No Bad Reviews: A Coffee Podcast-logo

No Bad Reviews: A Coffee Podcast

Food & Cooking Podcasts

Every other week three friends, coworkers, and coffee industry professionals humorously explore topics in history, culture, and business using coffee as inspiration. Then, using their professionally trained palates, they try the coffee and commit to giving no bad reviews. Hosted by Jenni Trilik, Marcus Contaldo, and Stephanie Motenko. Sponsored by Modest Coffee

Location:

United States

Description:

Every other week three friends, coworkers, and coffee industry professionals humorously explore topics in history, culture, and business using coffee as inspiration. Then, using their professionally trained palates, they try the coffee and commit to giving no bad reviews. Hosted by Jenni Trilik, Marcus Contaldo, and Stephanie Motenko. Sponsored by Modest Coffee

Language:

English


Episodes

Rerun: Murder Coffee

8/1/2023
This episode is one of our favorites, and also a fan favorite, so we decided to play it again while we take a little summer break. We hope you enjoy it again!-There may be no bigger genre than true crime at this moment in time so we decided to see if we could find a true crime coffee. And what do you know, we found the Murder Coffee Company. This week we delve into the psychology of true crime and the macabre and then we try a blueberry flavored coffee called Turning Blue.Find out what we think about this veteran owned coffee company that bills itself as the BEST coffee. Also, find out who wins when Steph and Jenni go head to head in an arm wrestling match.Murder Coffee Co.: https://murdercoffeeco.com/Iron Bean Coffee: https://ironbeancoffee.com/Further Reading:https://daily.jstor.org/bloody-history-of-true-crime-genre/https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/why-cant-we-just-turn-our-eyes-away-grotesque-and-macabre-180956424/https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0191886921005183https://www.ssusa.org/content/iron-bean-coffee-truck-delivers-nitro-cold-brew-coffee-to-camp-perry-competitors/Buy a mystery box of past products that we have tried on the podcast! For $10 you will receive 10 cups worth of coffee. Includes shipping! Limited supplies, buy here: https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTEHelp us buy questionable coffee!https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspodhttps://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspodSponsored by Modest Coffee! Single-origin coffee without the snobbery. Visit https://www.modest.coffee/nobadreviews to see what they're roasting today.

Duration:01:08:34

Coffee Project NY

7/18/2023
Steph went to NYC and all she brought back was this delicious coffee and an amazing story about two Malaysian immigrant women who are making waves in the specialty coffee world. This is the story about how in 2015 Chi Sum Ngai and Kaleena Teoh quit their jobs to follow their dream of owning a coffee shop in a 400 square foot space and ended up as the New York hub for the Specialty Coffee Association. In less than ten years they have grown to multiple locations throughout New York City and opened an SCA training center where they train baristas, roasters, and offer classes for the regular coffee enthusiast.For the tasting, we try their Panama anaerobic, a real treat to say the least. Listen to find out what we think! Coffee Project NY: https://coffeeprojectnyshop.square.site/product/panama-dynamic-cherry-39-rsv-anaerobic/373 Buy a mystery box of past products that we have tried on the podcast! For $10 you will receive 10 cups worth of coffee. Includes shipping! Limited supplies, buy here: https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTE Help us buy questionable coffee!https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspodhttps://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspod

Duration:01:17:46

Bonus: Uncle Nearest vs. Jack Daniels Love It or Leave It

7/13/2023
On our Patreon, we release weekly bonus episodes called Love It or Leave It where we give our unfiltered opinions on various coffee or episode related products. For our most recent Patreon episode, we compared Uncle Nearest whiskey to Jack Daniels whiskey as a companion to our most recent full length episode. We decided to release this episode to everyone. We hope you enjoy! And if you do, you can check out more Love It or Leave It episodes for just $4 per month at https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspod Enjoy!

