Tech Monthly on Phonic FM-logo

Tech Monthly on Phonic FM

Technology Podcasts >

More Information

Location:

United Kingdom

Twitter:

@PhonicTech

Language:

English


Episodes

Tech Monthly special: May 2017

5/18/2017
More
In a special edition of Tech Monthly, Helen, Rob and Ian spend a weekend at the Met Office for the International Space Apps Challenge, and annual hack weekend kick-started by NASA. Plus: an interview with Farmer Glitch from Hacker Farm, ahead of his punk console workshops during Art Week Exeter. International Space Apps Challenge (https://2017.spaceappschallenge.org/) Space Apps Exeter (http://spaceappsexeter.org/) Met Office Informatics Lab (http://informaticslab.co.uk/) TechExeter...

Duration:00:48:36

Tech Monthly: April 2017

4/13/2017
More
Helen and Rob discuss YouTubing in the last episode of this series. They’re joined by social media specialist and vlogger Matt Young, professional YouTuber Paul Grogan, and founder of Tubers Academy, Nick Ellison. Plus: a round-up of technology stories. Related links: Tubers Academy (https://tubers.uk/) Gaming Rules! (http://gaming-rules.com/) Matt Young (http://mrmattyoung.co.uk/) Presenters: Helen Connole and Rob J Glover, with Ian Woodbridge. First broadcast: 4pm, Thursday 13 April...

Duration:00:48:25

Tech Monthly: March 2017

3/9/2017
More
This month Helen and Rob explore ‘big data’ with guests Niall Robinson from the Met Office’s Informatics Lab and Professor Lora Fleming from the University of Exeter. Plus: voices from TechExeter and a round-up of technology stories. Links to resources mentioned in the programme: Met Office (http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/) Informatics Lab (http://informaticslab.co.uk/) Kaleider (http://kaleider.com/) TechExeter (https://techexeter.uk/) Kaggle (https://www.kaggle.com/) Professor Lora Fleming...

Duration:00:41:36

Tech Monthly: February 2017

2/9/2017
More
This month Helen and Rob explore matters of cyber-security. They're joined by Bob Bunney from Devon and Cornwall Police and cyber-security consultant Durgan Cooper. Plus: voices from the Secure South West 8 conference at Plymouth University and a round-up of technology stories. Links to resources mentioned in the programme: Devon & Cornwall Police (https://www.devon-cornwall.police.uk/) National Cyber Security Centre (https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/) ActionFraud...

Duration:00:48:02

Tech Monthly: January 2017

1/12/2017
More
For the new year, Helen and Rob look at starting something new: innovation; entrepreneurship and business start-ups. They're joined by business advisors Petra Davies and Charlotte Collyer; start-up school founder/coach Neil Finnie; and IP/IT solicitor Jess O’Riordan. Plus: a round-up of technology stories and music from Filta, Daft Punk, Tom Bugs and David Bowie. Business Boost (http://businessboost.org.uk/) Corkscrew (https://corkscrew.io/) The Generator (http://the-generator.org/) Exeter...

Duration:00:53:44

Tech Monthly: December 2016

12/8/2016
More
In December’s Tech Monthly, Helen and Rob look at music, creativity, and how technology can make life better. Simon Belshaw’s Music Machines (http://simonbelshaw.co.uk/ + http://2timesdo.co.uk/) The Big Life Fix (http://bbc.co.uk/biglifefix) Remap (http://www.remap.org.uk/) Plymouth Music Zone (http://www.plymouthmusiczone.org.uk/) Digital Plymouth (http://www.digitalplymouth.com/) The Aptus Guide (survey, including £50 prize draw: https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/XL6KQMK) Plus: a round-up...

Duration:00:51:45

Tech Monthly: November 2016

11/10/2016
More
In Tech Monthly’s first programme, Helen and Rob are joined by Joe Pearce (Venturefest SW; Exeter Innovation Centre) and Joel Stobart (Custodian Solutions) to talk about the Venturefest SW conference and its Pitchfest scheme, which Custodian Solutions won. We also hear from the recent TechExeter, Graphical Web and Secure South West 7 conferences. TechExeter (http://techexeter.uk/) The Graphical Web (http://2016.graphicalweb.org/) Venturefest SW (http://www.venturefest-sw.co.uk/) Custodian...

Duration:00:41:58