Better Known-logo

Better Known

Interviews >

More Information

Location:

United Kingdom

Language:

English


Episodes

William Cook

3/24/2019
More
This week, William Cook discusses with Ivan six things which he thinks should be better known. The plays of Joe Orton www.nybooks.com/articles/1987/09/24/changeling/ The stories of Charles Bukowski www.newyorker.com/magazine/2005/03/14/smashed The beach resorts of the Baltic Coast www.roughguides.com/article/the-10-best-baltic-beach-resorts/ The paintings of Robert Colquhoun & Robert MacBryde, aka The Two Roberts...

Duration:00:29:35

Ann Kennedy Smith

3/17/2019
More
This week, Ann Kennedy Smith discusses six things which she thinks should be better known Rathlin Island www.rspb.org.uk/reserves-and-events/reserves-a-z/rathlin-island BBC Pronunciation guides of the 1930s www.theguardian.com/education/shortcuts/2016/jun/07/marjerine-or-marg-arine-how-the-bbc-taught-us-to-talk-proper The Cambridge Ladies Dining Society 1890-1914 https://akennedysmith.com/about-2/ EM Forster’s biography of M Thornton...

Duration:00:28:18

Better Unknown

3/10/2019
More
This week, in a reversal of the normal positivity, Richard Elwes discusses with Ivan six things which he thinks we would be better off without. Smooth jazz and Kenny G www.jazzoasis.com/methenyonkennyg.htm English language films www.bbc.com/culture/story/20181029-the-100-greatest-foreign-language-films The Golden Ratio www.fastcompany.com/3044877/the-golden-ratio-designs-biggest-myth Bridge (the card game) www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1571194/Bridge-tables-hit-by-unpleasantness.html The...

Duration:00:28:41

Mark Mason

3/3/2019
More
This week, Mark Mason discusses with Ivan his six choices of things which should be better known. Apophenia www.psychologytoday.com/gb/blog/reality-play/201207/being-amused-apophenia Heartlands film http://film.britishcouncil.org/heartlands Apollo 12 https://airandspace.si.edu/explore-and-learn/topics/apollo/apollo-program/landing-missions/apollo12.cfm Train in the Distance by Paul Simon www.youtube.com/watch?v=gCFTHhcvRT0 Joe Swail https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_Swail Selling...

Duration:00:29:43

Sophie Ratcliffe

2/24/2019
More
This week, Sophie Ratcliffe talks to Ivan about six things which she thinks should be better known. You can buy Sophie's book The Lost Properties of Love at www.waterstones.com/book/the-lost-properties-of-love/sophie-ratcliffe/9780008225902. The classified sections of The Times newspaper for the year 1875 www.nytimes.com/2010/02/14/opinion/14epstein.html John Brewer photography workshops www.johnbrewerphotography.com What GPs actually do...

Duration:00:29:03

Richard Barnett

2/17/2019
More
This week, Dr Richard Barnett discusses six things with Ivan which he thinks should be better known. Russell Hoban’s Pilgermann www.nytimes.com/1983/05/29/books/exiled-from-wisdom.html Kedgeree www.coop.co.uk/recipes/quick-and-spicy-kedgeree Wittgenstein’s service in World War One www.military-history.org/articles/thinkers-at-war-wittgenstein.htm Tarbat Discovery Centre in Portmahomack www.tarbat-discovery.co.uk Simon Munnery...

Duration:00:28:46

Sam Dodson and Dan Sutherland

2/10/2019
More
This week, Sam Dodson and Dan Sutherland from Nothing in the Rulebook discuss with Ivan six things which should be better known. The Future Library project in Norway www.futurelibrary.no Dr Chuck Tingle Professor of Massage https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chuck_Tingle The bad sex in fiction awards www.literaryreview.co.uk/bad-sex-in-fiction-award No Alibis book shop www.noalibis.com Richard Serra's "portend I slugten" at the Louisiana art gallery in Denmark...

Duration:00:28:08

Emma John

2/3/2019
More
This week, Emma John discusses with Ivan her six choices which should be better known. The town of Chapel Hill, North Carolina https://vacationidea.com/destinations/best-things-to-do-in-chapel-hill-nc.html Tom Selleck’s Jesse Stone movies https://mommybearmedia.com/correct-order-jesse-stone-movies/ The Lord Peter Wimsey novels of Dorothy L Sayers https://robertarood.wordpress.com/2018/10/25/dorothy-l-sayers-and-the-lord-peter-wimsey-novels/ The musicals of Jason Robert Brown...

Duration:00:28:56

Imogen Russell Williams

1/27/2019
More
This week, Imogen Russell Williams talks to Ivan about six things which she thinks should be better known. The Hounds of the Morrigan by Pat O’Shea www.fantasyliterature.com/reviews/the-hounds-of-the-morrigan/ Carpe diem www.youtube.com/watch?v=DcxFTmBbrIk Knightmare www.ukgameshows.com/ukgs/Knightmare Susan Price’s Sterkarm Trilogy www.theguardian.com/books/2004/jan/17/featuresreviews.guardianreview31 The role of libraries and librarians in schools...

Duration:00:28:36

Andy Reid

1/20/2019
More
This week, Andy Reid talks to Ivan about six things which he thinks should be better known. The Kingdom https://film.avclub.com/the-new-cult-canon-lars-von-triers-the-kingdom-1798214674 Nestle milk boycott http://www.babymilkaction.org/nestlefree Nuts in May www.bfi.org.uk/news-opinion/news-bfi/features/mike-leigh-nuts-may-alison-steadman The Hare with Amber Eyes www.edmunddewaal.com/writing/the-hare-with-amber-eyes/about The Greasy Strangler...