Duration:00:27:03

Uncle Nearest + Jack Daniels Coffee

7/4/2023
In this episode we talk about how Jack Daniel left home as a young boy and was taken in by a pastor with a distillery side hustle run by a master distiller and enslaved man named Nathan "Nearest" Green, also known as Uncle Nearest. Young Jack became the assistant to Uncle Nearest and Uncle Nearest became like a father to Jack. When Jack was an adult, he took the opportunity to buy the distillery and took care of Nearest and his family for generations to come. The story of Uncle Nearest was lost until the 150th anniversary of Jack Daniels Whiskey when the New York Times released an article about the true history of the company. An author named Fawn Weaver read this article and had to know more.Set on writing a book on the amazing story of Jack Daniel and Uncle Nearest, Fawn traveled to Lynchburg, TN and ended up buying the farm that housed the original distillery. It didn't take long before she knew her true calling was in starting a whiskey company to honor Nearest Green and that's how Uncle Nearest Whiskey was born.Listen to hear more about this tale of love and respect in an unexpected time! Uncle Nearest Whiskey: https://unclenearest.com/ Jack Daniels Coffee: https://www.jackdanielscoffee.com/ Further media: https://www.nytimes.com/2016/06/26/dining/jack-daniels-whiskey-nearis-green-slave.html https://gastropod.com/the-secret-history-of-the-slave-behind-jack-daniels-whiskey/https://www.npr.org/2021/10/01/1042481944/uncle-nearest-premium-whiskey-fawn-weaver https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTEhttps://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspod https://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspod

Duration:01:06:20

Snoop Dogg + INDOxyz Coffee

6/20/2023
DOMINO M*TH*RF*CK*R!Click to hear more!INDOxyz: https://indo.xyz/collections/frontpage/products/sumatra-gayo- Buy a mystery box of past products that we have tried on the podcast! For $10 you will receive 10 cups worth of coffee. Includes shipping! Limited supplies, buy here: https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTEHelp us buy questionable coffee!https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspodhttps://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspod

Duration:01:41:58

Melitta Bentz, Inventor of the Pour-Over Brew Method

6/6/2023
In this week's episode Jenni tells us about her favorite person in coffee history, the OG 3rd wave coffee connoisseur and inventor of the pour-over method of brewing coffee, Melitta Bentz and the company she founded and named after herself. In 1908, Melitta was unhappy with percolated coffee, the most common way of brewing coffee in Germany where she lived, so she set out to find a better way. After much trial and error, she finally got an idea to punch holes in the bottom of a can and use her son's blotting paper as a filter. It was genius and worked like a charm! And this the paper filter and drip method of brewing coffee that is so common today was born.The Melitta company was an immediate success. Not only did it survive both world wars, it thrived and went on to be one of the largest producers of kitchen disposable products in Europe. Today the Melitta company is a multibillion dollar enterprise and still a family business, headed by her grandson and great-grandson. Listen to learn more about this fascinating woman, the Melitta company's impact on the coffee industry, and what they're up to today. They are much more than just coffee filters.Today's coffee: https://shoponline.melitta.com/collections/coffee/products/dark-roast-soft-pods-18ct/?cMelitta history: https://www.melitta.com/melitta_journey_through_time_en.html-Buy a mystery box of past products that we have tried on the podcast! For $10 you will receive 10 cups worth of coffee. Includes shipping! Limited supplies, buy here: https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTEHelp us buy questionable coffee!https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspodhttps://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspod

Duration:01:13:17

Alpha Male Coffee

5/23/2023
This is our first episode where we decided not to name the coffee company! Our entire podcast is based on giving no bad reviews to whatever coffee we try. There are companies out there that hold ideologies that we can only give bad reviews to so we purposefully avoid the products of those coffee companies. For today’s episode, Steph’s partner was social media advertised a coffee that is for the Alpha Male. Of course Steph thought this was hilarious (both as a recommendation for her partner and as a premise for a coffee company) so we bought it and Steph got to work researching. By the time recording day came, Steph decided she should tell the story before we identify the company and then we decide what to do after she’s told us all. In the end, we decided not to name the company. This company isn’t as problematic as it could be, and we do have some philosophical conversations, but all things considered we decided to leave it to the listener to do what Teresa would do and tell you to Google it (see tarot episode.) So this episode is full of machismo, internet dog whistles, and even the opportunity for a multi-level marketing scheme. Enjoy!-Buy a mystery box of past products that we have tried on the podcast! For $10 you will receive 10 cups worth of coffee. Includes shipping! Limited supplies, buy here: https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTEHelp us buy questionable coffee!https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspodhttps://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspod

Duration:01:06:21

Good Foods Awards + Pedestrian Coffee and Goshen Coffee Roasters

5/9/2023
The Good Food Awards winners for 2023 were just announced and so we thought it fitting that Marcus should do an episode about the Good Foods Awards, given his own personal experience with the competition. In this episode, Marcus tells us about the Good Food Awards and the process to become a winner. We also highlight the two coffee roasters from Illinois who won. Pedestrian Coffee is a Chicago based coffee roaster and the second coffee company of Tim Taylor, the first being the well known Ipsento Coffee. Tim Taylor has been involved in specialty coffee for many years and is on the board of the Alliance for Coffee Excellence.Goshen Coffee is based in Edwardsville, IL, near St. Louis. Lead roaster Tony is a veteran of the coffee industry, competing in coffee competitions across the United States. He used to be the lead roaster for Kaldi Coffee, another Good Food Award winning coffee company and is an Executive Council member of the Coffee Roasters Guild. We can say without a doubt, these are some of the most interesting and complex coffees we’ve ever tried, ever. Listen to learn more and to find out what we think!Good Food Awards 2023 winners: https://goodfoodfdn.org/awards/winners/Pedestrian Coffee: https://www.drinkpedestrian.com/Goshen Coffee Roasters: https://goshencoffee.com/-Buy a mystery box of past products that we have tried on the podcast! For $10 you will receive 10 cups worth of coffee. Includes shipping! Limited supplies, buy here: https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTEHelp us buy questionable coffee!https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspodhttps://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspod

Duration:01:07:52

Cheese Flavored Flavor Coffee + History of Cheese

4/25/2023
This week’s episode is all about words that should never go together: coffee + cheese flavored. When we first started, cheese flavored coffee was suggested to us by our friend and owner of Ten Drops Coffee. So we had to buy it but Jenni hid it away while Steph and Marcus forgot about it. Then Jenni learned a crazy fact that she had to share with the world and decided to get the cheese flavored coffee out of hiding.In this episode, we learn about the history of cheese, interesting facts about rennet, and a little bit about Iceland. We then try this cheese flavored coffee from ZooScape LLC, the proud distributor of over 7,500 weird ass food products. Cheese Flavored Guatemalan Coffee: https://www.walmart.com/ip/Larissa-Veronica-Cheese-Flavored-Brazilian-Coffee-Cheese-Flavored-Whole-Coffee-Beans-4-oz-1-Pack-Zin-548974/548460566ZooScape LLC: https://www.zooscape.com/index.htm Ten Drops Coffee: https://tendropscoffee.com/-Buy a mystery box of past products that we have tried on the podcast! For $10 you will receive 10 cups worth of coffee. Includes shipping! Limited supplies, buy here: https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTEHelp us buy questionable coffee!https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspodhttps://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspod

Duration:01:09:34

McMenamins of Portland, OR

4/11/2023
We received a bag of McMenamins Sabertooth coffee from a friend and listener who traveled to Portland, OR and found the company to be so fascinating that we decided to do an entire episode about them.Two brothers, born and raised in Portland, started with a single business and have grown to be a multimillion dollar staple of the Pacific Northwest. Restaurants, bars, music venues, a resort, and even a soaking pool/movie theater/bar all while working to save historic locations from demolition. These guys go with any idea they have and find a way to make it successful!For the coffee, we try their Sabertooth Ethiopian coffee, a hot deal at only $11. This was released for one of their music festivals. Listen to find out what we think!McMenamins: https://www.mcmenamins.com/-Buy a mystery box of past products that we have tried on the podcast! For $10 you will receive 10 cups worth of coffee. Includes shipping! Limited supplies, buy here: https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTEHelp us buy questionable coffee!https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspodhttps://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspod

