of estrogen into our Indy Review crew, where Ashley joins the guys in discussing all of the current must-read independent comic titles you can’t stop talking about. You can find us at http://www.pencilandinkreviews.com or shoot us an email at pencialandinkreviews@gmail.com . Cheers!

Location:

Detroit, MI

Description:

Fresh, funny, bourbon-infused comic reviews imported from Detroit! The Pencil and Ink Review crew brings you the best and most entertaining comic reviews and news each week! Join Tom, Joe, and Bruske as they discuss the latest and greatest comic releases from Marvel, DC, Image, Valiant and many more! Brush up on your vintage nerd wisdom and go back in time during our monthly Retro Reviews show, where the guys discuss their favorite old school comic classics. Finally, we infused a bit of estrogen into our Indy Review crew, where Ashley joins the guys in discussing all of the current must-read independent comic titles you can’t stop talking about. You can find us at http://www.pencilandinkreviews.com or shoot us an email at pencialandinkreviews@gmail.com . Cheers!

Language:

English


Episodes

Indie Comic Reviews Episode 18

7/9/2020
Tom is joined by John Bruske and Tom Curry to review the complete 10 volumes of East of West compiling all 45 issues drawn by Nick Dragotta and Johnathan Hickman.

Duration:01:30:22

Indie Comic Reviews Episode 17

5/21/2020
Tommy is joined by his friend Tom Curry cover issues 1 through 5 of the first assembled volume of Outter Darkness by John Layman the creator of the famous comic CHEW! They also talk about what they've been reading during the Covid 19 quaratine lock down. All that and much more on Pencil and Ink Reviews!

Duration:01:40:37

Retro Comic Reviews Episode 16

4/2/2020
Tom and Tom C. come back on the ATTACK with a Retro Review episode! Your two hosts travel back to 1963 to cover X-Men # 2 and Avengers # 2 from Jack Kirby and Stan Lee. They also talk a little about what they've been reading during the COVID pandemic.

Duration:01:17:53

Wednesday Comic Reviews Episode 14

4/2/2020
"Drunk Ass Joe!" On this episode we review Uncanny X-Force 3 through 5 and All New X-Men 3 through 5. Joe get's wasted, Tom shares a funny story about his uncle, John looks up some hot marvel comics related erotic imagery on his lap top.

Duration:01:18:15

Indie Comic Reviews Episode 16

2/29/2020
Tommy is joined by his friend Tom Curry from Bristol England to cover Tokyo Ghost by Rick Remender and Sean Murphy. The two talk a little bit about what they've been reading lately as they catch up since the last time they recorded together.

Duration:02:08:50

Random Episode 12

12/30/2019
Joe and Tom get together to discuss Marvel Studios Avengers Infinity War and End Game by diving deep into the storylines and events of both movies. The also talk a great bit about the last season of Game of Thrones and discuss there theories for the final episodes of the HBO series.

Duration:01:21:41

Indie Comic Reviews Episode 15

12/20/2019
Tommy is joined by his friend Tom Curry from Bristol England to cover Deadly Class the comic book volumes one through four. They also discuss Deadly Class the television show on SciFi channel comparing it to the comic book and it differs from it. They also talk some Marvel Ultimate Universe and Curry shares a little bit about himself and how he got into comic books.

Duration:01:15:58

Random Episode 11

3/1/2018
Tom, John, and Joe get together to discuss Comics Gate and the twitter war Tom found himself in back in December with this community and their bizarre movement. Please be aware that the language used in this episode is graphic due to the Comics Gate movement’s use of crude and offensive verbiage in tweets. We discuss and explain the issue between Diversity and Comics, Captain Cummings, and many industry professional such as Mark Waid and Dan Slott.

Duration:01:11:41

Random Episode 10

2/27/2018
Tom and Joe get together to review the start of the Ultimate Universe from the early 2000's. They Ultimates Vol. 1, Ultimate Spider Man Vol. 1, and Ultimate X-Men Vol.1.

Duration:02:07:49

Retro Comic Reviews Episode 15

2/19/2018
Joe and Tom come back on the ATTACK with another Retro Review episode! Your two hosts travel back to 1963 cover X-Men # 1 and Avengers # 1 from Jack Kirby and Stan Lee. They also talk some Agents of Shield, Marvel old Ultimate Comic Book Universe from the 2000's, and Legion. All that and much more!

Duration:01:08:08

Retro Comic Reviews Episode 14

2/12/2018
In This Retro review show Tom and Joe cover Nick Fury and his Howling Comando's Issue number 5, 6, 7, 8!

Duration:01:28:54

Random Episode 9

11/15/2017
The gang gets back together again to talk about the sudden news of Brian Micheal Bendis quitting Marvel and signing with DC Comics. We also talk Walking Dead and Stranger Things 2!

Duration:00:44:07

Wednesday Comic Reviews Episode 33

11/8/2017
Joe, John, and Tom cover the Marvel event Original Sin 0 - 9 in this episode!

Duration:02:13:51

Wednesday Comic Reviews Episode 32

11/7/2017
The original three are back picking up where they left off with Marvel Now! In this episode we cover Thor God of Thunder 7 - 25 by Jason Arron. This episode is a lead in to our next episode where we cover Original Sin.

Duration:02:35:00

Random Episode 8

9/19/2017
John talks Tom into doing another random episode on Wizard Con attendance, the potential for a pop culture bubble to collapse, and once again we dive into the insanity that is the comic book industry business model currently due to a strange email Tom received from his local comic book shop. All that and much more in Random Episode 8!

Duration:01:17:00

Random Episode 7

8/6/2017
We apologize for the bad audio quality in this episode. Joe's microphone was having issues and we had some echo going on. The original 3 host's get back together to review Spider Man Homecomming, Wonder Woman, and Gaurdians of the Galaxy Volume 2! Also Joe talks about his wedding.

Duration:01:56:14

DC Through The Ages Episode 1

5/19/2017
Tom and Howler Dive into some DC Retro classics and then cover DC Rebirth #1, Rebirth Super Man #1, Rebirth Batman #1!

Duration:02:32:36

Random Episode 6

4/22/2017
Tom and John sit down to do an episode on WayWard volume 2 but end up talking about their personal pull list and what they have been reading the past few months. They discuss titles they are thinking about dropping and what new interesting titles Image has been putting out this year. They also take some time to give much deserve praise to D.C. Comics and to complain about Marvel Comics current writing staff and editorial.

Duration:01:16:52

Indie Comic Reviews Episode 14

3/17/2017
Tom and John do an in depth review of WayWard Volume 1 from Image Comics and the team of Jim Zub and Steven Cummings. They also talk about history repeating itself for Marvel Comics and the self destructive corporate business practices they can't seem to get away from. All this and more in another episode of Image Indy Comic Book Reviews!

Duration:01:22:39

Random Episode 5

2/5/2017
Tom invited long time comic book reader and collector Howler Mouse onto Random Episode 5 to talk about the comic book industry and how younger readers are attacking the orignial creators of these characters with out fully understanding the time period and the condition of the work environment they dealt with. They also chat about the direction of where consumer interest is going and what is causing the drop in sales for Marvel and DC.

Duration:01:43:16