Duration:00:30:12

Will Eaves

1/13/2019
More
This week, Will Eaves discusses with Ivan Wise six things which he thinks should be better known. https://plewsgardendesign.co.uk/garden-visits-brockwell-park-walled-garden/https://philosophynow.org/issues/126/Aristotle_on_Forming_Friendshipshttp://strangebeautiful.com/other-texts/schrodinger-what-is-life-mind-matter-auto-sketches.pdf This podcast is powered by ZenCast.fm

Duration:00:28:08

Henry Hitchings

1/6/2019
More
This week, Henry Hitchings discusses with Ivan six things which he thinks should be better known. https://art.famsf.org/hans-baldung-hans-baldung-grien This podcast is powered by ZenCast.fm

Duration:00:30:08

Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott

12/16/2018
More
This week, Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott discusses with Ivan six things which she thinks should be better known. https://palominobrands.com/blackwing/https://senate.universityofcalifornia.edu/_files/inmemoriam/html/clayfelker.htmlhttps://variety.com/2018/film/news/hal-ashby-documentary-director-amy-scott-harold-and-maude-being-there-1202925246/https://heavenali.wordpress.com/2013/08/22/the-glimpses-of-the-moon-edith-wharton-1922/ This podcast is powered by ZenCast.fm

Duration:00:29:49

Dave Pickering

12/9/2018
More
This week, Dave Pickering talks to Ivan about six things which he thinks should be better known. Churchill’s crimes of empire https://crimesofbritain.com/2016/09/13/the-trial-of-winston-churchill/ Walking in London www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/destinations/europe/united-kingdom/england/london/articles/Londons-best-walks/ The Moomin Books by Tove Jansson www.theguardian.com/books/2014/jan/15/tove-jansson-life-words-westin-review The Will to Change: Men, masculinity and love by bell hooks...

Duration:00:29:50

Alice Thwaite

12/2/2018
More
This week, Alice Thwaite talks to Ivan about six things she thinks should be better known. Do we want consensus in our public dialogue, or do we want diversity of thought? https://echochamber.club/why-we-should-sometimes-silence-others/ Our actions do not necessarily define our character www.nytimes.com/2015/02/15/magazine/how-one-stupid-tweet-ruined-justine-saccos-life.html Our reality doesn't just come from Facebook http://theconversation.com/the-myth-of-the-echo-chamber-92544 Jaco...

Duration:00:27:30

James Deacon

11/25/2018
More
This week, James Deacon discusses six things which he thinks should be better known. How it Feels to be Attacked by a Shark by Michelle Hamer www.goodreads.com/book/show/1954299.How_it_Feels_to_Be_Attcked_by_a_Shark Simon Lyons https://simonlyonsauthor.com/ Neighbourhood Bakes https://www.neighbourhoodbakes.com/ Nice and Nicely Done by The Spinto Band https://pitchfork.com/reviews/albums/7829-nice-and-nicely-done/ Club 85 in Hitchin, Hertfordshire http://www.club-85.co.uk/ Desert...

Duration:00:28:38

Ben Schott

11/18/2018
More
This week, Ben Schott discusses six things with Ivan which he thinks should be better known. Stud cufflinks www.trendhim.co.uk/articles/the-cufflinks-your-ultimate-guide Polari https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polari The photomontage artist John Heartfield www.moma.org/calendar/exhibitions/393 The graphic design of movie poster billing blocks https://archive.nytimes.com/www.nytimes.com/interactive/2013/02/24/opinion/sunday/ben-schott-movies-billing-blocks.html?hp The "Celestial Empire of...

Duration:00:30:48

Emily Midorikawa and Emma Claire Sweeney

11/11/2018
More
This week, Emily Midorikawa and Emma Claire Sweeney discusses six things which they think should be better known. The crime fiction of Celia Fremlin www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/books/reviews/invisible-ink-no-249-celia-fremlin-9847533.html Barreiro www.atlaslisboa.com/abandoned-lisboa-the-comboio-graveyard-in-barreiro/ Emma Hardinge Britten www.ehbritten.org Anne Sharp...

Duration:00:28:16

Richard Canning

11/4/2018
More
This week, Richard Canning discusses six things which he thinks should be better known. Ronald Firbank www.nytimes.com/1973/07/22/archives/prancing-novelist-the-fixer-of-modern-camp-a-defence-of-fiction-in.html Nils Dardel http://dardel.info/famille/artistes/NilsDardel/NilsDardelE.php The Bathers https://peterross.scot/articles/the-bathers/ Karol Szymanowski http://www.roh.org.uk/people/karol-szymanowski The Comeback www.hbo.com/the-comeback Tigre...

Duration:00:27:40

Lucy Hughes-Hallett

10/28/2018
More
This week, Lucy Hughes-Hallett discusses six things which she thinks should be better known. The Deposition by Pontormo in the Church of Santa Felicita, Florence http://arthistoryblogger.blogspot.com/2018/05/jacopo-pontormos-deposition-of-christ.html The beach at Covehithe, Suffolk www.theguardian.com/travel/2007/jul/14/beach.suffolk Rosa Alba Celestial www.classicroses.co.uk/celestial-shrub-rose.html The Immortal Dinner by Penelope Hughes-Hallett...

Duration:00:28:28