Duration:01:03:57

Turkish Coffee + The Origins of Coffee Culture

3/28/2023
In this week's episode, Jenni covers Turkish style coffee and the origins of coffee culture. The first recorded history of coffee dates back to the mid 1500s in Yemen. Sultan Suleiman then spread it throughout the entire Ottoman Empire. Turkish style coffee brewed using a cezve/ibrik became so prominent that it is still the main brew method throughout most of the countries that were a part of the Ottoman Empire. From the first coffee houses in the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul to modern day political fights over coffee, this episode has it all!For the tasting, we picked up some Kurukahveci Mehmet Efendi Turkish coffee and a cezve big enough for three at our local Mediterranean grocery store. Listen to find out how brewing it over an open flame on mic goes and to find out what we think! Jenni even tries her hand at reading coffee grounds as they do in Turkey.Kurukahveci Mehmet Efendi: https://mehmetefendi.com/eng/products/turkish-coffeeFurther media:https://boisecoffee.org/podcast/episode-six-turkish-coffee/https://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2013/04/27/179270924/dont-call-it-turkish-coffee-unless-of-course-it-is#:~:text=Back%20home%20in%20Bulgaria%2C%20as,the%20Turks%20call%20a%20cezve.https://www.ducksters.com/history/renaissance/ottoman_empire.phphttps://www.thespruceeats.com/tasseography-tea-leaf-reading-symbols-765838-Buy a mystery box of past products that we have tried on the podcast! For $10 you will receive 10 cups worth of coffee. Includes shipping! Limited supplies, buy here: https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTEHelp us buy questionable coffee!https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspodhttps://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspod

Duration:01:14:14

La Colombe

3/14/2023
Welcome to the episode where we answer the question we've all been wondering, how to pronounce La Colombe! This is a mainstream coffee company best known for their ready to drink canned coffee and second most known for the TV show, Dangerous Grounds. La Colombe was founded by BFFs JP Iberti and Todd Carmichael. You can tell which is the most outgoing based on which guy has the Wikipedia page (it's Todd). In this episode we mostly talk about the life and adventures of Todd Carmichael. We've discussed a lot of business owners that were extra in this show, but this guy maybe takes the award for most extra. From running through jungles and trekking to the south pole, there might not be a thing he hasn't done, and he's somehow done it all while building a multi-million dollar coffee company. We were exhausted just learning about all he's done! Listen to hear the full story and to find out what the founders are up to now. This story is a fun adventure! La Colombe Triple Latte: https://www.lacolombe.com/products/triple-draft-latte Dangerous Grounds: https://m.imdb.com/title/tt2365811/ - Buy a mystery box of past products that we have tried on the podcast! For $10 you will receive 10 cups worth of coffee. Includes shipping! Limited supplies, buy here: https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTE Help us buy questionable coffee! https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspod https://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspod

Duration:01:01:33

Hebrew Coffee + Happy Purim!

2/28/2023
In honor of the Jewish holiday of Purim, this year celebrated on March 6, Steph had the fun idea of telling us about the history of Purim and how it is celebrated today. This is a fascinating story about Esther and how she helped the Jews of Persia save themselves from a decree of murder issued by Haman, the eventually disgraced Viceroy of the King. Purim celebrates Esther’s bravery with costumes, food, and a lot of drinking while making sure to care for the poor. We had a lot of fun learning about Purim and we hope you do too! For our coffee, we try Hebrew Coffee, a coffee company that was created to share Jewish culture using coffee as a vehicle. The founders of Hebrew Coffee lightheartedly teach Jewish history, Yiddish vocabulary, tell stories and make jokes on their very fun social media pages. We strongly recommend you check out their Instagram to learn something new and to have a laugh. The real question is, is their coffee good? You’ll have to listen to find out what we think! Hebrew Coffee: https://www.hebrew.coffee/ Instagram: @hebrew.coffee - Buy a mystery box of past products that we have tried on the podcast! For $10 you will receive 10 cups worth of coffee. Includes shipping! Limited supplies, buy here: https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTE Help us buy questionable coffee! https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspod https://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspod

Duration:01:17:27

Anodyne Coffee + Democratic Republic of the Congo

2/14/2023
Steph went on vacation to Milwaukee and brought back a bag of Anodyne Coffee. First she tells us the story of the marathon running founder that has built an incredibly successful business in Milwaukee over the last 25 years. Then we try a coffee from Anodyne, a single-origin coffee from the Democratic Republic of the Congo, a region that is hard to get coffee from due to the ongoing political instability of the country. In this episode we learn about the history of the DRC and how it has shaped the current situation today. Steph also tells about coffee growing in the DRC and the challenges that farmers face getting their coffee exported. We’re not going to lie, this episode is a real bummer. But Steph tells a captivating story and it’s important that we bring awareness to the hardships that the coffee farmers face. Shop Anodyne Coffee: https://anodynecoffee.com/collections/single-origins/products/dr-congo-north-kivu - Buy a mystery box of past products that we have tried on the podcast! For $10 you will receive 10 cups worth of coffee. Includes shipping! Limited supplies, buy here: https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTE Help us buy questionable coffee! https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspod https://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspod

Duration:01:42:29

Pocket Latte + The History of Chocolate

2/7/2023
We’re back! This week we explore the origin of chocolate, the history of chocolate in Korea, and then we try Pocket Lattes. We have been so excited to try Pocket Latte, a bar made from cocoa butter and coffee that contains as much caffeine as a cup of coffee. It is such a fun and innovative product but it has literally taken us almost a year to get it on the schedule. Chris Chun/Young and his mother, Young Kwon started Pocket Latte in 2018 and through hard work and determination have grown like crazy since. Before we get to the story of Pocket Latte, we first discuss the history of chocolate from its roots as a drink revered by the Mayan and Aztec civilizations to its trip to Europe where chocolate mania took off and gave us the tasty treats we enjoy today. Then we learn about chocolate’s relatively recent history in Korea and how it is enjoyed and celebrated today. After all this talking, we FINALLY get to try all four Pocket Latte flavors. Listen to find out if these adorably packaged bars were worth the wait! Try Pocket Latte: Online: https://pocketlatte.com/collections/shop Fox Valley Local: https://hearthandhammer.co/collections/coffee/products/hazelnut-coffee-chocolate-bar Further media: https://www.lotteconf.co.kr/en/brand/sense/chocolate https://ethnoscopes.blogspot.com/2012/09/a-history-of-chocolate-in-korea.html https://la.smorgasburg.com/ http://voyagela.com/interview/meet-chris-chun-pocket-latte-downtown-pop-ups-la/ https://grovara.com/mother-son-inspiration-leads-to-revolutionary-caffeine-chocolate-bar-pocket-latte-and-new-category-for-energy-products/ - Buy a mystery box of past products that we have tried on the podcast! For $10 you will receive 10 cups worth of coffee. Includes shipping! Limited supplies, buy here: https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTE Help us buy questionable coffee! https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspod https://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspod Sponsored by Modest Coffee! Single-origin coffee without the snobbery. Visit https://www.modest.coffee/nobadreviews to see what they're roasting today.

Duration:01:17:17

History of the Last Two Weeks

1/17/2023
So wow, what a wild ride the last few weeks have been for us. Modest Coffee went viral and sold $200,000 of coffee in 15 hours, we somehow managed to process over 4,000 shipments, and then Marcus lost his thumb in a tragic workplace accident. Yes, all in two weeks. So in a break from our regular scheduled programming, we decided to fill everyone in on what's been going and tell you the history of the last two(ish) weeks. It's been a time. Further media: https://www.modest.coffee/2022/12/how-we-got-grifted/ https://www.chicagotribune.com/dining/ct-modest-coffee-roasting-business-debt-walmart-20230104-6rwf447dwzdrddb76lkdfzugcq-story.html https://wgntv.com/western-suburbs/community-helps-west-chicago-coffee-shop-after-big-deal-falls-through/ https://www.audacy.com/wbbm780/news/local/west-chicago-coffee-company-modest-coffee-saves-business - Buy a mystery box of past products that we have tried on the podcast! For $10 you will receive 10 cups worth of coffee. Includes shipping! Limited supplies, buy here: https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTE Help us buy questionable coffee! https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspod https://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspod Sponsored by Modest Coffee! Single-origin coffee without the snobbery. Visit https://www.modest.coffee/nobadreviews to see what they're roasting today.

Duration:01:25:09

History of Decaf + Decaf Three Ways: Rerelease

1/3/2023
Edit: we noticed a funky thing happened in transmission and it seems the theme music and our commercial shifted. It's brief but if it annoys you, you can listen to the original release on September 13, 2022. Thanks! Hi everyone! For this week's episode we decided to give ourselves a holiday break and release a previously aired episode. We had thought we would do an older episode but in light of the recent crazy amazing events that led to us selling almost completely out of 30,000 bags of canceled coffee, we thought we would rebroadcast our History of Decaf episode in honor of the lonely decaf cases we still have on our website. This episode was so fun and interesting to record! Marcus does a great job with research and storytelling. Who knew we'd have the Nazis to blame for the popularity of decaf? Marcus also explains the science and methodology behind three major types of decaffeination processes. Then for the tasting, Marcus sample roasted three different coffees that were decaffeinated using the methods he explained. We were all surprised by the winner! We hope you are enjoy the episode and if it compells you to drink more decaf, head on over to the Modest Coffee Fire Sale! to get yourself a case of 6 bags for half price. Further reading: http://coffeeconfidential.org/health/decaffeination/ https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2009/07/in-defense-of-decaf/20677/ https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/decaf-coffee-nazi-party https://www.thefreelibrary.com/Sanka%3A+the+fall+of+a+great+US+consumer+brand-a0496566647 https://illumin.usc.edu/where-does-my-decaf-come-from/ https://www.olamspecialtycoffee.com/blog/how-is-coffee-decaffeinated-a-brief-history.html - Buy a mystery box of past products that we have tried on the podcast! For $10 you will receive 10 cups worth of coffee. Includes shipping! Limited supplies, buy here: https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTE Help us buy questionable coffee! https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspod https://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspod

Duration:01:09:11

History of Eggnog + Jolliest Bunch of A$$holes Coffee

12/20/2022
Happy whatever you celebrate or don't celebrate! Happy winter! Happy almost New Year! Our gift to you is this podcast episode. Marcus tells us the history of eggnog and Steph tells us about Expedition Roasters Coffee Company. For the tasting we get back to our roots and try their eggnog flavored coffee. The packaging is adorable but will the coffee live up to it? Jolliest Bunch of A$$holes coffee: https://expeditionroasters.com/collections/coffees/products/jolliest-bunch-of-a-holes Further media: https://www.alcoholprofessor.com/blog-posts/classic-cocktails-in-history-eggnog https://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/egg-nog-its-all-fun-and-games-until-someone-starts-a-holiday-riot-180949281/ https://www.popularmechanics.com/home/food-drink/a23804/george-washingtons-eggnog/ https://wdwnt.com/2019/04/dreamfinders-ep009-erick-kanter/ https://www.brainstorm-institute.com/ - Buy a mystery box of past products that we have tried on the podcast! For $10 you will receive 10 cups worth of coffee. Includes shipping! Limited supplies, buy here: https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTE Help us buy questionable coffee! https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspod https://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspod Sponsored by Modest Coffee! Single-origin coffee without the snobbery. Visit https://www.modest.coffee/nobadreviews to see what they're roasting today.

Duration:01:08:10

History of Tarot + Coffee Tarot Cards with Teresa Fiehn Millies

12/6/2022
We are SO excited for this week’s podcast crossover with our most special guest, Teresa Fiehn Millies, our dear friend, fourth Modest Coffee employee, and host of Ninth Arcana: A Tarot Podcast. We have been looking to get Teresa on the podcast for a long time and finally figured out the best way possible, a coffee themed tarot deck. Teresa is the creator and host of Ninth Arcana where she explores the meaning behind each tarot card by focusing each episode on one tarot card. In this episode we explore the history of tarot from a fun playing card game in the 15th century to the rise of cartomancy in France in the 1700s, to the influence of the Freemasons in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Wait what? Freemasons? Yep, we go deep down the esoteric rabbit hole in this episode. Then instead of trying a coffee, we try a coffee tarot deck. We give no bad reviews to a very, um, interesting deck and Teresa does a bit of fortune telling. Does Marcus pull the death card? Is Jenni creeped out more than once? Is Steph a secret Freemason? You’ll have to listen to find out! Find Teresa here: Ninth Arcana: A Tarot Podcast, https://www.podpage.com/nintharcanapodcast/ Coffee Tarot Deck: https://www.thegamecrafter.com/games/coffee-tarot-grande-edition Playing card game of Tarot: https://marykgreer.com/2008/10/14/simplified-game-of-tarot/ Further media: https://tinyurl.com/s994cesb https://tinyurl.com/yc2rmd8s https://tinyurl.com/3c26ky5c https://tinyurl.com/33w63wk8 https://tinyurl.com/224v2xya https://tinyurl.com/4yt786xm - Buy a mystery box of past products that we have tried on the podcast! For $10 you will receive 10 cups worth of coffee. Includes shipping! Limited supplies, buy here: https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTE Help us buy questionable coffee! https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspod https://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspod Sponsored by Modest Coffee! Single-origin coffee without the snobbery. Visit https://www.modest.coffee/nobadreviews to see what they're roasting today.

Duration:01:49:54

Thanksgiving Rabbit Hole + Native Coffee Traders

11/22/2022
It’s Happy Thanksgiving time everyone! In this week’s episode Steph takes us down the rabbit hole of her mind and answers all the questions about Thanksgiving that she could think of. From were the Jews on the Mayflower, to the corn of the dead, to when did the first Muslim person arrive in the Americas, Steph found an answer to all of it. Whether you only rely on the American education system to teach you about Thanksgiving or you’re woke AF, we guarantee you will learn something new in today’s episode. For our coffee tasting, we support an American Indian specialty coffee roaster, Native Coffee Traders, which also happens to be woman run. Native Coffee Traders is based on Long Island, NY and they are all about the things we consider meaningful in coffee. Fair trade, organic, purchased from indigenous peoples, and roasted to bring out the best flavor of the coffee. We were excited to try it and excited for you to learn more! We are thankful to all of you for listening and to Steph for her excellent research! We hope you have an enjoyable Thanksgiving. Native Coffee Traders: https://nativecoffeetraders.com/shop/ols/products/evening-star Buy from an American Indian marketplace: https://shoptocabe.com/pages/our-partners Further media: https://www.timesofisrael.com/back-in-1620-the-pilgrim-leader-behind-the-1st-thanksgiving-was-hebrew-obsessed/ https://indiancountrytoday.com/archive/what-really-happened-at-the-first-thanksgiving-the-wampanoag-side-of-the-tale https://wampanoagtribe-nsn.gov/wampanoag-history https://www.unftr.com/episodes/bonus1 https://www.stitcher.com/show/you-dont-know-beans/episode/amy-wallace-native-coffee-traders-84571157 - Buy a mystery box of past products that we have tried on the podcast! For $10 you will receive 10 cups worth of coffee. Includes shipping! Limited supplies, buy here: https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/YUHJNDHDX2CTE Help us buy questionable coffee! https://www.patreon.com/nobadreviewspod https://www.buymeacoffee.com/nobadreviewspod Sponsored by Modest Coffee! Single-origin coffee without the snobbery. Visit https://www.modest.coffee/nobadreviews to see what they're roasting today.

Duration:01:10:44